We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the sister resort across the road but ate and spent most of our time at The Royal.

Our favourite restaurant was the Mediterranean. We ate there for lunch twice and twice for dinner because the selection and quality was so good. At lunch, it is a buffet restaurant with salad, pasta, pizza, grill, etc. There are grilled vegetables, different meats, etc. with the selection and quality that allows you to have many different combinations. The desserts at this restaurant were our favorite.

We ate at Spice for breakfast a few times and the selection was very good. The fresh omelettes were excellent and the cook would make them any way you wanted them. The food on the buffet was very fresh and the quality was great. The pastries were very fresh and delicious.

Luis, the manager of food and beverages, recommended Maria Marie's for dinner one night and he did not lead us incorrectly. We started with the ceasar salad which was excellent. We ordered the sweet and sour shrimp and the monkfish medalions and both were mouth-watering. The monkfish fell melted in your mouth. For dessert, we had the soufflé and it was very good. The service couldn't have been better.

We had two dinners at The Chef's Plate. This restaurant enforces the dress code and therefore men need to wear long pants and close-toed shoes. The menu is set by the chef for the night so ask for it before you book, They will work around allergies but the menu is set. The server explains each course to you and starts with an amuse bouche from the chef and then includes 6 other courses. The breads and butters are excellent and I did not have anything we didn't like. The service was excellent with just the right amount of interaction without being intrusive.

We had two breakfasts and a dinner at Pelicanos. The breakfast was good and started with toasts and pastries which were very fresh. We tried the painters pallet (fresh fruit), waffles, French toasts, breakfast tortilla and pancakes with chocolate sauce. The only thing that we didn't care for was the breakfast tortilla. For dinner we had the seafood soup and the tortilla soup and both were very good, we had the coconut shrimp and the duck and again both were very good. Pelicanos is outside at the beach and therefore has a good view.

Our favorite restaurant was the mediteranean. We had lunch and dinner in this restaurant multiple times. For lunch, this is a buffet restaurant with a great selection of salad, soup, pasta, pizza, grilled vegetables and hot dishes including various meats. For dinner we had the chicken marsala, and the New York Striploin steak. The steak was so good the first night, we both ordered it the second time we ate here. It was very tasty and quite tender. The servers were very attentive and couldn't do enough to please us.

We had lunch a couple of times at Asiana's. We had the spring rolls, some sushi (rainbow and California rolls) as well as tepanyaki. We tried the shrimp, beef and mixed tepanyaki and had the beef twice, with the first time being excellent and the second time, it was tough. The shrimp and mixed were excellent. We had this with the fried rice which was very good. For dessert, you must try the deep fried ice cream.

Needless to say, we enjoyed all the food immensely but came back heavier than when we arrived.

The one day we had nice weather, we spent by the pool where we could see the ocean and it was a great location. The server came around quite often and brought anything you wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,701 - 7,707 of 16,870 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

The place was beautiful, the staff was incredibly kind and the food was very good, which is rare for an all-inclusive resort. Our wedding coordinator, Lilia, was an absolute work-horse. She didn't stop until everything was right and went many extra lengths to see our needs were met. Our "Romance Concierge," Willimina, was first to greet us and give us our orientation. She was always cheerfully available to assist, advise, and set up special appointments for us. We had 65 guests here and I have to say it was probably the most fun We've ever had away. DEFINITELY get there a few days before guests arrive, because they all want to drink and party with you, but you're gonna have some finalized planning to do. TRUST ME! Weather was great, a little humid some days, but no big deal. Ladies don't go crazy over your wedding-day hair, it may be too humid to hold, and you're not gonna care because this place is a lot of fun. DJ Doremix rocked our party and played well into the night. The gym and spa were a daily routine, followed by breakfast on the beach at Pelicanos.. Champion Eggs! Nightly entertainment in the open-aired lobby and a lot fun places to go around town. Take a day or two of excursions to explore, its worth it. Anyway, if youre getting married away, do it here.. This place does it RIGHT!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJFYFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was a very nice resort, the food was great and the service was impeccable. The staff is very gracious and attentive. Entertainment could have been better, we actually saw the same show twice (we were there for 7 nights) and there were nights where there was no show at all. The beach was beautiful, no rocks or seaweed, but it was very crowded. The beach is public and being right in town there were a lot of families and people there for the day. The construction was not that bad. We were in the section right near the work, we were not in our room enough for it to matter. Overall we had a good time and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Will I go back. Probably not, I didn't like the crowded beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachchick2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Royal Playa Del Carmen really was ROYAL living. The service was quick and the employees were very accommodating with great personalities. Every day spent there i felt at home. The pool boys, Yuan, Alejandro, Jesus, Oscar and others were really great. They made the day entertaining and brought on so much fun and laughter. Alejandro and Jesus brought us to CoCo Bongo night, made sure we got in smoothly and back home safe, very generous! We spent most of our time on the beach and by the pool, the bar by the pool had great service, the guy there who did the night shift was really great! The restaurants were great, Asiana was my personal fav! The buffet restaurant was really convenient with a great variety of foods to choose from for breakfast lunch and dinner. Demetrio the waiter was so great to us there, we went back just to see him everyday! The beach was beautiful, not over crowded, and the sand was nice and cool. The waiters on the beach did a great job of making sure our drinks were never empty. The guest Service group was very helpful too, Ricky, Jose, and David were very friendly and did an excellent job helping us find our way and making reservations for a few of the restaurants. Hands down a perfect vacation, couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The resort is beautiful and the location cannot be beat! 2 blocks to 5th Ave. I am well traveled in Mexico, we go every year to a diff resort/city.

Pros:
-Location
-Food
-Rooms
-Service ( A+)
-Decor
-Pools
-Beach
-Room Service
-24 hr Lounge

Cons:
-Construction next door. DO NOT stay in the "Chichen or "Uxmal" buildings. Its right next to the construction
-Time Share Sharks! Be warned. They lied to us about many things, I should have known better, but they offered us 3 nights free next year to attend the meeting. The catch: The 3 nights are free, but you have to pay $150 per person for your food & beverage! So no......nothing is free.
-No umbrellas around the pool. Its very hot, and zero shade. we had to park our chairs behind a palm tree for some sun relief!

I would def return. Its a great resort.!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KeyserSoze13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Royal Playa is a very nice all inclusive resort. The resort itself is well maintained and is located near downtown Playa allowing easy access to Playa's shopping, nightlife, and the Ferry to Cozumel. The strength of this resort lies in it's staff which we found to be very friendly and responsive to our needs. Great job from the front desk staff to the houskeeping crew and all the employees that we encountered in between. Everyone smiles and says hello and I like that. The Royal's food quality is better than most resorts that we have stayed at in Playa in the same price range. There are lots of different restaurant choices to be had. We dined at three different ones and enjoyed the Asain restaurant the most. The Royal has a great breakfast buffet and tastey room service as well. Next time I might skip the restaurant scene and try the buffet for dinner. My friend said it was greatwith grilled to order steaks and I think there was a lobster night during our stay as well. The rooms are comfy, fairly spacious, have ceiling fans, and good AC. However, If I were to book anything there again I would be sure and request a room away from the construction that is currently under way..... Skill saws Sunday morning at 6:30 am can be an abrupt start to your day. But life goes on and the noise inconvience is soon forgotten when you look outside and see the beach and beautiful setting. The beach is full of people and activity allowing for great people watching. The pool looked refreshing, though I spent all of my water time diving in Cozumel. The wife said poolside drink service was great, but the resort seemed to frown on allowing eating outside of it's restaurants and does not allow plates of food poolside. She did mention that they served some finger food stuff once in awhile that was OK. The drinks were great and tasted like what you ordered rather than substituted watered down cheap liquor. Overall, not much for me to complain about. After our recent stay I booked our staff retreat, some 70 folks, to return to the Royal Playa for a week in late March......that really says it all in a nutshell.

Room Tip: Remember to request a room away from constructioin noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and all others your ROYAL experience. It is always so rewarding to know that our Staff went above and beyond to make your stay memorable. We would like to mention that the construction next door is not part of the resort.
We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Royal for the first time last week (January 2014). We were very excited for a relaxing, quiet vacation without our children. Overall, our experience with The Royal was wonderful. The staff is attentive, dedicated and always willing to help; they certainly go above and beyond. The food was wonderful in all the restaurants we ate at. The hotel itself is beautiful and well-maintained. We had several appointments at the spa, which were relaxing and worthwhile.

The one issue we ran into (and I would caution anyone to beware of if you are planning to book a room this year!) is the ridiculously loud construction on one side of the hotel. They are adding an entire building (or maybe building a new hotel) next door. My husband and I initially rented a Presidential Suite. We paid extra for the luxury it would afford. We were very surprised to arrive to our "Ocean Front Presidential Suite" to find that the main view (blocking the ocean) was this awful, noisy construction. It was so loud we couldn't keep our balcony door wall open, and it starts at 6:30 a.m. sharp. No one told us this in advance and it was very upsetting. We were able to switch rooms to an ocean front junior suite the next day. While not exactly what we wanted, the staff gave us a resort credit and free massages at the spa. We felt they adequately made up for the troublesome experience; however, if you are booking a room at this hotel, make sure you tell them you want to be as far away from the construction site as possible! They are not forthcoming with this information, and I'm sure the construction site has been a big headache for them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you. We would like to mention that the construction you saw is not part of our resort.
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,929 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
9,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,601 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,393 reviews
9.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $328 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing