We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Playa Del Carmen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #16 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Acanto Boutique Hotel and it was wonderful! The staff was amazing especially Eduardo and Joel who helped us with anything we needed. The room was spacious and modern and the rooftop view was spectacular. The location was fantastic, just minutes from the beaches and 5th Avenue which we walked every night with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. The beach clubs were amazing. Also, a short walk to the Cozumel ferry where we spent the day sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel and cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Kimkatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing Acanto as your home away from home.We look forward to you many returns back to paradise.

Have a great spring and Summer

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
There are newer reviews for Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 863 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our first stay at the Acanto Hotel and I can't wait to go back. The hotel staff was wonderful, very accommodating and provided us and all of its guest with personal service. The rooms are newly renovated, beyond spacious and very comfortable and the boutique style pool is very inviting, day and night. We stayed in a room on the highest floor that also provided us with our own private rooftop lounging area, with a priceless view of the ocean. The hotel is within moments from the beach, and the beach clubs affiliated with The Acanto were incredible, just adding to our perfect Mexican experience. Playa del Carmen is clearly the up and coming area of the Mayan Riviera, with wonderful restaurants, shopping and nightlife within very close walking distance. The hotel also recommended an adventure day for us including ziplining, fresh water cliff jumping, etc. and a day in Cozumel (just a quick ferry ride away) that were fabulous and so memorable. To quote previous reviews, The Acanto Boutique Hotel is a gem !!!! A special thank you to the staff that helped make our vacation amazing....we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewyorkDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Being one of the best and newest Boutique hotels in town we always offer to customize our guests visits.

We make sure to always recommend activities whether it is an ATV tour, zip lining, visiting Cozumel or any of the other activities that Playa del Carmen offers.

And our Privilege cards offer special discounts and admission to varios clubs and restaurants around town as well

Thanks for your comments and well see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was my 3rd stay at Acanto Boutique Hotel. The Hotel is spotlessly maintained and run by very friendly & attentive staff. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We were fortunate to have access to the rooftop hot tub and deck with spectacular views to across the pristine blue water to Cozumel. The Acanto staff arranged for our transfers to & from Cancun Airport and also various activities including access to the beach club and day trips to Chichen Itza and Tullum. Nothing was a problem for the Acanto Team. The Hotel is located just off 5th Avenue and one block from the beach so is convenient to all the best of Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you and it was a pleasure having you back at Acanto. We love our Acanto family and you are welcome, as you already know to visit us anytime. You are an official Acanto VIP..

Well see you soon

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Hotel is perfect, and located just a few steps from Fifth Ave, and from Beach. Rooms are great, nice sized and well decorated. Pool is beautiful. The use of various Beach Clubs that are all a block or 2 from the Hotel makes it even more fun. The Staff is very friendly and helpful as well. The Hotel even has a "discount card' for a few $ off on local restaurants and the like. I would go back any time.

Room Tip: Our Penthouse Room had a private Hot Tub and Deck.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed. The Penthouses are for sure a favorite. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful boutique hotel with charm, then you will love Acanto. It has a great location just off of 5th avenue (the pedestrian only street) so it's quiet yet has easy access to lots of shops and restaurants. Only 5 minutes walk to the beach. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedR0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

I believe these guests bought this trip in an auction for a charity.. We are always happy to contribute our success to help others and even more happy when those had a great experience at our hotel..

Thank you and well see you again soon

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February in a two-bedroom suite (villa #9, I believe) on the second floor, overlooking the street. First off, we knew we would be arriving before the 3:00 check-in, so they had advised we could store our bags until the room was ready. The gentleman on the front desk (I believe his name was Joel???) was so nice and made sure we were taken care of. He offered us a room to change in if we needed, and towels, so we decided to drop our bags and head for a bite to eat and meet our wedding planner while we waited for my husbands parents to arrive. A couple of hours later we came back just as my in-law's were arriving, and we were now able to check into the room.

The small lobby overlooks the breathtaking pool area, and there are stairs and a small elevator to get to the second floor. Our suite was very well appointed, with full-size modern kitchen (with everything you need), dining table, and comfortable living room. There was a small balcony off the living room that overlooked the street, with a table and chairs. We had chosen a two-bedroom suite, each bedroom had it's own bathroom as well. My husband & I took the back bedroom that had a small patio located in the interior of the building (no view), with a comfy hammock. I would say it was mostly private, though the rooms above us (and opposite) could potentially look down upon you, but we never had any issue. Beds were very comfy, and room was large and well-appointed. Large dressing area with closets connected to the bathroom with huge walk-in shower. Our only issue with the shower was that even with the glass door closed, water would leak out onto the floor, so you would have to use lots of towels to mop it up...this seems to be very common in Mexican hotels for some reason...but not a huge issue. There is a small safety deposit box in the closet that can fit passports, wallets, etc., but not big enough for a laptop.
We also went up to the rooftop patio one evening for drinks and to look at the lights over Cozumel.

Overall we had a very comfortable stay and the staff was awesome. They offered us suggestions for restaurants & tours, and even gave us discount coupons for various places to eat as well, such as Plank and Imprevist, which we tried and LOVED as well. The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the middle of it all, but just away from the hustle and bustle of 5th. We didn't have any noise from the street even though we overlooked 16th. Always felt secure. We would absolutely stay here again when in Playa!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newfiegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

WOW ! these are the reviews that we work so hard to get.. Thank you so much for recognizing all of these positive attributes about our hotel..

We are so glad you had such a positive experience

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I had stayed in Acanto last week. This hotel offered much romantic charm and is a quiet oasis off the bustling 5th Ave of shops, eateries, and other tourist attractions and one block from the beach. We could see the vibrant blues of the ocean off the roof-top situated with barbecues and hot-tubs to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs. Our villa was very clean and comfortable and offered a kitchenette, dining table, small living room, bathroom with warm water, and a bedroom with a great night of sleep every night. We also had an outdoor sitting area with table off of our room to read, eat your meals or whatever. The pool was a little chilly water temperature-wise and shaded part of the day so if you want to lay out at the pool most of the day and sun yourself this is not the place for it. Also this is not a place to offer noisy parties----big resorts would be a better option. Acanto had a true relaxing spa feel which was greatly needed. There is a spa/salon right next door to Acanto if you need a massage or whatever. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,780 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
853 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $101 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach which is just one block away. Daily maid service, discounts to local area restaurants & beach clubs, a beautiful roof top with BBQ and views of the Sea. Acanto offers Deluxe rooms and 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options all surrounding a courtyard and swimming pool. Most rooms include full kitchen, living room and dining room. The location is a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants and beaches offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere. Our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing