We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - a couple of items to note, however”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #18 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a group of 12 people stay at Acanto this holiday season. Overall our experience was very good. First the good:

The location is great - a half block from 5th ave and 1 1/2 blocks from the beach on 16th street. Except for the issue that I mention below, the noise from the street and adjacent properties is perfectly acceptable. The units are well done, clean, and modern. We rented a 2 and a 3 bedroom and each unit was great. They both had medium sized balconies that faced the hotel courtyard as well as smaller balconies that faced the street - both of which were great areas. The beds are comfortable; the bathrooms are nice; and the kitchenettes are very functional. The staff is very helpful – particularly Emma and Joel.

Now a couple of items to be aware of:

When we made our reservation were booked into one unit in the hotel and another unit that was a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The "another" unit was not nearly as nice as the units in the hotel and is in the middle of a very bad area. The ownership/leasing company that manages the rooms at the Acanto also manages several other properties. I can’t speak for any of the other properties but the one that we saw was a far cry from the Acanto. To the staff's credit - once we saw the remote unit and decided that it wouldn't work - they made arrangements to find us another unit within the hotel.

During the week that we were there a very nice restaurant (Plank) opened up across the street from the Acanto. Plank is a very nice place - but they have live music until late in the evening/early in the morning. The noise from the band was very loud in the rooms with windows that faced 16th st. You will want to make sure that something has been done about this or ensure that you have a unit on the other side of the building. Given the Acanto’s location I expect and accept some noise into the evening. The volume and duration of this noise, however, was extreme.

Annoying - but manageable - was the situation with room keys. About 30% of the room keys that we were given actually worked. In the end we had to share keys for our group and stash them in bushes etc. at the hotel

Overall I'm very pleased with Acanto and would go back

Room Tip: A new restaurant opened up across 16th St. from the Acanto. The first two nights that they were ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 489Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

During the holiday times the streets are very lively and filled with people and holiday parties so all hotels experience excess noise, music etc..

Luckily we are not on 5th ave but on a side street closed to cars.. the music from the restaurant is jazz or salsa and generally the restaurant is cooperative with the volume. Usually the air conditioning or fans drown out the noise.

We also have electronic keys for the rooms that from time to time lose the program if they are put against a cell phone..

We do have an off property penthouse with private roof top pool that is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. its a great affordable alternative to the hotel. it is right off of 5th ave and just 2.5 blocks from the beach

we are always happy to accommodate all of our guests needs. and always do our best to give our guests the best possible experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 876 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We planned our daughter's wedding in Playa del Carmen. Our family and most of our guests stayed at the Acanto. It is a lovely and intimate setting with patios, balconies and lots of plants. It is just steps from the restaurants of Fifth Avenue and a block to the beach. We booked three of the penthouse level suites. They were clean, nicely appointed and well kept. The staff was very helpful and prompt. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back!
Kathy - mother of the Bride

Room Tip: Some upper level rooms only have access via stairs, so if you have elderly or those who cannot climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Yes the families and groups love Acanto as it makes our guests feel right at home with all the luxuries needed for a pleasant and comfortable stay. Especially for reunions and weddings as the families are able to take over the entire property . The Penthouses allow for the best experience offering the Jacuzzis and BBQS for extra fun.
We are so glad you enjoyed the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a great visit at the Acanto Boutique Hotel over Thanksgiving weekend 2013. The Acanto was home base for our Niece's wedding party and guests. The service was great the accommodations were comfortable and convenient to shopping, the beaches and restaurants. This was one of the few times we have gone to Mexico without being part of a cruise ship itinerary. The Acanto rooms were very comfortable, we used a 2 bedroom on the third floor. The unit had plenty of room, nicely decorated and all the necessary kitchen tools to make simple meals like breakfast. The location is very convenient to the beaches and the local shopping. There is a grocery store within walking distance, some great small local restaurants all within a few blocks. We felt safe walking around at night and the locals were very friendly. Some of the better shopping is on the side streets off 5th avenue. There is a roof top terrace which we didn't realize had such a great view of the water until the last day we were there. Wifi in the rooms costs you but you can get it for free if you sit down near the pool. Speaking of the pool it is very small but we didn't expect a resort style pool and we spent all of our days at the beach club Zensi which has the best Tuna tostadas. The Acanto was a great place to stay and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: get a room with a kitchen, it's worth having the extra room. If you want a room with a view you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradV2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We have hosted many groups, weddings, families and family reunions. Our private and discreet setting allows for the most intimate memories for our guests..

Glad your experience was perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Shady staff. But before getting to that, the rooms are dated, musty smelling, mine had zero natural light. Hard to imagine anyone with reasonable standards being impressed here. When you turn on the sink the stream literally would go over the sink and directly onto the floor.

They discounted very very heavily for cash, making me doubt that the owner of my unit saw any of the proceeds to the rental.

When I checked out and left, a guy chased me down the street, brought me up to the room and shook me down for a "broken lamp" which I 100% never touched and was not even broken (complete with bad acting job on his part). Out of respect for the hotel I won't get into this ordeal

Staff at front desk seemed nice, although when I used the internet that was opposite the front desk, a staff member told me it was not for guests (which is bizarre, since it was in a place where only a guest could possibly use it). Not a dump but 3 stars would be generous even without the shadiness. Pass

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karlos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

im not sure this review is for our hotel.
We offer free wifi and long distance calls all over our hotel in the rooms and common areas
We do not encourage cash reservations and do not discount for cash unless it is a walking last minute reservation.
All of our rooms are new and clean as you can see in our many mnay positive reviews.
We are always willing to do additional cleaning or prepping or relocate a guest if they are not happy with the room however all the rooms are large with full kitchen living room and dining room. Plasma tv Double doors terraces and more..
we have beautiful furnishings, lamps and artwork in the rooms and ask all guests to respect our property as if it were their own. so if there are broken items we do charge for them.

Im sorry you did not have a positive experience if you did stay at Acanto and hope if you return you will have a different experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Okay, I may repeat some points of others, but here we go. First, many thanks to Karla and Emma for their help. These nice ladies are receptionists, but do not mind take concierge requests. Hotel, although having ambitious rates, seems to be the best choice for staying in Playa. It is in exceptionally great shape, secure and well maintained. The online pictures are showing what you will get. It also has the best location being close to both the beach and the best stretch of the 5th Avenue. Maid service was impeccable. Small pool at the lobby level was rarely occupied, which we liked too. Acanto does not have restaurants, nor should it due to location. But you need to do your homework planning where to go for breakfast, lunch and dinner as not all restaurants around that place are created equal. Do it before you go and even reserve dinners ahead.
Now some criticism if Matt does not mind.
1. We booked so called Deluxe Room, which happened to be just a bedroom for kids with a pass through door to much better main parents residence. That door was closed and kids bedroom advertised and sold as Deluxe. That is without chairs, phone, coffee maker, table or any space to drop a luggage. Glass shower door was bumping the toilet seat. We immediately asked for upgrade and did it the next day without a problem, at extra charge though. Acanto website does not show Deluxe anymore, but Expedia did at the time of booking. We just felt it was misleading to use word Deluxe in reference to that bedroom, which was hardly suitable even for kids.
2. Shower heads. They need attention as they are clogged and pressure is low. Maintenance man came and went, but shower performance remained the same.
3. Reviewers mention closeness (2 blocks) from the beach. That is true, but when you get to it, you will see a yellow resort with a nice beach on your left, to which Acanto guests have no rights unless they pay $50 per person/day including food. On your right there will be a boating place - a long row of boats tied by ropes to the ground. You then continue walking until you find a place at Zenzi for which Acanto offers 10% off for food and drinks. That place does not compare to beautiful Acanto - crowded and basic. Not a perfect match. We did not try other places by the beach, not knowing who would be welcome there. Mexican law says all beaches are free for all. After being asked by Spanish speaking security to leave the beach at above mentioned yellow resort we really not sure if that law applied to Playa del Carmen. Something to think about by the management as we were after the sun, beach and all those summer things.
Back to positive.
You can actually communicate with hotel before you go and we really appreciate Matt's time. Playa del Carmen is a loud place, which seems to party 365/7, but it was remarkably quiet at Acanto during Christmas week.
Overall we are happy with our stay. We were to Mexico several times and this one will be the one to remember.

If readers want to ask anything we will be happy to respond while impressions are still fresh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bravissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We are so happy you loved your stay at Acanto and we are glad you were able to upgrade from the Deluxe room. They are basic and clean hotel rooms but are focusing on the 1, 2 or 3 bedroom units so our guests can experience the true Acanto atmosphere and lifestyle.

The 3rd party travel websites do not always describe to room classes properly so its best to contact us directly.

We are in the process of replacing all shower heads. we all know the water in Mexico isn't great to drink, nor is it good for our fixtures so we constantly have to do maintenance to the system

Our favorite Beach clubs are Zenzi and Wickys where we give passes for free lounges and discounts to food and drink. The yellow place is an all inclusive resort we never send our guests to, its too commercial and expensive.

We are located on a pedestrian only street so there is no car traffic, but there are people strolling the street day and night and the restaurants around us play music , generally light jazz up to around midnight.

Regardless most guests find it soothing to fall asleep to.

See you again soon

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I visited Playa del Carmen for 5 days and stayed in a 1 bedroom on the main level. Initially I wasn't thrilled about being on the first floor but the front desk attendant was very helpful and assured me that security is on patrol in the evenings and I would be perfectly safe which I was.

My room/apartment was very spacious and clean will all of the basics of a standard hotel included. Emma and the other front desk attendant were very helpful with restaurant and transportation recommendations and always had pleasant dispositions even when there was a long line of people waiting for assistance. Might be helpful to have a second person at the front during peak times. I had to wait for 30 min for the staff to return for help, and that was a bit annoying. The only other issue I experienced at the hotel was the water going out one morning for a few hours, but I'm pretty sure it was restored before lunchtime.

Housekeeping and maintenance were polite and friendly and were often friendly despite the language barrier on my part. I believe the owner happened to be onsite at the time of my arrival and oddly enough he was the only person at the hotel that didn't speak when I arrived. The rest of the staff were pleasant enough so I wasn't too put off by this.

I would/will definitely stay here in the future and recommend this property to others.

Room Tip: If you can get on a higher floor I'd assume you have a possibility of having an ocean view, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abangura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. We found it quiet and pleasant. Emma was very considerate as with the other front desk people. They were gracious and the housekeeping people were also
very nice. Would recommend it as a choice to see the 5 ave escapade.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrace1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

In my many years as a hotel operator, Emma and Karla are some of the best front desk and guest service personneI i have come across.

They are always smiling and only interested on pleasing our guests.

They are trained for this and will guide you any way you need for the best possible vacation experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,288 reviews
0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $119 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Acanto Hotel all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach which is just one block away. Daily maid service, discounts to local area restaurants & beach clubs, a beautiful roof top with BBQ and views of the Sea. Acanto offers Deluxe rooms and 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options all surrounding a courtyard and swimming pool. Most rooms include full kitchen, living room and dining room. The location is a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants and beaches offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere. Our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's. We are LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Acanto Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing