We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #16 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having spent the better part of a year at this hotel I can confidently recommend Acanto to any traveller/s going to PDC. Acanto is the quiet hotel you're looking for while only a block from the beach and 1/2 a block from 5th Ave and everything it has to offer.

Although only steps away from both the noise level isn't what you'd expect. You don't really hear any of the hassle and bustle from the night life in PDC.

The staff and owners are always attentive to your needs and you will often see Matt & Laurie conversing with guests.

Check out their website, what you see is exactly what you get. The roof top patio does have the million dollar $$$$ view you wanted.

Don't hesitate to book your next visit to PDC at Acanto.

Room Tip: Any roof top penthouse suites. Or my personal favourite suite 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
You have been with us so long you have become family.. Its so nice to see that you enjoy our hotel and accommodations. You are welcome to stay as long as you need to or return when ever you want to.. Its always a pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    166
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
199
371
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This boutique hotel was amazing. My family of 4 had a 2 room suite. The accommodations were beautiful, clean and very convenient to everything. The entire staff was there to make your stay the best possible. Trip arrangements were made through the front desk, hot tub preparations....you name it, they did it for you. I loved this place and will be there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank libbyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you,, it was a pleasure .. your family was so nice as well .. see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed at the Acanto Boutique hotel this past week july 12-16, it was amazing!!! beautiful property ...apartments were perfect.....clean....felt brand new....staff was very nice...and was just steps away from dinning shopping..bars...excellent location...have no complaints....cant wait to visit again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We can't ask for anything more than perfect. Thank you for that score!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Acanto Boutique Hotel is a little private oasis off of a busy street full of activities day and night. It was an absolute fabulous stay. My stay was for four nights which simply wasn't enough. The location is nearly 10 steps off La Quinta Avenida which is a beautiful long strip of restaurants, shops, cafe's anything you could need. The hotel is extremely accommodating if you need help to book a day trip, call a car service or make a reservation, ask for Eduardo's help. Minutes away from white sand and crystal clear beaches, the Acanto offer's discounts for the surrounding restaurants and beach clubs, as well as the restaurants. All of the people visiting La Playa del Carmen are extremely nice and have one goal in mind, to enjoy their stay and have fun. I will definitely be visiting again.
Do go see the baby tigers and lion cubs you can hold right off the strip!

Room Tip: All are accommodating and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi we are so glad you loved the hotel and the town.. Yes those tigers are so cute.. Have a great summer and well see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved our stay at Acanto Boutique hotel. The location was excellent! Just a few feet away from the 5th Ave Strip where all of the great bars, and restaurants are. The staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Any request that we had, they went out of their way to accommodate us.

The first day we arrived we ate at a restaurant on the strip and the food was terrible. We immediately thought "This is going to be a long trip"! However, when we returned to our room
we found a book that was provided by the hotel. In that book they has a list of all of the restaurants they they recommend for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Along with the menus for each establishment, and a 10% discount card if you choose to eat at any of them. This was a fantastic tool for us to have because after listening to the recommendations, we never had a bad meal again!

The rooms were very nice. Great size for the two of us, larger then any hotel room we've had. The furnishings and appliances were nice and modern. The pool was open to guests 24/7 and was never crowded! It was almost like we had the pool to ourselves. The hot tub on the roof was also very nice. The hotel also provided free Wifi and free international calling which was excellent!

The only Con about the hotel was the beach on 16th street was not very nice. They dock boats along the shore and there seemed to be a lot of algae in the water when we went. But this wasn't a major concern for us because if you walk a few blocks north near Mamita's beach club, the beach is beautiful! The Ocean is much nicer up that way. Trust me It wasn't a big deal or a reason not to stay at Acanto. It's literally a 5 minute walk up the strip and you will arrive in paradise!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We have compiled a list of the top rated and best restaurants, beach clubs and attractions in town and all of our guests benefit from discounts or specials at each one of them..We generally do not recommend restaurants that are not on out preferred list..

The beach down the road is really just an access point. to the right and left of the access point are our recommended beach clubs.. So I'm glad you found those. Our playa map guide has each beach club and restaurant listed and easy to find..

We are glad you enjoyed the room, pool and facilities and although the hotel was full when you were there, you would never know it.. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My GF and I stayed four nights last week at the Acanto and were blown away by the location, room, and service. Eduardo, Jenny, Joel, and Diego were incredibly helpful with food and entertainment recommendations. We will definitely stay again! Do yourself a favor and stay at Acanto!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxreinbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you Max it was a pleasure having you. We work very hard to make exert guests experience exquisite and social
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay here was amazing. It was a short walk to the beach and conveniently located within a block of lots of restaurants and shopping. The staffs responsiveness and attentiveness to our needs combined with beautiful rooms and the Eden- like facility transformed our time in Cancun into a true relaxing paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldcitizen2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
As some of our reviews state that the experience starts with the very first inquiry about a reservation. The staff always responds immediately and clearly and is attentive to all our guests needs.

Our central location make a stay in Playa del Carmen make for the perfect stay and enjoyable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,733 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing