We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, easy access.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #18 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, easy access.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I were staying at our timeshare in Cancun but wanted to go down to playa del Carmen for a couple of reasons.....5th ave.(shops. nice places to eat, and nightlife) and Akumal Bay(check this place out for sure before one of the mayor resorts takes this place over and destroys the ecosystem there).

First this hotel is right off 5th avenue and has great access to the ferry that goes to Cozumel. We were only there for one night but we would go back there again in a heartbeat. Let me tell you all the perks of staying at this boutique hotel:

1. LOCATION: You get a new room that it very well appointed in a great location. It is right off of 5th ave. and two blocks to the ferry to Cozumel and the beach club.

2. BREAKFAST: For only $6 pp you can add breakfast at a really nice place around the corner from the hotel. This included homemade breads, muffins, jelly, fruit, yogurt and granola, and coffee and juice. Also for $5 more, you can get a full breakfast of your choice. Very good. Or if you are staying longer then I would recommend that you get one of the units that has a full kitchen and make your own.

3. DECOR: This hotel is brand new and has really cool furnishings that are tasteful and very nice. The shower is big and luxurious. And if you choose to have a room with a full kitchen then you also get a living room and a cute balcony.

3. BEACH CLUB: Though the hotel is not beachfront and has a small pool in the courtyard to cool off in, you do get free access to the beach club that they are affiliated with that has chairs, umbrellas and a 10% discount on your entire bill for food and drinks. This was a great bonus for us since it was so nice to chill by the water, have a waiter come to you and you enjoy drinks and food by the ocean. The club has a very south beach and European flair to it. It has lounge music playing during the day and after 4ish a live band.

4. FREE WIFI AND CALLS TO THE US: If you book a room that has this perk, it is great. That way you can stay connected to your loved ones in the US and get all your emails.

5. PARKING: We rented a car from Cancun to get to Akumal Bay and Playa and it was so nice to know that there was garage parking on the premises included in our stay. Safe and easy.

6. STAFF: Staff was helpful, courteous, and answered all the questions that we have. The only thing and maybe because it is their low season, was that early in the morning and late a night it was harder to find someone at the front desk. But they always seemed to pop up at the right time.

I would recommend staying here is you are staying in Playa del Carmen for a day or longer. Great place in a great location!!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed but if your staying longer, get a room with a full kitchen that is basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drcgrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
186
366
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is located in a secluded corner of the very popular 5th avenue; the single rooms are small but cute, although next time, I would get a room with a mini kitchen even if not used every day. There is no food and beverage so the fridge will come in handy at night. Don't need much more as the hotel is located near everything you need. Service is good and the staff is very nice. The rooms are clean and the pool is small but perfect!! Great place for couples!

Room Tip: Choose a bigger rom even if you don't need the extra amenities every day. You will want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Management P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was excellent along with the staff. It was everything we expected and more. The ladies at the front desk was very helpful and made sure we didn't go without.

The hotel was in a perfect location to shop and eat which was great, especially when it rained the two days we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in June 2013. The hotel has had a beautiful renovation. The "terrible" scores received on tripadvisor seem to be mainly during the renovation work. This is all complete and there were no cleaning issues during our stay.

We booked a penthouse suite with a private rooftop area. The room itself was nice, as I said they've done a nice renovation. The private rooftop area was a walkway at the back of the building with a fence around it. The photos on the website depict the private rooftop area for the most expensive apartment. Not reflective of the other areas. The ‘private’ rooftop areas have a little fence about 2 ft high that separates them from each other! Not so private. We were the only ones who used the rooftop area during our stay, so we ignored the little fences and enjoyed the rooftop area. We were there during wet season though; it may not be so pleasant during peak season.

The hotel backs onto a restaurant on 5th avenue. The restaurant has jazz music every night - at least it was playing nightly for our 9 day stay! At the earliest it stopped at midnight, but usually 1-1:30am. This was NOT the relaxing haven they described.

As soon as we heard this on our first night, we called the manager and he gave us a room up the front. This was a superior room (a 1brm apartment with sea views) and was quiet enough. My guess is that half their properties will sound like you're living in the restaurant/club!

The negative experience came the next morning. We had to move because we did not pay for that room. In the end we negotiated a price of USD250 for a quieter room (without sea view) and we just moved. Our new room was a superior room to the studio penthouse we’d booked as it had a separate lounge room so it was an upgrade on the studio, but actually was much more in line with what their website had led me to believe we were getting anyway! This experience influenced our stay.

The beach is just down the end of the road from the hotel but it is brown and smells of sulphur. Do NOT put your head under this water! Walk about 10 mins down the road and it improves. The simple rule is, if you don't see locals in the water, don't go in!!! The locals swim further down the beach, where it is quite nice. Not up to Australian standards, but nice enough. My third trip to the Caribbean and I’ve not been that impressed with their beaches, but I suspect they’ll be cleaner and nicer if you’re staying at an all inclusive resort. Note I think the beach was made worse by being wet season (probably fine in January) but it didn't rain while we were there and it remained brown and smelly the whole time.

We were not familiar with Mexico, and we found the town okay, but tacky. Part of traveling is to experience another culture. There wasn't much of that anywhere in the town. All you really got was tacky cliched Mexico. With food to match. Some fish tacos and the sopes from the street carts were the exceptions. And, we did have a nice steak at a local restaurant, but it cost us $140 for 2 ppl for steaks and drinks, including $8 for a bottle of water. That rivals Aussie prices! Welcome to Mexico! And the comments from other reviewers about finding the real Mexico a couple of streets back, well there really isn't much to see!!! The highlight of our trip was our drive out to Chichen Itza.

Would I return to this town? No. Is it a good place for independent travelers wanting to see Mexico? No. Are the beaches fantastic? No. Was the hotel a quiet relaxing haven? No. My advice, go to Japan instead – which was what I did last month (reviews to follow). These two countries, and my experience with their customer service, couldn’t be more different!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlyer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Not quite accurate.
As all the pictures depict, each penthouse has a private roof top , some larger than others all have jacuzzi, bbq and table and chairs.. all separated by planting and low wood type fence so as not to block the views...

The restaurant and there's only one behind the pool area has soft piano music generally until midnight. it is a very faint sound and some people love it..

The guest requested to be moved to a larger unit with full living room and kitchen and negotiated a discounted rate..

We always work with our guests to accommodate their desires..

The beaches are beautiful, our beach club around the corner is full of tourists and locals and the water is clear.. There are times of the year, like anywhere when the seaweed comes ashore.. Perhaps this guest experienced that..

Playa del Carmen has miles and miles of beach, filled with restaurants and bars all starting just around the corner of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Acanto for 5 days in February. I think I've never been in such a beautiful hotel suite. Everything was modern, clean, functional. The balcony overlooking the street was very nice, as was the rooftop hot tub. The location was perfect -- right in town, but accessible to the beach. We had a rental car that we kept in the garage, which was a bit tight, but okay.
Six months after our visit, I realized that we had been charged for an extra night. I contacted their customer service, and the money was refunded to my card within 24 hours of my email, no hassles or challenges. I was very relieved that they were so honest and responsive, even 6 months after my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful, quiet and tranquil.a hidden gem in the middle of it all, We rarely stay anywhere that completely exceeds our expectations. The 3 bedroom penthouse was comfort at it's best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animalhouse505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Acanto Boutique Hotel and Residences is one of my personal luxury properties in Playa del Carmen. It is my first choice for lodging when in Playa if I am traveling alone, or with a group as I was in August. Their accommodations are perfect. It feels like home and we have often commented about making it our corporate headquarters! Wouldn't that be nice? The beach is right there not to mention the gym and spa. We enjoyed the spa treatments and hair salon, both were excellent. It was by far the best massage I have had in a long time. The great selection of restaurants on 5th Ave, is the best. We had a new choice every night and it is right around the corner. Just thinking about makes me wish we were back there right now!

Room Tip: Every room is good! Just depending on how many are in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYB_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you all again for these fantastic reviews.. We work so hard for them and ask all of our guests to be kind enough to review for us.
Please contact us for any info or just visit our hotel site for rates and reservations

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing