We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Nearby Hotels
$293
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$297
$278
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$301
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (17,582)
Filter reviews
17,582 results
Traveler rating
13,886
2,397
729
322
248
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13,886
2,397
729
322
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariechef's platecoffee houseromance conciergespice restaurantjose garciadanny boyfrozen grapeshour loungeocean viewturn down servicetequila barour honeymoonlobby barpresidential suitebeach butleril pescatore
Filter
Updating list...
7,371 - 7,376 of 17,582 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Want to recognize Pedro at chef plate for excellent service!!! Vi at the pool. Victor manager he gave us a great deal for out inconvenience due to construction and noise. Yolanda at spice was so sweet. Aster and rosi gave us great massage at spa.. At Asiana staff was great!!! By far we will be coming back... Great service

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cferre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our staff!! Thank you again and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just got home yesterday and we absolutely love the royal!!! We have been here before and love that it is the middle of town. Montiel the bartender in Mediterraneano WAS AMAZING! He made our trip! He is so fun and polite and we never had to ask for a drink he would just make you a new one. Marco and his partner (forgot his name) at Maria Maria was so knowledgeable about the menu and an excellent server! Eva, Beny, and Lily were amazing waitresses they came to our swim up suite every 20 min with more drinks for us! This resort is beautiful and very clean the staff is wonderful. The only fall back is the people sitting on the beach from the public they should rope off where the public can't sit right in front of you with their children. Other than that the food, room, view, SERVICE, hospitality of this place is above and beyond. The group we were with couldn't say enough about Montiel he deserves a raise! I'm sure my husband and I will come visit again real soon. Thank you for such an amazing vacation. I would recommend this resort to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisdolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we are very proud of them!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future in your home, away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our spa treatment at the Royal was one of the BEST I've ever received. We had an 80 minute relaxing massage and Angie Levinia was fantastic.

Also, we took part in many of the activities and enjoyed kayaking on the ocean with Franco and doing Reformer Pilates as well!

Overall the food was great. However because of the construction next door our 'rest' was interrupted by the crew sawing at 7am till 7pm at night. God bless them for being hard workers and really what could the hotel do but move us all to the other side?

I'd still give it a shot again...just maybe after the hotel next door is done! ;).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff and beautiful property!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very good especially all the cleaners and the restaurant staff. Namely magdelana salas(maid) who kept our room spotless and made different objects out of the towels. Also the staff at the spice restaurant. Namely arruro welcoming and sorting out the tables for us. Freddy. Xavi. Jorge. Jose garcia. Waiters. Who will be able to offer what ever you need. Also vividiane breakfast cook. And fabian the chef. Who would cook whatever you like.as I am a fussy eater it was no mean fate. From the first time in the restaurant Freddy and xavi had a good laugh with us. The food and service was excellent. From roy and Mary walker from oldham. England

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Once again, thank you very much for your great review and Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

You will NEVER in your life, experience service like you will receive at THE ROYAL, Playa Del Carmen !!! Every employee greets you with a smile and a warm heart. If an employee comes within 3 feet of you, their hand immediately goes over their hearts and they smile and ask you if everything is ok. I've never seen anything like this anywhere! I've never had food as good as it is here.....I've never had nightlife as good as it is here. The beaches are only 3 star out of 5 but you get 5 star beaches walking distance away. I've been to a lot of all-inclusives from Punta Cana to Mexico and I can tell you, with a promise.......You simply will not find a better resort ANYWHERE. I cannot express how impressed I was with this resort!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine but we preferred Ocean View beside the pool on the left side looking towards the ocean. 1st Floor is our favorite.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 566bubbahyde566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your great review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments about our staff, this motivates them to keep putting their best effort in their daily job.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in your second home, “the Royal Playa del Carmen”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews