We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!! The owners are unwelcoming at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen
Ranked #14 of 168 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Stay away!! The owners are unwelcoming at best”
Reviewed June 26, 2006

I took a group of high school students in mid-June and have never been treated so poorly in 15 years of directing student study tours.

There was rarely anyone in the reception. The pool is tiny. My students were hassled by the owner's wife for being in the pool too much.

As mentioned in other posts, there is no drinking water or glasses furnished. There are no bath mats either. One of my students was charged $15 for a dirty towel. There was supposed to be a continental breakfast- it only came out when other guests arrived at the hotel.

As we were leaving the female owner told my students that "no Americans will ever stay here again." I would highly recommend that.

I travel yearly to Central and South America and know what to expect-You should choose anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander J, Manager at Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly thankful for choosing our Hotel Casa de las Flores in Playa del Carmen. With regret we read that you did not get the attention you and your group of students deserved. You might be interested in knowing that the ownership of the hotel changed in 2013.Since our new team took over we are working every day as hard as possible to create an unforgettable vacation experience for all our guests.

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again and improve your perception about our hotel.

Kind regards,
Casa de las Flores Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    118
    52
    12
    12
See reviews for
62
164
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Casa de Las Flores is a very nice hotel to stay in Playa. There are a few rooms in a quiet ambiance. You'll be 4 blocks from the main street (to the east), and a few streets from the "good" part of the 5th avenue (the part with less tourist's boutiques but more bars+restaurants), so you will not be really in the inside downtown => you'll have to walk a little bit, but you'll be really quiet, wich is really high advantage in Playa.
Avoid room 13 : the air conditionning is very noisy, and if you switch it off, you will still hear the AC of the room 1, just below !! We have changed the second day of our trip for an other room, without balcony but much more nice (new AC, room renovated).
The swimming pool is nice and clean. You'll have price for a beach club (about 1km), the mamita's (30 pesos/day).
++ best ratio price/quality
++ quiet
++ clean
++ nice italian management

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xav75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2006

Although Casa de las Flores is a beautiful, hacienda-style accomodation, I was sadly disappointed that I paid $75 a night for a room that had one postage sized 'bath' towel--no hand towel, no washcloth, one tiny bar of soap, no shampoo or conditioner, NO DRINKING GLASSES! No joke! I had to buy one at a store to take my daily medication.

The woman running the establishment is sassy indeed. I'm not sure if she dislikes Americans in general, but I found her condescending and really unhelpful. I was travelling with my sister who is older, and upon checkout I asked if she could call a cab as my sister had trouble carrying her bags. She refused and told us to walk to the end of the block and hail a taxi ourselves. I was highly offended. And all this for $75.00 a night.

What is most ironic is I'd been to Casa de las Flores in 2004 and had a similar experience. I decided to return because it was familiar and hoped the experience would be a better one. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

My wife and I found this little place about 5 minutes from the beach. Beatriz, the owner, and Paula, the manager, are delightful people. The photos don't do it justice. I think it's grown to 24 or 28 rooms now. We stayed in #11 (king size bed!)on the ground floor and in the new addition. In fact, we may have been the first people to stay in the room. We stayed at Christmas, so the rates were higher than they ususally are. But they were still a bargain for a boutique hotel of this quality. I highly recommend it because it's small, personal, and away from the noise and hustle and bustle of 5th Avenue. We will be going back!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rosweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

I had the pleasure of staying at Casa Flores in Ajijic on two occasions in Nov and Dec 2005. There are only 5 rooms, all distinctive. The first time we were in Room 3, very spacious with a garden sitting area outside the room. The second visit was in Room 4, upstairs with a commanding view of the mountains. Casa Flores is only 3 blocks from the square and the same distance from a half dozen good restaurants. The breakfasts were very good as well. There is a pool as well. The rates are reasonable at between $50 and $65 per night for two people. Jean and Walt Smith are very accomodative. Their website is www.casafloresmexico.com

Helpful?
7 Thank tomgyakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2005

If you are searching for something tranquil, charming, original, spotlessly clean and friendly without the formality, commercialism and the americanism of 4/5 star hotels this is the place for you.
Take a look at their website, their photos speak for themselves.
Would without doubt stay again. Lovely place.

Playa.....unfortunately has lost its charm of recent years...its fastly becoming a mini Cancun an American burger and chips kind of place if you get my meaning....sadly thats progress and commercialism for you....but still an enjoyable holiday if based there and you are prepared to move to find the real beauty and charm of Mexico and its people.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dora7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 11, 2005

Stumbled across this beautiful, family-run hotel after deciding to check-out of yet another over-rated, over-priced hotel on the Lonely Planet circuit.

Feel in love with the place on sight - so decided to stay for a fortnight whilst I studied Spanish at a nearby school. Bucket loads of character - truly beautiful, spotlessly clean, amazingly friendly staff - including the super-sassy owner / manager (Beatrice). And it's CHEAP!! I paid only US$25 per night for a very comfortable basic room for 10 days - with a great view over the pool and courtyard. Whadda bargain!!

The place is tucked away in the authentically Mexican part of town - which adds to the charm - just around the corner from the sorry precession of tired old-haunts recommended in the little green tourist bible (for which I am increasingly loosing respect for). It's a few blocks back from the beach, and thankfully a million miles from the tourist pack that descends on Avenida Qunita.

If I were heading back to Playa any time soon, I'd be keeping this one all to myself. But I'm not. So I feel it's only fair to share. And plus, I owe Beatrice the favour of a strong recommendation. She looked after me like I can't begin to explain. It's her hotel. And it shows. (Did I mention the night she brought in the local 12 piece Mariachi band and kept us all well lubricated with Tequila around the pool). POSITIVELY BRILLIANT!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,441 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen

Property: Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen
Address: 20th Avenue North | Between 4th & 6th Streets, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a new concept in Playa del Carmen accomodation. With colonial architecture reminiscent of the Yucatan Peninsula's historic haciendas, this charming family run hotel has a calm and relaxing atmophere where you can feel the unique communion of the past and the present. We have 29 lovely rooms around a beautifull garden and swimmong pool. We are located just 4 blocks from the beaches and just 3 blocks from the 5th Avenue, the main touristic street. Come and join us! "Close enough of the 5th Avenue to be part of the night life and far enough to sleep and rest comfortable in the intimacy of your room" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Flores Hotel
Hotel Casa De Las Flores Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing