We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, Service, Location, Price... all great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #17 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Corona, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Service, Location, Price... all great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I highly recommend the Acanto Boutique Hotel in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. We (3 families: 6 adults & 3 kids) stayed very comfortably for a week in a 3 bedroom suite (each with its own full bathroom) with and living room and 2 private balconies, and kitchen (we cooked / eat most of our meals at our suite or to-go). All accommodations were modern yet homie. Free Wi-Fi is available in common areas (reception, pool, and balconies), and for a fee in your suite. Service was great from the cleaning staff to the front desk (Tina and Emma), to the bellboy. Hotel location is 1 block from beach (has its own Beach Club) and half block from famous touristic strip (5th Avenue) where there are lots of amazing restaurants, bars, shops, entertainment (Papantla Flyers). A taxi station was only 1 block away, and were able to negotiate significantly cheaper rates (two-way) for private transportation to other touristic spots (ie. Cobá and Tulum ruins, Gran Cenote, Cancun, etc.) vs. taken an advertised tour. When compared to the most economic all-inclusive resort in Playa del Carmen, we easily saved over $1,000 (for 5 nights) that we used toward tours, food, and shopping, and still have money left over. Great find!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Emma it was a pleasure to have you. enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to your many returns

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
184
364
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I highly recommend the Acanto Boutique Hotel in Playa Del Carmen.I stayed there in July celebrating my bachelorette party with my bridesmaids. We had the best time! it was the ultimate experience! All around 5 Star! I cant wait to come back and stay there with my husband : )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bachelorette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you girls we are delighted that you had such a great time.. we work hard for the type of experience you had and we look forward to having you back! Have a great rest of the summer.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were seven girls there for a bachelorette party and got a penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms so we could all be together. It was the perfect location right off of the famous 5th Avenue and walking distance to the beach. The staff, Tina and Karen were very nice and helpful and we all enjoyed our stay at the Acanto!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirl15k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the review.. We work hard to get these from our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elub
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location, cute hotel, amazing friendly service. The staff was very helpful and sweet. Location was near beach and right off the strip (so a tiny bit noisy at times but not much). The rooms and bathrooms were beautiful.

Room Tip: Get the top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Great review we appreciate it so much. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel, or actually condo association, does a great job advertising but the experience does not match the pictures. The pool is literally an 8x15 wading hole with maybe 4 lounge chairs that look at a wall and the hotel lobby. There is little if any sun on the area and all guests need to walk through the area to get to their rooms. The rooms are damp and get minimum sunlight and most have no view of anything but the wall of the condo next door. The hotel is designed to be very "green" so the AC shuts off when you leave the rooms. When you come back later in the day, the room is unbearably warm and does not cool down quickly. The position and size of the AC in the bedroom makes the bedroom feel damp once it cools down. It's really disappointing that every morning you need to get dressed and go look for coffee. There are no food or beverage services on site but you do have a refrigerator and kitchen you can stock if that's what you like to do on vacation. Didn't mind the walk to the beach and felt safe in the area. Mexico to me is all about the sun, sand and water and this place just didn't fulfill those desires. Would not consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2uloveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are very suspicious of this review
Every review this reviewer has written has a poor or terrible rating.
This review cannot have been written by a guest of Acanto.
Our pool is sun lit, is much larger than the size claimed in this review, and is surrounded by beautiful lush landscapes, the 1,2 and 3 bedroom rooms are large and spacious and all have recessed lighting to make every room well lit.
The Air conditioning is central in each and every room, cooling all parts of each room we have never had complaints about damp rooms or air conditioning problems
The 1,2 and 3 bedroom units all have full kitchens, we do have services that will deliver food and groceries ,
All rooms have views of our gardens and beautiful architecture, some have pool and courtyard views and all penthouse roof tops have ocean views
We also have Jacuzzi and BBq for all guests to enjoy, as well as Gym across the street and in house spa.

We are just 1.5 blocks from the beach and a quiet side street.
Take a look at our website and the guest pictures here on Tripadvisor and contact us for more info on the property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice hotel, but felt with just a few changes, it could be great. Things that could be improved - tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water provided everyday, not just when you check in, meal room service, more local information available in the foyer, more accurate local information given out by the staff, umbrellas you can borrow for when its raining, more than 2 towels per room, and more comfortable pillows for the bed. Things I liked about this hotel - the location, the boutique feel of the hotel, the layout of the hotel, the free wifi in the lobby. Overall I had a pleasant stay but probably wouldn't stay there again until they had improved some of these things.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hey Matt.. in the reception area we have a concierge desk that has all the local activity and tour information.. the Front desk girls are up on all the latest information in the area and generally advise all guests and offer tour options. We also have a full time Concierge starting to work for us in August.

In the deluxe rooms we do not offer coffee makers but the full units all have full kitchens. However because of your suggestion we will make coffee tea available for the guests who request ..

Water and other sundries are available right around the corner at the Pharmacy. However we always give guests extra water when asked

Overall im happy you enjoyed the stay and hope to have you return. be sure to contact me directly when you are ready
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What I loved most about this hotel is that it was nestled perfectly away from the business of 5ta Avenida but it was still so close to it and the beach. It was a perfect retreat for when my wife and I got tired and wanted to relax. The architecture is really nice and the rooftop is beautiful and no one really uses it. I would definitely stay there when I go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky_vega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you Ricky.. It was nice meeting you and your wife. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the property's roof top, jacuzzi etc..

I really appreciate you comment on the architecture as i was the builder of the hotel and we wanted to create a different design than a typical concrete style property. Instead we created the Beautiful Acanto property. Hacienda style. See u soon

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing