We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a really great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #18 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I don't normally take the time to write reviews but this time I felt compelled to. We just got back from a 12-night trip to the Mayan Riviera. The first 3 nightss were spent in Playa del Carmen where we stayed at the Hotel Acanto. This hotel was awesome! We travel out of the country for family vacations approximately twice per year. My husband is in the travel industry. We've been to many types of hotels and resorts, usually more upscale, etc. I personally have a preference for boutique hotels whereas my husband prefers all-inclusives or bigger hotels. However he absolutely loved Hotel Acanto and wanted me to cut short our all-inclusive resort reservations in Tulum for the remaining 9 nights so we could come back to Hotel Acanto instead. Joel and Raphaela were extremely gracious, helpful, accommodating. We stayed in a 2-bdrm villa and it was immaculate, trendy and spacious. The Hotel is quite nice to look at. The small pool is convenient - especially as we have a 3 and a 5 yr old - but we actually never ended up using it because the Beach Club is so close by. Literally a 5 min walk, walking at the pace of a 3-yr old. The Hotel is a few steps around the corner from Quint'Avenida the main strip where all the action is at, yet it is quiet! It's also located at, in my opinion, the better part of the strip. All in all, we highly recommend Hotel Acanto.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SLT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for this wonderful review. Many of our guests recognize and appreciate the professionalism of our employees, who are more like personal concierges to the guests. They literally will do anything to help. We are just steps from the beach and 5th ave in the heart of town so there is NO better location than Acanto, although we are off of 5th ave on a quiet peaceful side street and once you enter our gates you are in a different world.

Our 1 2 and 3 bedroom units are large and clean and have the latest state of the art equipment and amenities, making anyone feel at home. If you prefer a Deluxe hotel room we can offer that as well.

So as always feel free to contact us for more information and let us make your vacation into a reality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 876 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a review for the booking process only, I promise to update after a much anticipated vacation!
We were debating on whether to do an all inclusive hotel or go with a smaller hotel. We decide to go with a Acanto after finding a groupon and reading all the amazing reviews. We are extremely excited for our vacation where we will be celebrating our one year wedding anniversary/honeymoon! Their customer service is excellent, they made booking very easy via email. They promptly answered all our questions and concerns, as this is our first groupon purchase.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank debrox328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Although we have hundreds of inquiries from guest worldwide we answer every one of them with a personal touch. We do our best to satisfy every guests needs to insure the best experience during the visit to the Acanto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Acanto. We made reservations directly with the general manager, Matthew, who was very attentive by email. We found them through groupon and while there was a $30 up charge per day, it was still a great value.

Our checkin brought up some confusion, since we were under the impression that there was a free gym and free Internet in the lobby. We discovered that they have a deal with a nice gym nearby for 50% off (about $7) and that they recently took away internet in the lobby. We were disheartened, though we never used the gym anyway, and management generously accommodated us with Internet due to miscommunication of their recent change.

It was great to have the spaciousness of a beautiful one bedroom apt. It overlooked the pool/patio. Though it would have been nice to have an outside view, it was still lovely.

The location is super convenient in the heart of Playa, while still set apart some from the noise and craziness of the main streets.

Certainly, the rooftop jacuzzi was an oasis. It was quite an experience to go up there at night and enjoy an amazing view of the city.

We're very happy with our decision to stay at the Acanto and would gladly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBGold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

We offer a fantastic value whether our guests buy a package deal from 3rd parties or come direct. please be sure to check all details, availability etc with us before buying from any 3rd parties. but no matter what we always do our best to work with our guests to make them happy. The Gym, Wifi and other extras have a cost but are minimal and as you will read we are the newest and most romantic hotel in Playa del Carmen. We look forward to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our stay at Acanto was wonderful. Rafaela was very helpful and always cooperative; she was able to work with us and our crazy schedule by booking taxis and tours at the last minute. We also enjoyed the rooftop chairs overlooking the ocean and the ice-cold swimming pool in the courtyard. The facility was very nice and we would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Playa!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spudkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi yes Rafaela as is all of our staff are the best there is. Guest interaction is an important part of our business model. We are very attentive to the needs of all our guests and we are committed to seeing that each and every guest has a great experience.

The rooftop is a special oasis equipped w Jacuzzi and bbq and of course chairs for lounging or just staring at the ocean..

Glad you enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This review is strictly based off of booking and securing reservations. After viewing a groupon deal, I contacted the hotel directly. Matthew was a pleasure to deal with and was prompt in responding to all my concerns. From the photos posted by tripadvisor contributors and the hotel site it is a no brainer that this property is a gem. Please do not hesitate to book through the on-line reservationist and don't be shy in requesting your needs to be met because they will go beyond your expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank desy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Thanks for the compliments, I am sure your stay will be just as excellent .. we always to our best to go above and beyond for all inquirers and guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Didnt have the groupon but showed up day off for a room. They were able to offer a one bedroom that was $130/ night. The room was very nice and spacious. Bought the Internet for one day that worked well. The pool is small and looks like it could be cleaned a bit more from the things falling off of it from the trees. The court yard was lovely and there was a balcony with table and chairs. Great location, one block from the beach and half a block from 5th ave. theres a restaurant across the street called la sirena which was the best meal we had during our four day stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annadeoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hi we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. last minute walk ins always get a great rate but we cant guarantee that well have space. As the newest property in town and with high internet visibility and fantastic reviews we are very busy. So we encourage you to reserve in advance.

The beautiful trees ad landscapes do drop leaves in the pool, however we are constantly removing them to keep the pool as crystal clear as possible

As always we look forward to any and all questions..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

They are so accommodating! We had difficulties with booking one of our trips and Rafaela took care if it for us and arranged multiple trips which we asked. She was amazing and so kind. We had a hotel in the middle of the villa, so no view of the outside but we still had a little porch with a hammock. The hotel is also very environmentally conscious as you used your hotel key to turn on the lights, meaning all power went out as you left your room. Nice place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Rafaela and Joel are well trained and informed about all the tours, trips and restaurants in town which ensures that any guest will be satisfied with the experience ..

When designing and constructing the hotel we used all the latest methods to ensure that we are environmentally conscious. From using environmentally friendly materials to installing systems that control the consumption of water and electric, while not compromising the comfort of our guests.

Every unit has its own terrace or patio and some have their own hammocks. No matter which the guests love it. So we are glad you did as well..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,288 reviews
0 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $119 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Acanto Hotel all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach which is just one block away. Daily maid service, discounts to local area restaurants & beach clubs, a beautiful roof top with BBQ and views of the Sea. Acanto offers Deluxe rooms and 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options all surrounding a courtyard and swimming pool. Most rooms include full kitchen, living room and dining room. The location is a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants and beaches offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere. Our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's. We are LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Acanto Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing