We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #17 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend in Playa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Acanto Sept 8-11. We were welcomed warmly and advised that our villa was on the main floor. We asked for a room on another floor and they quickly checked and accommodated us with a second floor villa. The location is perfect for walking to Fifth Avenue and we could walk down to the beach easily enough. Joel was on duty mostly while we were there and he helped us whenever we asked. The property is small but lovely. It had a rooftop terrace to grill if you wanted to. I imagine if the weather is a bit cooler than it was while we were there, it would have been a great feature. My only complaint was the lighting in the bathroom is too dim and there was no full length mirror in the villa.
Any time we asked for something it was handled quickly and efficiently. We were very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and always happy to accommodate specific room requests late check out, etc, when available..

We have recently had some full length mirror requests as well as make up mirrors for the women in the bathroom and are going to be installing them.

We always take comments as constructive no matter what they are for the benefit of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    164
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
184
364
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked this hotel through a groupon. We were going to Tulum and wanted to extend the trip for business in Playa del Carmen when I saw the special on groupon- now, I know you get what you pay for but...with the eceonemy being as it is and September being the off season, we thought this was an even break. There were many things that bothered me-
1. when we got there, there was only one person at the desk and she seemed to be fairly new. She was really polite but out of sorts and every question I had was an apology for either the policy or for not knowing the answer- Also, we felt like we were getting nickle and dimed for all our requests- wi-fi, $10 per day and per user! Our room was to have a refridgerator which it didnt but we could get an upgrade for $50 per day!- Also, I had requested to come early as we had a meeting to get ready for, that was declined as there were no rooms available meanwhile we ony ever saw 3 other people in the building our entire stay-
2. the place was under construction and the noise level was out of control-
3. I guess they were trying to save money on electricity because there were no people in the hotel and the place was so poorly lit- that coupled with the poor floor plan of the facility was danger danger!
4. We had a constant stream of cockroaches in our bathroom and along the path to our roam daily!
5. After about 7pm there is a change of shift- there was a guy at the desk on facebook the entire time- he never even looked up when we came into the lobby- he probably didnt even notice use because the lighting was so bad but still- we were never greeted or called by our names- it wasn't like there were so many people to remember!
I was really upset at the check in and the manager finally came and tried to accommodate us by bringing a refridgerator to our room but it was a little too late- It seemed like you had to get pissed to get any kind of response which is not the way to keep customers coming back- Back peddling after I said my experience would be reflected in a review seems like passive aggressive behavior and thats how i see it.
I have checked several of the reviews on here and I see replies stating that these reviews are from competitors- I highly doubt it now that I have seen first hand-
I get that it is the low season but they are cutting corners that made our stay pretty lame- We will def. not be recommending Acanto and certainly will never come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AprilTWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
When this guest arrived they were rude, nasty, loud and intimidating to the staff, they bought a Groupon which is for a deluxe room with king bed, Plasma tv, central air, terrace and bathroom., The Groupon does not include a refridge however we are happy to provide mini fridge at no cost if requested. The Guest insisted that if they didnt get an upgrade to a full one bedroom with kitchen that they would write a negative review. This has happen with people requesting upgrades or refunds in the past. It is a problem that many hotels have and some guests take advantage of this.The guest also demanded an early check in which if available we oblige but if not we have a place for bags, changing like all other hotels. This must be arranged in advance.

Later in the day after the manager went to speak w the guest the guest refused the refridge but apologized for how they behaved as they said they were hot and tired from traveling all day.

The wifi is not free and we have never had a complaint about the $10 a day fee

As you can see from our other reviews our staff is trained well in every aspect . We do have a new front desk person as perhaps they did not have an answer for the guest.

Our staff does not sit on Facebook but is very busy on the computer and is always available for questions and answers

The hotel IS NOT under construction by any means, the property and grounds are immaculate and this is a first that i am hearing about cockaroaches. We have never had a complaint about it, the property is fumigated every week. It is very unlikely that there was many or even any, we had no complaint about this from this or any guest.

Our hotel runs at a high occupancy , people are either out on tours, at the beach, shopping or in the rooms. as a boutique hotel people are not congregating all over the place.

Please do not let tis review cloud your judgement or view of the hotel. we are very accommodating, welcoming, professional and happy to help in any way we can. We have a new beautiful property. Upgrades are available if arranged in advance..

we look forward to hearing from you and seeing you at our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Acanto and it was as wonderful as expected. The location is amazing, a block to the beach and within steps to 5th Avenue. Concierge service during the day was impeccable, Joel you were terrific, and at night when the gates closed, there was a security guard who manned the entrance. Getting in and out of the building, night or day, was extremely easy. We stayed in a 2 bedroom facing 16th and we were never disrupted with any noise from outside. There was easy access to our room, elevator and stairs were directly outside our door, and again, never any noise. The pool is like a grotto, cool and always clean and beautiful, a great refreshing dip after walking or beaching it for the day. The room was cleaned and made up each day, water supplied in the fridge and clean towels for beach always in the hamper as we exited the building. The Acanto is very beautiful and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi thanks for the true and positive feedback... see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Every year my sister and I visit Playa del Carmen on our annual sister vacation. In the past, we have stayed at The Royal (an adult only all-inclusive resort), but this year we wanted to try something different. We found The Acanto, a lovely boutique property. The property is charming and has all of the comfort of a large resort. The rooms are lush, the bedding extremely comfortable and the room amenities equal the luxuriousness of a high-end all-inclusive (at least the one's we've been to); however, the experience is much more personal. The employees, Rafaela and Joel (acting concierge/hotel manager/givers of smiles) do it all, and do everything they can to accommodate your requests and needs. They can provide advice on excursions, restaurants, and you name it. Since we've been to Playa several times, we just wanted to meander the streets, come what may. Bonus: at Acanto you will receive as little or as much attention as you require. Additionally, the hotel is located just a few steps from 5th Avenue, which is loaded with fantastic shopping and so many lovely restaurants. The property was quiet, though music from a local restaurant could be lightly heard in the late evening. However, for me, this wasn't a deal breaker. It was like a lullaby...rocking me to sleep. Likewise, Acanto is just one block from the beach and has discounts to a great beach club. We checked out a few in the area, but really liked the laid-back vibe at Wicky's. We left feeling rested, relaxed and looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solchica1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Perfectly stated.. many of our guests come from all inclusives as if you reserve an all inclusive you are stuck there all day all the time and miss out on all that Playa del Carmen offers. Our many restaurants, bars, beach clubs and even the cost of staying at Acanto even after buying meals etc is usually much more affordable than the all inclusives, further our accommodations are more like home with the kitchens, living rooms, plasma tvs, etc etc.

Our staff will also cater to your every need, sending you to the best restaurants, tours, beach clubs the town has to offer..

So whether you just want to hang back in the room, on the terrace, on roof top, at our pool or in a jacuzzi.

We are also family oriented so come with your kids, parents, friends and enjoy Acanto is the place for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Acanto Boutique Hotel was not what expected, given what we've seen and read about the hotel. What matched our expectations was its close location to the beach. Otherwise, we did not have a pleasant stay at all in Acanto Botique Hotel during our 5 night stay there. First, the construction of the hotel was made in a way that the noise and echoes from the hallways, the stairways, and elevator dings could make it to the apartment. This meant sleepless nights. We could hear people talking and women in high heels walking outside all the time. Second, the bathroom had no windows and the light was as low as a candle light. It was dark and humid. Third, there was no warm water every time we showered or shaved. So we had to shower or shave in cold water most of the time. The water was slaty as if it was brought from the sea. Fourth, the internet connection was extremely slow to the point that it is useless. Fifth, the hotel seemed to be under-staffed. At night the hotel gates were closed, which was a problem when we returned after a night out. If we were lucky, the receptionist was around to open them. On a couple of nights, no one was around and we stood in the middle of the street at night waiting till someone happened to be leaving from the inside so we'd get in. Sixth, the towels were so hard and scratchy to the point of being painful to use. Forget about the beach towels as there were never enough and they were constantly out by the time we requested them. Seventh, the hotel seems to be cheap when it comes to restocking the apartment with tissues, toiletry, etc. We always had an unpleasant surprise in the bathroom. Last but not least, the cleanliness of the apartment was always not to a hight standard. While we pointed this out to the manager a couple of times, nothing was done about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Well we do not have hallways where noise can come from as every unit has its own outdoor entrance area. This is the first time we have heard a noise complaint.

We always replenish the soap, tissues, shampoos etc , Maids are very efficient and have positive reviews, however, they are not perfect.

Electric hot water heaters are efficient as well but need a few minutes to heat up between showers, certainly enough hot water for Shaving.

All of the units are large bright and airy with many recessed lights we have never had a comment that it was dark

Our sheets and towels are brand new and of the highest quality, we have several positive comments about that,

The hotel is stocked with plenty of towels, accessories and amenities the guest just asks and we are happy to provide

After midnight the gates are closed we have a full time security guard and there is a bell to ring if a guest returns and the guard is not at the gate as he might be using the bathroom or making a round in the hotel.

There is no reason for anyone to stand in the middle of the street as we have a sitting area and large sidewalk right in front of the gates..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very peaceful place to stay. A very quiet and relaxing place. Rafaela at the front desk will go the extra mile to help you she is very informed with all the local places and tours. We felt like we were the only ones in the hotel. Please ignore all the news about Mexico being dangerous. I felt saver in Mexico then in the states.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. Rafaela is great and the Riviera Maya especially Playa del Carmen is the safest city in Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

There are plenty of wonderful hotel and resorts to chooses from up and down the Mayan Riviera, and my wife and I have been to a number of them including a few of the large all inclusives...we finally found our go to location in Playa del Carmen....the gem called Acanto...nestled between the the ever popular 5th avenue and one of the whitest sandy beaches you'll find anywhere....Joel, Rafaella, and Matt (the owner who was on site during our visit) took care of everything we needed and asked for and always seemed enthusiastic to be challenged with more crazy requests....like scheduling a Chef and Mariachi performers for our family retreat set for December, on the roof top gardens of Acanto....looking forward to that! Rooms are terrific; we stayed in 2BR Penthouse with private roof top views of the sea and Cozumel off in the distance. Romantic and quiet but just steps from the best of nightlife activities, restaurants and beach clubs...I read some reviews regarding some issues with hot water and shower pressure, which I am sure happen from time to time...we didn't experience any of those issues. My wife suggested the addition of some full length mirrors in the rooms, which I was told was on the list to be added! For those that want to enjoy a wonderful secluded lunch on the beach - about a 20 minute ride South- we recommend Al Cielo...fantastic and gorgeous....Thanks Matt, Joel and Rafaella-- see you again in December!

Room Tip: The hotel, considering it is right in the heart of Playa del Carmen, was a quiet little Oasis during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We work very hard and strive to get reviews like this.. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel & Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Condo Hotel and Rental Accommodations in Playa del Carmen, Offering fully equipped 1,2 and 3 bedroom rentals. Acanto is one block from the beach and the pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. We have a beautiful roof top with BBQ and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. All accommodations surround a courtyard and swimming pool. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great on a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acanto Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing