We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One way to do it”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #10 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ojai, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One way to do it”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My BFF & me just enjoyed a week at Fairmont Mayakoba. High expectations were exceeded, food & beverage are excellent (get the Appetite for Luxury add-on if you can), if the waitstaff performance is uneven. The resort's location, atmosphere, and the Fairmont brand all mark as money well spent. This is not downtown PdC, but something different - for the discerning visitor.

Room Tip: Spend the money to stay in 800 & 900's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NearlyFreaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,032
    618
    192
    97
    54
See reviews for
1,521
1,407
53
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed recently for an event and I must compliment the entire staff in every department for their dedication , efforts , politness and personalization in caring for each client...well done!! My compliments also to Fairmont managemnt as well.
I enjoyed very much the pool bar and restaurant with a fine menu and good quality of food. Very good also the breakfast with a wide assortment of choices of all kinds.....the beach is very basic with traditional sun umbrella and sun beds but none the less very comfortable. Room I stayed in was large just as the bathroom with all the ameneties necessary. Its unfortunate that by and large most rooms do not have sea view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear FabioGuarducci,
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor the experience of your recent visit with us at Fairmont Mayakoba. Providing a warm, personalized service in the core of our values but also in the heart of the Mexican hospitality and so, we are happy to know our staff made your stay a special one.
We look forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexico’s Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place is beautiful! The rooms are very nice well decorated and clean. However, even though people is very kind and willing to help I found the service rather slow.....if you call the front desk it seems you are calling a call center: "..... Your call is very important for us, all of are agents are busy attending other customers, please hold......" are you kidding me?! At one point my key did not work, I had to wait 20 minutes before someone came and fix it..... There are two other hotels in the same place, both more expensive and more luxurious maybe they have better service. In addition my room had no Internet signal.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have bad or not Internet and phone reception at all, however some work fine, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I attended a business conference here. It was a very nice experience. Good check-in, very nice room, terrific bathroon, decent food at our events, nice and efficient meeting room. Despite being off season, hotel surprisingly busy. Most employees are eager to please and smile and offer to help at all times and are genuinely nice people. Our dinner at Las Brisas did have a captain that was a big grumpy and we had arranged for drinks after our speaker and I had to go into the kitchen to get the waiters and by the time they mosied into the dining room half our people left. I took away a star for two reasons. (1) Noise from service hallway and adjoining banquet rooms by staff was intrusive at times - not the occasional moving of furniture that cannot be avoided, but talking loudly and laughing. (2) The other minus was we ordered a birthday cake for our speaker at Las Brisas (50th birthday) and were given a small square of chocolate cake that I saw on our coffee breaks and told no candles and the other restaurants too far away to get any. The cake was arranged by the Conference Services Manager who confirmed it personally. Lesson learned - do not go here to celebrate your birthday , zero attention to basic birthday detail that a fast food restaurant would have handled better - I was ashamed and he turned 50 that day. Other than that, it was a good experience with no abnormal glitches. Nice facility, nice rooms, good staff - great for a quick holiday and not as expensive as I would have thought. Very close to Playa del Carmen(no time for me to visit this trip) but that is always a plus and nice break from any resort grounds. Outstanding busienss center staff (Gustavo) and AV team (Eduardo) very much let you succeed. Flexible banquet team.

Room Tip: unhelpful to mark a birthday celebration - no candles on this vast facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Happy_on_the_road,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value all our guests’ comments and will make sure to pass on your feedback to our Groups and Conventions team and refreshing all of our colleagues on our standards of service. Please share our apologies with your friend for not celebrating his 50th birthday as we should have, we hope you both will give us the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This Hotel is literally a diamond in the rough against the plethora of beach-side resorts in Playa Del Carmen. If you ask anyone in town where the hottest place to be is, it would surely be at any of the 3 Mayakoba branches. Of course the atmosphere was amazing, and the rooms were up to date, but what struck me the most was the impeccable eats. Tuna tar tar, multiple fish ceviches, or tacos con carne, you can't go wrong. If your looking for a top of the line resort paired with superior cuisine, look for the one word, MAYAKOBA.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travisBalleza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We chose this hotel due to the Five Diamond rating, it was average. If you are looking for luxury you may want to explore other options. Here's why and yes it is long..........

Arrival: Very nice arrival experience, what I would expect at a luxury property.

Rooms: We were upgraded 2 categories upon check in to a casita room and told we would love it. Simply put, it had to be the worst room on property. 1st floor, dark and smelled horrific of bug spray and dampness. If we were not on a prepaid package we would have checked out immediately rather than spend 7 nights in this room. It took 2 hours to get moved to another casita room on the 2nd floor which was much brighter, better view, and more central. This room was not without its faults, it is mostly attention to detail and lack of preventative maintanence. No cushions on the patio furniture, no pad on the ironing board so we used a towel, terrible smell from the bathtub drain, no AC in the bathroom, shower head leaked continuosly after you finished, no stocked minibar (DIY minibar is cutting corners), no ipod, iphone, ipad hookups on the very dated Bose Wave radio. The resort directories in the room are in terrible shape. The bed was super comfy and we slept really well the entire 7 nights, so that was a big plus. Housekeeping did a great job everyday and was timely in making up the room. Key card deactivated several times during the stay so hiking back to the front desk was no fun after a day at the beach.

Restaurants: We ate at every outlet on property. The food was "good" everywhere, except the lobby lounge.

Las Brisas was good food, good service, poor entertainment, meal was a bit rushed, dessert menu is presented in the lobby lounge menu folder, details matter in such a highly rated restaurant.

Cafe Maya was good for a quick bite and where you buy items just as expensive as they would have been if they put them in your minibar.

La Laguna was good for breakfast and casual dinners. Food was good. Availability of wine was poor, each time we chose a bottle, they were out. It turned out to be funny because the staff was very good natured and just brought us a few bottles to choose from what they actually had in stock. By the way, try the mexican wine, it is good and much better priced than the low end wine imported from the US.

El Puerto, food was good, we were able to get the wine here we could not get in La Laguna. Service needs an overhaul in this place. The manager does the staffs job, every entree brought out is served to the wrong person at every table, we were even served someone elses dinner. The food is covered by silver domes and brought out on a gueridon that makes so much noise it is disturbing. I cannot figure out why they think they are a french restaurant.

Lobby Lounge, the absolute most dissapointing place on property. Don't order cocktails because the ice dilutes it so fast you may as well have an iced tea. Stick with wine or beer here. The food is deplorable (with the exception of the guacamole) and we sent it all back but the manager would only take of 1 roll off the bill beacuse we did try to eat some. She would not even come to our table to address it. The sushi is paper thin and the rice is 2x the amount you would normally get. The nigiri and the rolls were just not good at all and the calamari was so stringy it was not edible. Also, we wanted to sit on the patio several times but they always said it was going to rain so they were not seating out there. It rained once during our entire 7 day stay. Not accomodating at all.

Recreation: The beach is the best part. While walking into the water, it is rocky so be careful but far better than the other resorts around. Despite the resort being fairly full, we were able to have a palapa each of the 4 days we went. Be there by 11am to get one. Service the first day was no good but the 3 days after, they were great! The exhaust from the jet skis that lurk out in the water is not very pleasant.
The pool area looked very nice for families. The adult pool was a dissapointing experience, hence we spent all of our time at the beach. This pool is severly overlooked by management in every way.

Transportation: The house cars are very nice Escalades and they will take you to the other resorts for dining (definitely go to Saffron at Banyan Tree, the highlight of our trip). The golf carts transport around property are in very good shape and the drivers are very courteous. However, if you are dressed up to go to dinner be careful because the seats are quite often wet, dirty and sandy and they don't carry towels on the carts. For the bikes, we were there 7 days and not once could we get bikes when we looked for them every single day. People hide them.

Check Out: I decided to try and address the issue with the lobby lounge again at check out but the front desk agent wanted to know why I didn't take it up with the lounge and she could not do anything about it. I asked, but there was no manager on duty at 9am on what seemed to be a heavy check out day, so she charged me for the full thing and that was that because she was not allowed to make adjustments. Par for the course, because I saw very little management around property our entire stay. Never once during our entire stay were we asked how our stay was and there was no follow up after the dissatisfaction with our initial room.

Overall: Recommended for families or spend the money and get a beach villa. Unfortunately, they were fully booked or we would have paid to upgrade. Another good thing is the staff actually work for gratuities here so you probably do get better service than the all inclusive places.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor casita rooms, ask for 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FFKKinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Director of Public Relations at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
boomeranglv,
We were disappointed to read that we were unable to meet your expectations during your visit as we strive to make every guest's stay a memorable one. Your feedback has been shared with all of our colleagues in an effort to identify areas of improvement in our service standards.
We hope that you will consider us on your return visit to the Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel. The property is amazing! Room, Pool, Beach, Service and Food are amazing!! We stayed in a casita and I really recommend it.
It is great for families and couples since it has a separate pool for adults. Overall the hotel is very quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for.
We ate in all restaurants and the food is also incredible with good variety.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prag2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,084 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,702 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,047 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing