We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Nearby Hotels
$267
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$241
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$610
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$385
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$726
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
701
180
36
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
180
36
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationfull kitchengreat boutiquebedroom penthousecontinental breakfastrooftop deckrestaurants and shopskool beach clubhome away from homeshort walk to the beachi highly recommend this hotelfifth avenuetwo blocksyogurtsmall poolbeach towelslounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 932 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was very surprised to find a tiny boutique hotel right smack in the center of town, and so reasonably priced. I walked through several of the other smaller hotels near the Acanto and they really did pale in comparison. The Acanto is literally only a few yards from the busiest area of shops and great restaurants not to mention about 100 yards from the beach. I've read that some guests had issues with noise and must say that just is not the case. It was quiet and intimate.The staff could not have been more professional as they attempted to handle each and every request. Due to my tremendously enjoyable stay I plan on moving to Playa del Carmen. Jim Agate

Room Tip: One side has elevators, while the other you must use the stairs. There were internet issues that seem to be easily solved if and when problems arise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We work many years to create an oasis in paradise and is very rewarding to get these reviews.. Thank you and well see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Acanto was very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it. Tina was very helpful.
Great location and just a short walk to the beach. Great cigar shop across the street.
We did hear some noise at night and early morning but I am certain I didn't lose any sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troygu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Glad you enjoyed.. Tina is the best we have .. We hope to see you again soon

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were really looking forward to our one night stay at this boutique hotel on Playa's northern end, but were a little disappointed for several reasons. The hotel is conveniently located between the beach and 5th ave. The rooms are ultra modern and well maintained, but lacking in personality. When we arrived we were told that the room we had booked was not available, but we were told that we could "upgrade" for an additional fee. After much discussion they upgraded us anyway, and it was nice of them, but the incident was disappointing. Then the electronic keys never worked; every time we returned to the room we had to find a front desk person and have them make us a new key. The first time was not big deal, but by the third time it got old fast. Pool is small and right off the lobby. Tina, at the front desk was nice and helpful. Hotel is serviceable but lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi we are sorry for any inconvenience.. When reserving through a third party website please be sure to confirm the reservation directly with us. at times we do not receive confirmations from travel agents or third party websites. So upon the guests arrival we did not have the room type available or any record of the reservation, we of course accommodated the guest regardless..

We have electronic keys and when put together with a credit card or even a cellular phone they can de-program. we give small envelopes to avoid this.

Most guests love our decor and atmosphere and especially appreciate the friendly staff and clean rooms and property..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights for July 4th weekend. The location is very well located (beach and avenida 5). The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean. The service is excellent and friendly. Tina was very professional and helpful as she helped me reserve my scuba diving on the same day and a day trip to Chichen Itza.

Un hotel vraiment sympa et calme, bien que tres proche des bars et restaurants. Le personnel est tres professionnel. Tina m'a beaucoup aide pour la reservation de mes plongees et de mon tour aux ruines maya de Chichen Itza. Je recommande chaleureusement cet hotel!

Y ahora en espanol...un hotel muy tranquilo que esta bien ubicada cerca de los bars y restaurantes. Tina me ayude mucho con la planificacion de mi viaje para bucear y visitar las ruinas de Chichen Itza. Si vuelvo de nuevo a Playa del Carmen, por supuesto voy a quedar a Acanto!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Acanto Hotel on June 28, as we were between stays at 2 large resorts in the area. The hotel is conveniently located just off 5th Ave and the beach is just around the corner about a block away. The only downside is the beach club they belong to charges $10 per day for a chair, which I guess is not too bad if you plan all day on the beach. We enjoyed the hustle and bustle of Playa del Carmen for the time we stayed. Lots of good restaurants and bars gallery, also lots of good shopping.

The hotel room we had was the least expensive they offered, and it was clean and nice. The manager and Tina, the desk clerk, were very helpful. We did not hear any street noise from our room. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubyejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews