We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied returning guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have had yet another fantastic stay at The Royal in Playa del Carmen. Last year, I proposed to my girlfriend at the hotel and this year we got married there - marriage and honey moon all-in-one.

We really recommend you to book the Lincoln Navigator long in advance to get a quick and comfortable ride from (and to) the airport. The restaurants were as amazing as last year and our favorites are Maria Marie and Spice.

Regarding the wedding, we were a total of seven persons. Denys Magaña Madrigal was our wedding planner and she gave us our dream wedding. She had thought of every little detail. The very few questions and concerns we had were easily solved when we arrived at the hotel and had our first short meeting. We are extremely satisfied with the services provided by Denys.

Months before our arrival we were concerned about the construction work next to They Royal but at arriving (March 10th) we felt calm. We were never bothered of the construction.

During our stay we were really treated like a king and queen and the service was truly top notch in all ways. We found the vaction to be relaxing and wonderful - just as we had wished. The Royal really lives up to its motto; expect the exceptional.

We would really like to express our deepest gratitude to the following exceptional staff, who we really hope the hotel management appreciate and value:

Chef Ali, Richie, Demetreos, Yolanda and Francis (Spice)
Louisa (Coffee house)
Prude (pool waitress)
Greta, Gilda and Nataly (SPAzul)
Ahmed (El Mediterráneo)
Rigo (Maria Marie)
Guille (Room decorator)
Hilda Pachero (House keeping)

Hasta la proxima vista!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mushin1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review but the most important to trust in us and choose our beautiful resort for your WEDDING and HONEYMOON!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,222 - 7,228 of 16,660 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Royal is the best hotel ever. The staff, the service, the food, the room. just everything was perfect. After a long (12 hr flight) the check in was quick and we got our beautiful room really quick. The restaurants and the food is excellent and all the staff are so incredlibly kind and helpful We will be back.

Room Tip: 355, Great view over the pool area and the bech, Very close to the beach and pool bar, Big balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerBaby2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Beautiful hotel grounds and beach! We enjoyed every minute of our vacation and the staff was very attentive and kind. We especially appreciated Melanie at the front desk. She was very courteous and helpful in getting us checked in and ensuring that we had everything we needed. Playa del Carmen is our favorite vacation spot and we will continue to come to The Royal for sure!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
We´re so glad to read your nice review of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen. Please be sure that our Staff will be always exceeding our mutual clients’ expectations.
Thanks a lot for your business and do not hesitate to contact us in the future, it will be a pleasure to assist you.
Have a wonderful week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a fabulous time just relaxing and enjoying the great food. Lots to do if you are motivated. The evening shows were fun and the staff is excellent! Check in was quick and we were offered drinks and cold towels when we arrived. Our room was wonderful (213) with good linens and comfortable pillows (you get to choose from a menu when you check in!) The balcony overlooked the avenue but it was quiet. The hammock on the balcony was a nice touch but it is in the sun most of the day. The bars have a good selection of all inclusive drinks and the martini class was fun! Going to shake up a few back home to relive the memories! Housekeeping was awesome and Teresitaay took the time to show me some fun ways to display the towels:) I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to have a romantic getaway, anniversary or honeymoon as they are very accommodating to this sort of vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lschulze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. Thank you for your kind words about the resort facilities, we are very happy that you enjoyed all these.
It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I have gone with my husbands family and the whole experience has always been fabulous. The food, service, property, pool, etc is always top notch. This group of people made our experience that much more enjoyable: Moshe, Regina, Oskar, juan, alex, Víctor, Dany boy, juan, pepe, karina, mike, rodrigo, Gabriel, Ulises, wally, edith, gabo, Maribel, tonatiu, javier, jessica, Aldo, sheila, Paty, iris, paco, Ricardo, alina, Raúl, and Ricardo. Thanks to y'all!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Kelsrnorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you thank you for taking time out to share your experience! We definitely feel very pleased to read this review, thank you so much for all your kind words to our staff, this is the best way to know that they are doing an excellent job.
It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you and pamper you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have been all over Mexico and we keep coming back to The Royal. The staff, room, drinks, pool, entertainment, and food are great at this all-inclusive resort. This resort is right on the beach and in the heart of town. Whether you want to take it easy at the hotel or hit up a great night life, you are steps away. We did find a place called the tequila barrel in town to watch march madness and they even have a legit sportsbook in the bar. The food is above average and blows away any all-inclusive place we have been. Great selection of liquor and they will stock your fridge with anything you request. The room service has a good selection and only takes around 20 minutes. Toto, Andres, and Chi are the best bartenders. My wife enjoyed the spa ( it is a bit pricey, but they all are) and said Adriana and Nathalie were great. The only negative from times past was they were 100% full but it must have been a busy time but it was never issue for dinner. Also you can't go to one of the restaurants if you get a basic suite. We highly suggest this place and have had tons of friends come down here. Looking forward to the next time!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank WDPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review! Is really important for us to know you enjoyed your stay with us Thank you from your feedback about our staff, one of the most important part in our resort. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

First of all, this review is seriously delinquent, so my deepest apologies to the beautiful, caring and hardworking staff of the Royal for that. We have stayed at the Royal twice: the first time for a magical 25th anniversary trip in 2010, and the second time with my parents for their magical 50th anniversary trip in 2012 (who could blame them after they heard about our fabulous 1st trip?!). [TripAdvisor doesn't have an option to choose a "date visited" so far back, so I had to mark March 2014, the date of this review]

All of the staff at the Royal are wonderful. On our first trip, we were blown away by the beauty of the resort, the delicious food in all of the restaurants and the kind and caring staff.

On both trips, our favorites were breakfasts at Spice (Eva was great!), lunches at Pelicanos (Jiovanni!), and dinners at Asiana (Charley was the best!) or Maria Marie's (Jorge Aguilar) were absolutely wonderful. We also had great times at Il Pescatore at the sister hotel Gran Porto across the street. By the way, we liked the house wine there better than the other restaurants'.

The big pool was one of our favorites. Great drinks! We received awesome service from Daisy on the first trip and from Prude and Male on the second. And of course the resort benefits from having the wonderful, gracious Jaime taking care of things around the pool (thank you for your kind assistance Jaime!). We also loved the beach and took a long walk every day, which was a highlight of both trips.

Other awesome features of the Royal: the 24-hr snack room! So cool (literally- with strong A/C), good snacks (ohhh, the guacamole!), ping pong, billiards, make your own drinks and TV too. We also loved the nightly entertainment in the lobby. We looked forward to the show each night; it was nice to have professional entertainment. Oh and we were so lucky to get our drinks from Amelia, a truly sweet and kind person and so representative of the graciousness of the Royal's staff.

I've read a couple reviews that claimed the room was small. Those reviewers were either at a different resort, or things have changed a lot since 2012! Our basic-suite grade rooms were huge and airy! I loved the cool marble floors and the dark furniture, especially the sheer linens draping the bed. Our room was a restful and romantic atmosphere, and we also loved the jacuzzi in it!

Speaking of the room, the other thing we loved was the "Magic Box"- wow what a great idea, Royal!! Waking up and calling for a pot of coffee, Mimosa's and Mexican pastries, not having to "get dressed" and answer the door, and then enjoying our treats on our sunny balcony overlooking the garden walkway (with a slice of beautiful Caribbean ocean providing gorgeous ocean sight and sounds) was just heaven. Oh and please leave a tip in the Box for the hardworking staff.

Last but not least was the proximity to "5th Avenue". Not sure how it is now but when we went it had small quirky/not-typical shops, fun restaurants & bars and several tequila & gift shops. Lots of tourist fun. We discovered amazing Molcajete there (probably the only off-resort meal we had), enjoyed ice-cold Corona's (not served on resort), and delicious Margaritas (though the lobby bar's are too!). We met some great shopkeepers in the tequila stores and enjoyed a few samples too ;-). Don't miss the fabulous chocolate offerings at Ah Cacao on your way back to the resort!

The only bad thing about the Royal is leaving it. The first time we went, I was SO sad to leave-10 days went by too fast! As we were leaving, Jaime took my hand and said the sweetest goodbye. That was seriously my undoing, have to admit to a few tears on the way back to Cancun. The second time we left I was better prepared for the emotional tug of leaving, and totally determined to come back again. And we are!!! We are FINALLY returning in May for my 50th (yikes) Birthday, and we're SO EXCITED!!

To the Royal and its staff, from our hearts to yours, thank you for the beautiful memories that we have, and the ones we have yet to make. We can't wait to see you again.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Traveler408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Our top priority is to make a dreamed vacation for each of our guest and we are very grateful that this was your case. We feel really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again and it will be our honor to have you back with us in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,498 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,269 reviews
9.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $328 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing