We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #7 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was simply the the best place I have ever been to in Mexico. It was an amazing resort, luxurious but not ostentatious, incredible service. When we arrived at the entrance curve a greeter gave me a wet towel and said "You are on vacation now" and that set the tone. The food was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was so abundant that we didn't need food till dinner. Everyone was smiling, any employee who has contact with the public speaks perfect English. The boat ride on the canals was an ecological feast. The room was incredibly comfortable, huge bathroom with view of a private garden. The room had a private balcony overlooking the canal. We loved to sit there and watch the sunset every day. The beach was VERY nice and the room was very close to it. There are three restaurants on the property but you can also visit the other two Mayakoba properties on the compound. The last night we had dinner at the Rosewood Mayakoba, which is also an outstanding resort.
Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: The property is very big, and they have rooms spread out.Some are very far away from the lobby and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear ses344,
One of my greatest joys is reading the comments of our guests and been considered the best hotel in Mexico is very especial, so for that I thank you on behalf of all of us here at Fairmont Mayakoba.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the property, the staff and the restaurants, and particularly the boat tour as it a highlight of the green practices that help us preserve this beautiful place for the enjoyment of future generations.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Mexico.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,702
    555
    169
    93
    52
See reviews for
1,297
1,291
50
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived and I thought this is beautiful! Check in was smooth and the bellboy was fantastic and full of knowledge. Greatest tip I got was becoming a member of the Fairmont hotel because the gym and internet was complimentary. The restaurants are okay, expensive and the service was lacking attention, waited 20 minutes for a bill on our first night there. The iron was broken, the ironing board was broken. Bikes were great! We came back after a day out and found a maintenance worker fixing something with the tub. I receive a call apologizing for the inconvenience and explaining why there were there, flood in the above room. But the real kicker was when we checked out we were charged 30$ for a hotel charge. This was not disclosed to us when we checked in and I have never heard of this in this, in a prepaid hotel charge. I was upset by this. There are many nice places and beautiful hotels in Mexico and elsewhere, definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldiva130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Traveldiva130,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. Thank you for your compliments to the hotel facilities and the service of our bellboy staff, however we are disappointed to read that you experience some inconveniences during your stay. I have taken note of the other comments and have shared them with the appropriate contacts as to reinforce our standards. The extra $30 you describe relates to the resort fee which includes different amenities like boat tours, sea kayaking, golf lessons and 3 hours daily of Kids Camp to name a few.
On your next visit to Mexico, I hope you give us opportunity to exceed your expectations which we could not meet during your first visit.
Cordially,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My friend and I visited the resort for an impromptu getaway from January 14-18 2013. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by one of the staff, who addressed us by name and had two glasses of sweet tea ready for us to enjoy.

Check in was seamless, and we were then led by Armando, a bellman, to our room. He gave us a tour and explanation of everything in the room - which was HUGE. We stayed in one of the Signature Cassia Suites - which would be perfect for families as it comes complete with two separate rooms, two full bathrooms, two closets, mini fridge, and wrap around private balcony.

The facilities are amazing at the resort - from the spa to the many pools scattered around the property, to the beach with its silky sand - exceeded expectations of my friend and I beyond belief.

We dined at all of the restaurants on property and El Puerto was definitely our favourite for dinner that we visited twice. Fine dining at it's finest - so much culinary creativity - we almost didn't want to eat our food because it was so visually appealing. Great wine suggestions, and Marcos and Jorge, our servers at El Puerto both nights, were truly gems! The breakfast buffet had a copious amount of food choices and featured different local specialties everyday!

Now to what made this hotel stand out from any other resort or Fairmont property I have visited - the service. My friend and I both work in the hospitality industry in Canada and were amazed by how exceptional the service was. From the moment we arrived, we were addressed by our name which continued throughout our stay. All of the resort staff that had served us at the dining establishments within the resort remembered our names, and if they weren't serving us on the given day, would stop by our table to say hello and ask us how everything was. All of the staff went out of their way to help with any requests, and were eager to wish us a good morning/evening while passing by. The resort could have been the ugliest place and the service would have made it shine.

Truly a diamond - I could go on forever, but you truly need to experience it for yourself! I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my second visit. We've booked at the last minute during less popular travel times and got great deals. The service is excellent, the stretch of beach is great. I enjoyed that the restaurants, beach, spa, etc. were all a little bit of a walk. It can be monotonous to stay there for more than two or three days without going to town ($40+ cab roundtrip if you don't have a car). The three hotels in Mayakoba give you transportation to dine at one of the other hotels, and one night we ate at the Rosewood. Dining at the Fairmont is above average, with the highlight being the breakfast spread. They have a great green juice. We ate one night at the higher end restaurant on the beach but honestly prefer the more casual restaurants.

I'd give it a higher score, but I wouldn't be as happy if I paid the full price. Once you include all the meals and drinks, it can be fairly pricey. And since you are pretty much "stuck" in the resort area (if you don't bring a car), everything from sunscreen, drinks, meals add up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Mugerita,
We were thrilled to learn that you chose Fairmont Mayakoba for a second time during your visit to Playa del Carmen and we thank you for providing your feedback. For your next visit, you may be interested in looking into our Appetite for Luxury package which is an inclusive food and beverage plan offering unlimited meals and drinks at participating restaurants throughout our resort.
We hope to welcome you back at the “Venice of the Caribbean”.
Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

a friend and i went for a 10 day stay and with a few hiccups aside, it was a fabulous experience- as fairmonts always are in my experience. it was my friends brithday and since golf was a huge thing for him, i had called ahead to book him a round for his birthday. the entire birthday of his was spent being wished a happy day every where we were: started with the breakfast staff including the manager and chef, with 3 verses of the mexican bday song by the entertainment band; the beach staff whenevr one walked by us, the lunch staff, the dinner staff with a special personalized dessert and ending with our resort driver and cleaning staff with a little cupcake, balloons and guitar while singing to him outside our room. during the day the spelled out happy bday with his name in golf tees at the 3rd hole as a surprise with champagne and desserts. it was several years ago but he still talks about it.
even besides such an incredible, over the top day, the staff overall goes above and beyond to not only fill one's wishes but to anticipate them, and all with smiles. the grounds are beautifully maintained, the rooms are sumptuous, the casitas dreamy and the beach cleaned everyday. the food is fabulous wherever you eat, the drinks deliciously cold and the resort inviting yet professional. the one drawback was the beach was far from the rooms.they have motorized golfcart trains that ferry people but it was a little annoying.

Room Tip: we stayed the first 5 days in a lagoon suite and the second 5 in a beachfront casita. the lagoon sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassiesmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I visited the resort for New Years Holiday. Our room was exceptionally large and well decorated. The kids have their own full bath! We toured the facilities and took advantage all the amenities, ie. spa, fitness room, breakfast buffett and outdoor pool. There are tram running in short interval to get you from point A to B. So, the distance from the beach to your room is of no importance. The staffs are friendly and always attentive to your needs.

We wrapped up the last evening at The El Puerto restaurant. The appetitizers like foie gras, fish carpaccio, crab cakes and clam chowder were the best I've had. They were better than the entrees.

Everything was excellent at the resort. The only issue is that the beach is too rough to enjoy if you like to snorkle. Our preference was to go elsewhere where you can see fish and turtle in clear water.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 600's on the 2nd floor facing the canal. It was very private but sunny if the...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johnny408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Johnny408,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing to stay with us during the holidays. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the many amenities available to our guests including Willow Stream Spa, fitness center, private beach and restaurants which offer a variety of culinary delights. For future recommendations on snorkeling locations located near our resort, feel free to contact our concierge at myk.concierge@fairmont.com.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I wanted a small destination wedding; something that would be a one and a lifetime event for us, and a great getaway for the family and friends who travelled to celebrate with us. Planning a destination wedding can be a little scary, since you plan it all remotely. You need a place you can trust, and the Fairmont Mayakoba certainly delivered. The planning process was a breeze, and the on-site wedding planner was amazing. She answered every questions I had (no matter how crazy) in a polite and timely manner.

The property at the Fairmont is beautiful. It is big, but it doesn't take more than 5 minutes to walk anywhere. It's a nice balance; you feel like you're on your own private island, but know that every destination is only minutes away. The staff was friendly and welcoming, both for us, and our guests.

The wedding and reception were a dream come true. Everything looked just the way I imagined, and the day went off without a single problem. Everyone from the spa doorman to the cart driver made sure that I felt special. The Fairmont only allows one wedding per day, unlike most of the resorts in Cancun, so you feel like a princess. Even at a fully booked resort, the ceremony and reception were private, with no lookey-loos. The food, the music, the decor, everything was perfect, and with the amazing setting the pictures are better than I hoped for. I would highly recommend this location to any future bride, or a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Slworld,
Congratulations to both of you, from all of us at Fairmont Mayakoba and thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a momentous occasion in your life. We truly enjoy creating memories that last a lifetime for our guests and we are thrilled to learn that your special day was filled with such great memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Riviera Maya.
Warmest best wishes,

Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,333 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing