We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #18 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I am a travel snob and I like to stay in luxury accommodation when I go abroad. This hotel exceeded my expectations; staff and living space and all the extras were excellent.

From the moment we entered we were in luxury and homely luxury at that, I have never felt so comfortable in a villa before.

The villas are super clean, spacious and modern with all the amenities and some nice extras. With the villa we booked, we were given access to a great little roof top area which included free access to a jacuzzi and BBQ which we took full advantage of!

All staff members were truly lovely, Lea took the time to show us around the villa and was very thorough. Everyone was welcoming here and I can't rate this place highly enough.

In terms of things to do, location is perfect, you have bars/restaurants/shops/markets/beach all on the doorstep. All in walking distance which was perfect for us.

Food wise, you have to go to the Imprevist for breakfast, it's literally just around the corner and for dinner I highly recommend Plank which is across the road.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank LindsayPReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Front Office Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you so much . This is the type of review that the staff works so hard for.

Our BBQ and Jacuzzi is there for all to enjoy.

Our partner restaurants are hand picked by our staff and strive to serve only the best dishes.

Our staff works round the clock to keep the property and rooms in prisitne condition, shining like new all the time

Our accommodations were designed and furnished by experienced professionals and assure our guests of comfort and luxury.

And we are always happy when everything goes right, like it did for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 884 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent location!!!! Right on the edge of both the Beach and the Buzz of 5th Avenue - this hotel is the PERFECT spot for a family-friendly stay in Playa Del Carmen. Highly recommend it. Rooms are very clean; staff is absolutely fantastic and very hospitable; comfortably bilingual - without being too overbearing ~ Neena Verma, Boston MA

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you Neena... we all enjoyed having you as well.. We look forward to having you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here for my bachelorette party. The staff was so friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Eduardo at the front desk was by far the best. The rooms are beautiful and a great place to stay because you can walk everywhere, which is very convenient because you don't have to pay for taxis. I would definitely reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erasmo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Yup Eduardo is the man. Always going out of his way for the guests. As does the rest of our staff..

May i comment that although we do host groups , family reunions, etc our guests always remain quiet and considerate of other guests. Just as you did. So thank you for that.

One of the most important things that we stress to our guests at Acanto is privacy, Quietness, and consideration for all guests at the hotel.

Again, thank you for that.

Good luck on your upcoming marriage and may you have many happy years in your future. and perhaps return to Acanto for your anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful staff who are so welcoming and helpful. They will go out of their way for you. Beautiful rooms, and location right in the centre of playa del Carmen. I was sad to leave! The only bad thing was check in was a bit too late and we had to hang around for a few hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hi Sarah it was great to have you at Acanto and we always make our guests feel like VIPs..Welcome to the family.

On your next trip to Acanto well be happy to extend an early check in as we do to all our loyal guests.

otherwise check in is at 3 but as you know we are happy to hold bags and give a place to change and beach towels.

Have a great summer and well see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I first booked a week in Playa de Carman, but after see and living at the Acanto condos it turned in to three weeks. With a 1/4 of a block to 5th ave you have everything you need or want at your finger tips. The staff were amazing in English or Spanish, they had all the info and best day trip advice to offer. I highly recommend these condos/hotel to all my friends and family. I will be returning to Playa de Carman soon and there is only one place I would stay and that is Acanto condos/hotel. I give them 5 stars for there staff, there rooms, there service, and there night security witch made my stay feel safe. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you so much your second home is here and waiting anytime you are ready..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

When we arrived to the hotel and did the check-in the first thing they did was to read us the Rules of the hotel. I was shocked with one of the rules. If you go out at night you need to tell the night guard you will be late. Come on. I'm 49 and my wife is 39 it has being a Long Time since I do not tell anyone if we are going out and when are we coming back. If you lose the key is $25 usd for a normal proximity plastic key they use in many hotels and they replace it for free. It was not aloud to put the air condition below 21 Celsius ( 70 F ) in the room. The included breakfast was very poor and I understand the concept of continental breakfast. We choose a room with a "Private Jacuzzi" it was nothing private in the jacuzzi. It is located in the roof top with several other " Private Jacuzzis" but the division fence is like 3 ft high so everyone can see you all the time. Our feeling was the administration of the hotel wants to save money at all cost.

The hotel is nice and well located, the rooms were fine a bit small but confortable, over all we expect more for a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dextercun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi i apologize for any confusion with the room type or roof layout. We post very accurate pictures of the hotel and individual rooms on Tripadvisor and our website so there are no misunderstandings, we also post the actual room square footage of each room type, As we do have large rooms as well. Some of the roof areas are more private than others, all have their own Jacuzzi and BBQ. the reason we do not have high fences on the roof top areas is so we do not block any of the beautiful views

We recently started to offer the small Continental breakfast as a convenience to our guests at no additional cost. This includes Breads, pastries, cereal, fruits, juice, coffee, water, milk and jam.The guests seem to love it and gather in the courtyard or take their food to their private terraces. as all rooms have full kitchens most guests use what we offer to compliment the breakfasts that they have in the room, or as some extras if they choose to go to one of our recommended restaurants.

Regarding the hotels policies, we make the guests aware of them especially thinks like no extra guests in rooms, no smoking, etc. etc. Our concern is that we keep the property pristine and quiet and safe for all guests.

Our keys are costly, and specially made to sync with the electronic swipe system. we ask the guests not to lose them, as we have lost hundreds or more over the years.

For Guests returning late at night we ask them to advise us for security reasons only..

For the air conditioning we only recommend we do not insist that the air is not put lower than 21 as it does not cool the rooms quicker than if it is higher and it puts less strain on the system. Of course we are also concerned with energy consumption, and savings so we can pass it on to our guests.

Many guests love the hotel and service, location, room size and personal service that we offer. We are always interested in recommendations so we can continue to improve and be one of the best boutique hotels in Playa del Carmen

Thank you and i hope you will come back to Acanto again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Acanto Boutique Hotel is in a good location, though it is not beach front, it's right off of 5th Ave and 1 block from the beach. The hotel is very clean and has a lovely entryway that leads into a pool area. The rooftop balcony is nice, and has views of the ocean. We had a penthouse suite - one bed & bath, small kitchen area, and stairs off of the balcony that led to the rooftop. The rooftop has a grill and a Jacuzzi, which is very nice at night. The room itself was not very large, but we didn't mind one bit since we spent most of our time on the beach. Our only issue was that the Wi-Fi did not work much of the time that we were there, but this was not a major issue. The staff is very helpful and informative. Overall, Acanto is a great value and a good location in Playa.

Room Tip: The rooms that have a private rooftop area with Jacuzzi are nice, but if you don't want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Front Office Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your kinds comments. You had the studio penthouse with kitchenette and private stairway to the roof top..

We do have larger full 1 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses as well.

The studio penthouse seems to be a favorite because it is more affordable and offers the same, but smaller amenities as the others..

Thanks for posting the pictures they are great !!

Glad you enjoyed and i know well have you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#19 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#11 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $116 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Acanto Hotel all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach which is just one block away. Daily maid service, discounts to local area restaurants & beach clubs, a beautiful roof top with BBQ and views of the Sea. Acanto offers Deluxe rooms and 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options all surrounding a courtyard and swimming pool. Most rooms include full kitchen, living room and dining room. The location is a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants and beaches offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere. Our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's. We are LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Acanto Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing