We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #16 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Location!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We bought a Groupon for this hotel and just came back from our visit there a week ago! We found the Acanto to be everything we had hoped for on our trip...to stay in a place that is like our home. It was spacious, [2bdr] clean, modern quiet and the staff were really nice. We were only a block to the beach and only a short distance from 5th ave as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    166
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
199
371
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently spent 3 days at this lovely new boutique hotel. The rooms are clean and very up to date with all modern conveniences. The service is outstanding and Rafaela and Karen will help you find restaurants, make suggestions and seem to always be there for whatever the guests need. It is located right in the heart of Playa but is a quiet and peaceful and within a short walk to the beach club which is included in the price.

Room Tip: Get the larger room with sitting area if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Acanto. Rafaela and Karen were both extremely professional and helpful throughout our trip. Rafaela, in particular, went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was perfect and that every excursion we wanted was booked. Matt was very attentive as well.

The hotel itself is situated in a great location right off of 5th Avenue: within walking distance to restaurants, bars, stores, and the beach. The rooms were spacious,bright and clean. Although i understand that the suites have a full kitchen, having at least a mini-fridge in the hotel room would have been plus. Additionally, the building that we stayed in didn't have an elevator- while I don't consider this a problem as I don't mind going up a few flights, others may consider this an inconvenience and may want to request the back building with the elevator.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend it for anyone who is looking for a convenient place to stay in Playa at a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderpantSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I just back from our stay at Acanto. I highly recommend this property. It is centrally located and ideal. We prefer Playa as it is much more low-key and intimate than Cancun itself. Acanto just enhances this environment. The action of 5th Ave is directly behind the property, but once you enter the establishment all the hustle and bustle goes away with relaxation. The rooms are clean and warming. Staff is very helpful and accommodating. I also recommend checking out Xplor; as it is a great adventure experience. We will be going back to Acanto in the very near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel is close to beach (1.5 block) and right by the famous 5th avenue. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, manager was very attentive. Rooms were very clean. Price was right. If you are there to enjoy the beach and you want to go to bed early, stay away from the rooms facing the street, may get noisy. If you are there to enjoy 5th avenue night-life, all rooms are good for you. Internet connection was good but it's free only at the lobby area. Hot water is good for one person at a time in a condo. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are there to enjoy the beach and you want to go to bed early, stay away from the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and truly enjoyed our stay. We did have a room facing away from the street and it was very quite. The courtyard with the pool is very relaxing. The staff is wonderful, if you need anything, just ask and they will help you. They helped us with all of our taxi transportation including a trip down to Akumal Bay for a great day of snorkeling. The hotel is in a great location with only a few steps and you are on 5th Ave with all the restaurants and shops you could possibly imagine. The beach was only a block away. Around the corner is a great dive shop called "Phantom Divers" and a wonderful restaurant called "Imprevist" where you will find one of the best breakfasts and also a nice dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. The most important thing is to avoid rooms facing the street because of the noise.
Pros: Well located in the center of town. Inside rooms are quiet. Spacious rooms and bathroom.
Cons: Safe too small for laptop. Extra charge for WiFi.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street because of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi we have several rooms that face 16 st. as well as the courtyard. 16 st is a quiet street with mostly foot traffic, there is only one restaurant on this street. generally closes before midnight. During this particular guests stay 2 of the nights there were private parties where the restaurant was open until 2 am. This will not happen again. However in Playa as in all vacation destinations, during high season there is always a chance for extra noise. In any case we are happy to accommodate all guest requests regarding room changes etc . wifi is fee in the lobby and as most hotels we charge for wifi in the rooms. We do have laptop safes in some rooms, however nobody except our maids enter the rooms and our maids and staff are highly trained to secure and protect all guests personal items

I am also happy tp see that this guest still gave us a very good ranking for the hotel and their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,734 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing