We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location ”
Review of Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We were two young travelers and Che's b&b met our budget restraints quite nicely. We stayed four nights and enjoyed the beautiful Playacar beach which is just down the road as well as many great restaurants. The staff was very helpful and pointed us in the right direction to take cheaper colectivo vans to Tulum and Cancun instead of the ADO buses. The ferry to Cozumel is also very close by.

Our room was on the second floor and quite spacious. There was a large seashell sculpture and the headboard which was quirky and fun. No complaints about the water temperature or pressure.

As mentioned by other reviewers, breakfast includes a serve yourself spread of bread, fruit (watermelon and pineapple for us), coffee, tea, cereal, yogurt, granola, boiled eggs and raw eggs to make yourself, as well as hot dogs. The breakfast was sufficient for us, and on the last day we made ourselves some French toast.

Highly recommended, if I come back to Playa del Carmen I want to stay here!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank iaheilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 239 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

excelent little hidden gem in playa, loved it and hope to go back many times! very relaxing and calm, just wha I wanted! great food and shopping nearby and beaches are the best! Recommend it for a lovers get away or fun time with friends, close enough to everything but not in the middle of the noisy area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cancunrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you want to stay in a quiet, safe location; just a short walk from the beach; and don't mind some quirky issues, Che B&B is your place. Unless serving yourself cold cereal and milk or toast with margarine is breakfast in your book (and washing your own dishes too, I wasn't clear) just forget the "breakfast" part and plan on eating out. We stayed in two rooms a few days apart. Good showers with hot water, sinks didn't have hot water. Light switches are in odd place and some seem to do nothing. There are odd shaped spaces and steps up and down between rooms you have to keep track of. In one room the doorknob on the bathroom was falling out and the bedroom has glass doors to the hall and only a thin curtain that gaped at the edge unless one pushed a table against it. That being said, both rooms had access to balconies, the beds were comfortable, and everything was very clean. It is inside an older guarded, gated community with the Playacar Palace and various condos, which is super quiet and has huge pockets of natural jungle and even its very own ruins. Finding it the first time isn't easy, because the community is pretty well isolated, even though it is just steps south of the bustling ferry terminal area. The first time you go head south on 10Ave and turn left INTO the entrance for Playacar Palace, walking straight toward the Palace through the guarded automobile barrier (guards were friendly, never asked us where we were going). Turn right almost immediately, walk to the end of that short block and turn left, and Che is the last house on your left. To find the shortcut back to the Ferry Terminal and 5Ave come out of Che, turn left out of the door and left at immediate corner. Walk straight ahead, passing the Palace on your right, and straight past a guard booth with the Palace still on your right and the Jungle on your left. Down a few steps and you are in a commercial courtyard and can exit right to the beach or continue straight under the buildings and come out just a few doors up from the ferry terminal. Once you know where the entrance is going back to Che that way is easy.

Room Tip: There is at least one with a private, screened porch on the shady north side; it was a very nice fea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outdoorwoman6382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

First the good - Location: it is very near a nice beach to the south of the ferry pier, this beach doesnt have bars etc but in my opinion is all the better for that. It is in a quiet area (Playancar) with what seemed to be high end holiday homes and so is safe and quiet but at the same time it is close enough to the town centre. It was quite hard to find though!
Staff: they were generally friendly and helpful with most queries (see below). There did seem to be rather a lot of them and so they tended to clutter the communal are!
Breakfast: help your self to fruit etc.
The bad: - Our room was off the shared area which meant it was the noisiest in the building. the main problem though was that it rained and the roof on what seemed to be an extension to the room leaked badly. We were not warned about this before hand and when we told the staff we got helpless shrugs and a bucket! I am sure there are other rooms and they are probably fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the room off the common area, especially if it rains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were very happy with our stay.

The good: Location, huge bed, staff. Florencia was very helpful, a great host.

The bad: Bad lighting (light bulbs missing), some bugs in the room (but the hostel is an old house with some kind of "forest" next to it, understandable), some rust in the shower that stained our clothes (very important to be fixed), no door in the bathroom (a must!!!).

The different: The decoration is so estrange that it makes it pintoresque. A lot of shells decoration combined with Mexican tiles :D

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryrubio85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Amplias, y cómoda muy acogedora.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tubygatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marin666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wabi Hotel
Wabi Hotel
#6 of 189 in Playa del Carmen
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Margarita Boho Chic Hotel
Quinta Margarita Boho Chic Hotel
#3 of 189 in Playa del Carmen
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B Casaejido
B&B Casaejido
#22 of 189 in Playa del Carmen
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. Martin Boutique Hotel
The St. Martin Boutique Hotel
#23 of 189 in Playa del Carmen
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#29 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca

Address: | Corner Biajaica de la Mar, Playacar Fase 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Casa Che B&B)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $56 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Blanca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
is located in the exclusive residential neighborhood Playacar, one of the quietest and safest places in Playa del Carmen. Our comfortable location, only 50 meters away from the sea and 4 blocks from the ADO bus station and the famous 5th Avenue, allows our guests to enjoy the beautiful beach and the innumerable options of restaurants, pubs and shops. There are also archeological sites to visit at a short walking distance. Services and facilities: • 24-hour security inside de neighborhood • Wi-Fi inside the building • Varied make-it-yourself breakfast • Kitchenettes and fridges in common areas • Tours • Room cleaning service • Hot water in every room • Air conditioning • Sitting room and library • Coffee, tea, pasta and rice unlimited during your stay At Casa Blanca we want our guests to feel at home, making their stay a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing