We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service but spread out too much”
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #10 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing service but spread out too much”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here with our 7yr old for Christmas/New Years week and had a really good time. The staff is truly 5 star and seem hotel schooled in their level of service. The property is pretty but really spread out and getting around in golf carts can be a drag. It's pricey and it adds up quickly if you're not super budget focused. Also the New Years Eve party went on waaaaay too long and kept us up past 2:30 with bad 80s music blaring across the resort! Overall, really nice place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,037
    620
    192
    97
    55
See reviews for
1,528
1,407
54
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Banyan Tree in December 2011. On the same property are two other hotels the Fairmont and the Rosewood. The reception desk at the Banyan Tree recommended El Puerto at the Fairmont. It is advertised as a steakhouse. This is a terrible restaurant in every way possible. The reception desk had to cajole the hostess at Ei Puerto to accept our reservation for 7:30pm on December 20th. When we arrived the restaurant was only half full and remained so for the entire evening. The decor consists of bright white walls and bright lights. With a lady singer singing karaoke style 1960/70s music. The terrace is better but unfortunately the mosquitoes like it too. The terrace looks out on a fountain with a huge (2 or 3 story tall) white Christmas tree with red lites. It makes one feel you are in mall of America. Service was disorganized and felt like our waiter and busboy were 2 of the 3 stooges. Getting water, a a glass of wine and bread literally took 35 minutes. Then we placed the order. We were told that the national beef was "outstanding" and ordered steaks rare and charred on the outside, asparagus and to start salads with dressing on the side. 20 minutes later the salads arrived drenched in dressing. We accepted the salads since we were starving. 45 minutes later our steaks arrived well done and not charred. The waiter left the asparagus and told us it would be 15 minutes and we would have our steaks. 20 minutes later after asking about our steaks twice we were told the kitchen was very busy since it was the Christmas holidays and the manager would see us. Another 5 minutes and no manager. We asked for our bill. It was 80 dollars without the steaks and included a 15 percent service charge. No apology. When we were leaving there was a family with 2 kids about 5 and 8. Both kids were sound asleep with their heads on the table. The father told me that they had been there for 2 hours. I complained to the reception desk at the Banyan Tree and they told me they would notify the manager at the Fairmont. We never received any response from El Puerto or the Fairmont. The experience was terirble and a rip off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingdad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear travelingdad56,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent visit to El Puerto. As a restaurant with many accolades for the quality of its product and service I am distress to read your dining experience was less than perfect. Your comments have been shared with the management and so I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Riviera Maya, please email me at paulina.feltrin@fairmont.com.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Played this course 3 times in the past week while on vacation. One of the best resort courses I've ever played! Course was in immaculate condition. Played very fast and firm with no rough. Only a second cut about half inch longer than fairways. Greens were very fast and firm with subtle breaks. Course plays very fair, especially off the tee. All or most of the trouble is around the greens or inside of 100 yards were there are usually lots of sand bunkers and/or water. There are 2 short par 3s that play into the wind beachside looking out into the Caribbean. Fantastic! Play 2 or 3 clubs extra as the wind is strong and right at you. Service was first class and put Riviera Maya GC to shame. Treated me like gold both on the course and after my rounds in the club house and lounge. Food and drink was excellent and there were a ton of excellent clothing and accessories in the pro shop. Green fees and prices for food and drink were expensive but worth it. Green fees also include pick up and drop off from wherever you are staying in the Mayan Riviera. Can't say a bad thing about this place. First class all the way. The starter is a class act too regularly checking up on players to make sure everything is going well. This is how to run a first class golf experience! Like night and day compared to Riviera Maya GC. I highly recommend this course and resort. I look forward to returning and staying at the Fairmont. Met a number of people on the course who were staying here and raved about it. Ditto for the Rosewood and Banyan Tree Mayakoba. 5 Stars!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Director of Golf at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hello morninwood,

On behalf of our entire team here at El Camaleon Golf Club at Mayakoba, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time and that you were able to play golf 3 times here while you were on vacation in December. There is so much that goes into a round of golf at our resort that it is wonderful to hear we fulfilled your expectations. From your initial inquiry about playing golf to the greeting you receive upon the completion of your golf round and finally your return transportation to your resort, we ensure that every detail is carefully handled in order to provide you with the best golfing experience.

Each colleague at El Camaleon Mayakoba realizes that our golfers’ expectations are incredibly high because they are playing the same golf course the PGA Tour plays on each February and we strive to provide a golf experience that rivals any resort golf course in the world. We appreciate that you chose to play our course during your vacation and took the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon; please feel free to contact me personally upon your return.

Kevin Sebulski
Director of Golf
El Camaleon Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had an Amazing Christmas Stay by the Beach.

From front desk, to housekeeping, from Restaurants to in house dining, the whole stay was perfect.

We had the opportunity to book and stay in an Oceanfront Casita Suite ( These oceanfront suites feature a private stairway descending to the beach. As an extraordinary amenity, the Oceanfront Casita Suites feature their own private (heated) Infinity Pool on the terrace, with a stunning views).

Perfect for a small family.

Amazing bathroom(s).

Room Tip: Oceanfront Casita Suite or Beach Area are the top you can get in the resort. If you can ... go for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Pool was wonderful and the grounds are beautiful. The kids club is only good for children 2-5 years - there is a volleyball net on the beach but no volleyball, lots of arts and crafts activities but not as much for boys. The grounds are beautiful and the staff are very friendly. The beach is beaitiful. Would go back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azpNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Really... What can I say.... My family and I travel a lot, and have stayed in many hotels in Mexico and around the world, but the Fairmont Mayakoba just elevated us to new heights. The personal service was first class, from the front desk to the gardeners - the hotel and rooms very beautiful - the grounds were breath-taking (take the boat tour with Pedro - iguanas, crocodiles, herons, plus too much more to mention) - delicious restaurants - amazing pools.... Honestly, what a vacation. We were there for a wedding, which was run superbly by the Planners at the Fairmont. Just simply the best. Full stop. End of story. Go there!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that opens onto the canals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbpchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto/Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I spent 10 days in Nov/Dec in a Cassita on the canal after a hectic last 6 months and I became the real me again in no time. Every employee at the Fairmont was genuine in their warm greetings and their life stories (if you engaged them). I never left Myakoba to venture into Town (as is my practice wherever I go) because the beach and swimming pools were excellent, the food as great as any Fairmont in Canada, the Willow Stream Spa and Exercise Area immaculate and rejuvinating. I loved riding a bike to the beach, to the spa, to the boat. I loved the frequency of the golf cart rides around the resort. I loved the Christmas decoartions. The boat ride was so informative that we took it twice. There are many birds, fish and animals that live there and it was a treat to have them so close and seemingly content. I liked the way the waitstaff at the restaurants remembered our favourite wines, the way they engaged us with authentic stories of their lives, and the way they paced the meals.
I rarely visit the same place twice as this is a big World, but I know I will go back if just for a long weekend to relax and enjoy the superb hospitality.

Room Tip: Canal view, signature cassitta was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,084 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,702 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,047 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing