We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$288
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental at Xcaret Destination(Playa del Carmen)
$233
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$271
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$419
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$392
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$403
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$421
$408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,968
$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (18,050)
Filter reviews
18,051 results
Traveler rating
14,278
2,452
742
329
250
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14,278
2,452
742
329
250
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariechef's platecoffee houseromance conciergespice restaurantdanny boyjose garciafrozen grapeshour loungeocean viewturn down servicetequila barour honeymoonlobby barbeach butlerpresidential suiteil pescatore
Filter
Updating list...
12,416 - 12,421 of 18,051 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2011

we loved not having to make any decisions except about where to eat; and the food was, for the most part, excellent. for dinner we tried the different ala carte restaurants - our favorite 'asiana' and least favorite 'maria marie'. for breakfast and lunch we ate in one of the two buffet restaurants and were more than satisfied with the range of selections, the food, ambiance, and attentiveness of the wait staff. we were, however, surprised to be asked if we wanted a tequila with our breakfast; and while we aren't drinkers, we do feel confident in saying that this place is an alcoholics dream vacation spot. .

our room was spacious, very clean, and very quiet, but this doesn't hold true for everywhere. Although you are charged more for ocean or pool view rooms they are in the noisiest part of the hotel. we felt lucky to get a room that was far away from the beach and the pool.

some cautions: the check in folks don't seem to supply daily activity schedules pro forma. they exist, but we had to ask for one when we discovered other people doing yoga and water aerobics, etc. and didn't know these, among many others, were avaiable daily.

to call what goes on on the stage "entertainment' is a very generous assessment. on all the nights of our stay, the same dance troupe performed some kind of dance supposedly typical of some region in the world. judging by the sparse attendance it would seem as if we were not alone in finding this of little entertainment value.

the water is amazing; while the beach itself is filled with lounge chairs and lounge beds, you can walk along the beach for an hour at least in two directions, the sand is soft and the waves were gentle. the color of the water - turquoise, blue, green - alone was worth the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This place has it all. If you want to lounge at the pool or in a day bed on the beach it is up to you. The service was fantastic. The waitresses and beach butler make sure that you have the spot that you desire, and walk you out to dust off the day bed for you to make you feel welcome. The service was a perfect balance of gettin you what you need and leaving you alone. We loved the privacy and security that the hotel had to offer. But it was also wonderful to walk out the front doors of the hotel and spill onto the real streets of Playa de Carmen where all the action is. The city was equally safe and wonderful to visit.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank JimSadusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My husband and I visited The Royal in Playa del Carmen for a week Here are our thoughts.

- Great resort for romance - enjoyed the turn down service, chocolates, rose petals, and animals that were left in the room each night.
- Great rooms romantic atmosphere - enjoyed the jacuzzi tub, dvds, robes, candles, and hammock.
- Great food - each restaurant we visited had great selection and service was excellent. We require a gluten-free menu and at each restaurant thwe were given a GF menu and the chef came to explain the menu if we had questions or concerns. Our concierge also gave the restaurants a heads-up that we were coming so that they could prepare the kitchen staff of our gluten-free needs.
- Great location - convenient access to shopping and night life.
- Employees are very service-orientated and will accomodate your needs.


- Poor night life at the resort. If you enjoy the nightlife, 5th avenue has a variety of options they just aren't included in the resort's "all-inclusive" package. The resort has entertainment just for an older crowd. Also, I believe all bars and entertainment on the resort shut down at midnight so it's usually an early evening. One positive about this is that the resort is extremely quiet during the night.
- No outdoor, quick, grab-and go poolside options. At other resorts, there have been options to grab a quick meal off of a grill(hamburgers, chicken, etc) or from a grab-and-go type of restaurant near the pool. There are no grab-and-go options near the pools; however, there is this option at the 24 hour "restaurant" at the entrance to the resort(quite a walk from the pool area). There are restaurants near the pool but they are sit-down.
- Mysterious bites -- I'm not going to say bed bugs because the bites we received may have been sand bugs. Most bites were received during the night, on multiple days, and were on our legs. Inspected the bed and didn't see anything suspicious. May have been from the sand ...
- Small fitness center. The fitness center is very nice, clean, and well-equiped it was just small. Because of the small size, it was packed and people were waiting for machines. Also, the free weight area is an 8x8 space which is tight if more than one person would like to use the free weights. Overall, nice fitness center just needed to be a little bigger.

Overall, we were pleased with the resort and yes, we would return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My wife and I booked our 1 week vacation at the Royal because of the fantastic reviews we read on Trip Advisor. The overly enthusiastic people giving the Royal a 5* rating obviously have never been to a 5* property or they were drunk during their entire stay.
We love to travel and usually stay at at least 10 great properties around the world every year.
This was the 8th property we stayed at on the Mayan Riviera.

First of all on the positive side: 1. the management of Real Hotels has done a fantastic job maintaining the property, everything is clean and does not feel dated for a property of this age. 2.the service was excellent 3.the room service was very prompt 4.the food at Maria Maria was very good for an AI property. 5.the check-in 48 hours prior to arrival was great!

On the negative side: 1.the Real Hotel Management has been cheap in updating their beach area palapas and chairs...the beach area is a 2*...it is very congested with cheap chairs, if you want to get some cover from the sun you must huddle at the back of the
beach in a mass crown. 2. The seadoos take off 20 meters north of the Royal beach...I inhaled gasoline fumes almost everytime I went swimming 3.at times ,the beach area is invaded by people from the public beach next door. 4. the food at the Pelicanas and Tapas restaurants is 3* 4.many of the balconies have zero privacy...when we sat on our balcony to enjoy our view there were usually people on balconies on either side of us...5.The Royal opened a Coffee House a great idea! but they make their coffees from a cheap coffee machine..how dissapointing! 6.the internet connection was the weakest we have ever experienced at any hotel.

The property seems to attract groups of people of all ages who like to drink and socialize by the pool all day. Therefore the pool area is vibrant but very overcrowded. If you fit into this (drink by the pool all day) crowd you will be very happy here. If you are looking for a more upscale romantic getaway try elsewhere (the Iberostar Grand has been our favorite so far on the Mayan Riviera (for an adults only properties).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

first of all im 27 my wife is 25, idk if they thought i was some rich kid , i paid for this honeymoon myself. the local is ideal if you like that sort of thing of but EVERYTHING ELSE SUCKED !!!!!!!!!!!! The best part was that we met a couple that was on there honymoon like us and we are going to jamaica this year ! the room bad, service horrible, food WORSE I EVER HAD IN MEXICO IN A RESORT. Valentin Imperial Maya is the best by far !!!!! the entainment team lol joke ! it was full of rules. front desk was no help, i need to stop my email for more info. craiglrichard@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CLR420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews