We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel that you likely would miss walking by”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #18 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Webster, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel that you likely would miss walking by”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The place was always clean. I felt safe! They have free calls to USA and wifi (which another hotel did not have!). It was only a short walk to the beach or to shopping areas! It was perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisonpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Although we are in the heart of Playa del Carmen, our location on the pedestrian side street make us easy to miss. Once you enter our gates we offer a whole new world.

We are constantly adding benefits for our guests. Now including free wifi throughout the hotel and Long distance calls as well if you have to contact your friends or family.

Our new VIP Privelege card offer our guests access and specials on several restaurant and beach clubs around Playa

Our bakery also now offer breakfast for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
186
366
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yucatan, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I had an excellent time for the three days and two nights. Your staff is great and so very helpfull at all time, and your place is beautiful clean and very well located (a few steps from la quinta avenida). I wish I can come back in the near future.

Alejandra

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alejandrapeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you Alejandra. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon. Merida is not far away.
Be sure to contact the front desk for your VIP Discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver canada
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

"Acanto embodies the very spirit of Playa del Carmen by combining sexy, stylish design with a perfect location that will allow for effortless transitions from beach to the fashion, cuisine and nightlife of 5th avenue..."

I work for Mexi-Go! a Canadian Magazine about Mexico and have had the pleasure of staying at many great hotels around the country. I absolutely loved my time at Acanto and can't wait for my next visit. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We Love the analogy to the sexy and stylish design. Our architect and interior designers are world class.

Thank you for the compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Allure Destinations organized our recent stay at Acanto Hotel & Residences through in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. My wife and I have been proud members of Allure Destinations with no complaints for a little over 5 years now. We couldn't imagine using another company and we´re so happy that we chose Allure Destinations as our travel club.

We usually vacation in Mexico as Allure Destinations offers great locations and simply stunning accommodation options, plus we are a little older now and really can´t handle long haul flights anymore.

Acanto Hotel & Residences is a lovely boutique style resort and really has a nice intimate feel. The romantic ambiance is perfect for couples or Honeymooners. We stayed here last month (January 2014) and found that the resort catered perfectly to our needs and seemed to accommodate other more family orientated groups who were also staying at the resort.
Our suite had an ocean view and quite literally, Acanto Hotel & Residence is right on the beach. We were actually lucky enough to be staying there during a full moon, and the beach is absolutely stunning during this time, perfect for romantic strolls for those looking to reignite the flames of passion in their relationship.

What my wife and I really like about Acanto Hotel & Residences is that the resort is just a short walk away from 5th Avenue; you literally arrive right in the thick of the action. Playa Del Camren’s 5th Avenue is definitely the epicentre of life in the area, and generally all the tourists converge on this seemingly never ending street of souvenir shops, restaurants, bars, tour stands and attractions.

As we are Allure Destinations members we received absolutely fantastic service and treatment, there was never enough anyone could do for us. It really makes a difference if you can stay at world-class resorts and be waited on hand and foot, and greeted with smile everywhere that you go.

It was our first time staying at Acanto Hotel & Residences, and we would 100% recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms father away from the swimming pool are probably a little bit quieter than those closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brians268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for the praises. We do cater to families, honeymooners, weddings and small groups as we are intimate with 21 units..

We are known as one of the most romantic hotels in a very romantic area such as Playa del Carmen.

The Penthouse rooftop units are for sure the most popular and the views from the roof are bar-none. A night under the stars and moon in the jacuzzi is a must for all romantics.

I just want to clarify to readers that although it appears that we are on the beach we are actually 1 block away from the beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Can't go wrong here. Very private, upscale apartment type housing right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. Everything was in walking distance. Tons of great food, the lady (Karla?) at the front desk was BEYOND helpful in directing us to restaurants, getting cabs, etc.

100% would recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are solid - this place is where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Consider us your home away from home.. Well welcome you with open arms and a great room..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Unique. In the heart of Playa on a blocked off street. One of the very nicest places to stay. Great staff great service. Everything in walking distance. I will not forget my stay, as it was on the top of my list. You cannot go wrong. Secure to the point I left things outside my room and had no fear of anything being misplaced. I can't say enough.

Room Tip: Don't rent a car, it is not needed in this location, even if you take the ferry to Cozumel. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This small hotel located between 5th Ave. & 1st, remains quiet even being right off the main shopping avenue. The selection of shops near the hotel are more unique & upscale than the shopping venues further south. There was a good selection of eateries & night clubs within a 5 minute walk. The hotel itself is simply stylish & kept clean. Most of the sleeping quarters are suites with kitchens, that were not affordable for us or not needed. There were a few quirks that could be adjusted. The showers were not forceful enough to cleanse off the sea & sand. The hot tubs located on the rooftop, had some problems as we found out using them after dusk each evening. In competition with other boutique hotels in the area, relocate the "morning coffee station" to the central patio bar offering fresh brewed coffee with real cream, as well as additional eats & making use of this lovely patio. The staff was consistently friendly & helpful...

Room Tip: 5D js used as a king-size bedroom,(affordable) quiet with an interior patio, short walk up. If you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
So glad you had a great time. Recently we have replaced all shower heads and faucets, as the salt in the water builds up over time and clogs them.. not we have much better pressure and flow.

We have taken your advice and relocated the morning coffee and fruit to the pool/bar area. we will also be offering continental and full breakfast in that area as well.

Next time you return you will see the changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing