We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #18 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel with good service”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently stayed at Acantos for 3 nights in Nov.

Pros: The check in, check out, etc. was wonderful.
The housekeeping was very good, our room was always clean.
The location is awesome. Could not ask for better. It was quiet even though it was right there near 5th ave. We were able to walk to great places to get $25 an hour massages, food, drinks, shopping, etc. But it was also kind of "hidden" too.

Cons: They have a hot tub that you can ask to use and they'll heat it up for you. They said it'd take a few hours and when we went to use it, the water was cold so we didn't end up using it. That was the only real disappointment with the hotel. I would have liked a nice hot tub to use.
The lighting in the bathroom isn't great to applying make up. Think they can improve on that.
The beach club they gave us passes to was ok except the beach smelled like rotten eggs. I don't know what that was from but the hotel can't do anything about that.
They should have a business center or a computer you could use to check your email. Maybe limit the time to 10 minutes each guest if they're concerned with having to have too many computers but we needed to check out email one time to get a notice about the excersion we had planned the next day and the time of our pick up. There wasn't one we could use and they told us there was a internet cafe that was close by. We couldn't find it but luckily, our tour company ended up calling the hotel and they delivered the message to us vs. email so it worked out but having a computer for guests to use would be nice.


We were really impressed with the people who work there. My husband left his suit in the closet upon check out when we switched to another hotel halfway through the trip. We called and asked them to call a cab and put the suit in the cab and send it to our hotel. They did and we got our suit safely.

I would recommend it to people who want to stay near 5th. We walked to the local taco stands and ate at places on 5th. The thing I noticed was that restaurants at places on the 5th were very pricey. Not what I expected from Mexico. However, it was nice to spend a few days there and then move to an all inclusive where we didn't have to worry about the cost of every meal. At the end, it ended up being cheaper at our very nice all inclusive than staying at Acantos and then going out to eat. But we also ate a lot. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chubblewub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
185
365
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport coast, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Only stayed one night as needed an arrival hotel before transferring to a timeshare week. Karen and Rafaela couldn't have been nicer and more helpful and the location is amazing. We really liked the ambiance and will be return customers when we are in Playa again. Thx Matthew.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRcharlesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We bought a Groupon for this hotel and just came back from our visit there a week ago! We found the Acanto to be everything we had hoped for on our trip...to stay in a place that is like our home. It was spacious, [2bdr] clean, modern quiet and the staff were really nice. We were only a block to the beach and only a short distance from 5th ave as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently spent 3 days at this lovely new boutique hotel. The rooms are clean and very up to date with all modern conveniences. The service is outstanding and Rafaela and Karen will help you find restaurants, make suggestions and seem to always be there for whatever the guests need. It is located right in the heart of Playa but is a quiet and peaceful and within a short walk to the beach club which is included in the price.

Room Tip: Get the larger room with sitting area if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Acanto. Rafaela and Karen were both extremely professional and helpful throughout our trip. Rafaela, in particular, went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was perfect and that every excursion we wanted was booked. Matt was very attentive as well.

The hotel itself is situated in a great location right off of 5th Avenue: within walking distance to restaurants, bars, stores, and the beach. The rooms were spacious,bright and clean. Although i understand that the suites have a full kitchen, having at least a mini-fridge in the hotel room would have been plus. Additionally, the building that we stayed in didn't have an elevator- while I don't consider this a problem as I don't mind going up a few flights, others may consider this an inconvenience and may want to request the back building with the elevator.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend it for anyone who is looking for a convenient place to stay in Playa at a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderpantSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I just back from our stay at Acanto. I highly recommend this property. It is centrally located and ideal. We prefer Playa as it is much more low-key and intimate than Cancun itself. Acanto just enhances this environment. The action of 5th Ave is directly behind the property, but once you enter the establishment all the hustle and bustle goes away with relaxation. The rooms are clean and warming. Staff is very helpful and accommodating. I also recommend checking out Xplor; as it is a great adventure experience. We will be going back to Acanto in the very near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel is close to beach (1.5 block) and right by the famous 5th avenue. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, manager was very attentive. Rooms were very clean. Price was right. If you are there to enjoy the beach and you want to go to bed early, stay away from the rooms facing the street, may get noisy. If you are there to enjoy 5th avenue night-life, all rooms are good for you. Internet connection was good but it's free only at the lobby area. Hot water is good for one person at a time in a condo. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are there to enjoy the beach and you want to go to bed early, stay away from the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing