We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The entertainment and activities crew”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The entertainment and activities crew”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We just returned from an 11 night stay and have to say, it was wonderful! The crew who did the activities throughout the day and the shows at night, were the best. Friendly, outgoing and so welcoming. They made our stay so enjoyable and we stayed active too. Biking, water aerobics, tequila tasting, Spanish class and etc. We want to mention them by name, they deserve it, Leslie, Katie, Juan, Jesus, Carlos, Oskar, Danny, Alejandro and Victor. You're all great! Keep up the good job. The entire staff at the Royal PDC was great too.

Room Tip: First floor, ocean view on constitution ave. was a great location. Close to everything when you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12,326
    2,193
    670
    304
    222
See reviews for
1,795
9,476
199
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

AWESOME,WONDERFUL,AMAZING..PERFECT...
Well that's the best way to describe this hotel and staff,from the moment you step off the coach to the moment you step back on it to leave,This is an adults only hotel,no under 16's.On arriving we were taken to the romance concierge office and given a glass of champagne,Charrone(sorry if I spelt it wrong) was fantastic from start to finish.She gave us all the information we needed about the hotel,restaurants,shopping etc and made us feel taken care of.She also arranged my golf day,with the pick up and tee time.When we had a small problem with the shower ceiling,we was moved to a different suite within 30 minutes,no fuss.
The room is beautiful,large kingsize bed,very very comfortable,the shower/bathroom is a nice size but you also had a larger sink and side unit outside the bathroom.A nice sized wardrobe and hanging space,complete with a safe,hairdryer,iron and ironing board,also plenty of drawer space in the room.The room has a lovely big TV,with ipod docking station and DVD player.Not to mention the very large Jacuzzi in the room,which is fab :-),and a fully stocked minibar,and get this,you have your own optics with tequila,vodka,whiskey lmao..
All the restaurants we tried at the hotel were top notch, personal fave was Asianna,the buffet for dinner and breakfast was also good quality,a great choice to choose from.If you like your sports,they have a 24hr sports bar where you can watch sports on 2 TV's,or you can play pool or table tennis,and have a nice selection of snack foods and drinks.You also have a drinks and cigar bar,which was always busy,a coffee shop(the young girl there is very good making all the coffees).
The pools are fantastic,big and small,your choice what you fancy,never over crowded but you need to get down early to put your towels on the sunloungers.Plus you are about 30 seconds away from the beach,which is very good but be WARNED,there is a smell of rotten eggs which is due to it being volcanic,and some rocks in certain parts but overall the beach is definitely a 9 out of 10.If you get the chance,you have a fully equipped gym and the spa and massage is out of this world.Also you do have the choice to go to their sister hotel in Cancun but we spoke to a couple who went there and came back 2 days later because it was better here.
When we stayed,there was not many English people,mainly Americans(about 95%) or Spanish(3%) so you wont have any problems with language or communications.I cannot say or rate this hotel highly enough,from the maids who clean the rooms,the guys that fill up your minibar,they are always painting something or cleaning or gardening.We have both said that we will be going back next year,maybe for Christmas or new year....

Room Tip: Go for concierge level,so if you don't fancy going out,just order room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have done quite a few all inclusive resorts and this one really missed the mark. You can't take your food and sit on a patio, the food was just ok, not bad, not good and I struggled to find a burrito in Mexico. English is a challenge at times and there seem to be a few hidden rules here and there depending on what you want to do. At this time there is massive construction going on next door so noise is an issue

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Versailles, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have traveled to Mexico over 20 times, some as a couple and some as a family. So I hope this review is helpful.

Service- the service was fine but wasn't any better than any other adults only resort

Room- we had a junior suite ocean view. The room was very clean and very pretty. Nice large jacuzzi tub for two.

Pool- overcrowded . Very hard to get a chair. And they are very close together. Shade is nonexistent.

Beach- beach bed on top of beach bed. Sand nice. Water easily swimmable. Certain times there was a STRONG sewage smell.

Food- the food was good. Better than some of the all inclusives we have stayed at but not
comparable to Eldorado.

Location- nice location if you want to walk to Playa.

Spa- very disappointing. Not worth the time or money.

We will travel to Mexico but we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

From the moment you arrive and you are handed a glass of champagne, you are treat like royalty! We travelled as a group of four (2 couples) and had an amazing 10 nights. Any problems we had with our room (i.e smoke alarm battery low) were sorted out within 20 minutes and all staff very friendly.

The whole hotel and surroundings were very clean and hygienic and the pool drinks service was excellent (especially Ruth.) The minibar is also filled each day with whatever you request!

The night time entertainment was a bit poor, but 5th Avenue is a short 2 minute walk from the hotel, which has bars and restaurants.

The Coco Bongo nightclub was the best night we have ever had, as it combines shows with music and turns into a nightclub which lasts until 5am. I would highly recommend the GOLDMEMBER entry, which is the VIP area, where you have a table a drinks service by a specific waiter.

The food in the hotel is to more of a high caliber then were used to, but my sister and boyfriend enjoyed the Asiana restaurant. The room service was very good and was placed in the 'magic box' if you have your do not disturb sign on the door.

The Captain Hook boat trip in Cancun is a must do and was a very entertaining night, a drink was constantly put in our hand and the pirates knew how to put on a good show.

We also went to Xel-Ha adventure park (with snorkelling, ziplines and cliff diving) and did 'Snuba' Diving in the underwater caves, which I would definitely recommend.

Overall the 10 nights in Playa Del Carmen was absolutely fantastic and i'm searching down the back of the settee to start gathering money to go back again.

Room Tip: There is construction of a new hotel happening on the left (outer) side of the hotel, so try to requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly19872013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband & I spent the week of October 13 - 20th, 2013 at the Royal. It was our third time at an all inclusive in Mexico, and our second in PdC. The Royal exceeded our expectations on many levels; the most outstanding being the service and food. We upgraded from the jr. Ocean view to jr oceanfront on the website in the online check-in 48 hours before our arrival. We chose room 527, a second floor room in the middle section of the hotel. We knew there was construction thanks to tripadvisor so we knew we wanted to avoid the north section, rooms 700 - 900. The upside is we had a fantastic view, the downside being there were two weddings during our stay and the suite overlooks the wedding gazebo. Both weddings were EXTREMELY loud with the second one having a lighted dance floor on the beach and some of the loudest bad '80's music with a heavy bass (think "Push It" from salt n pepa at 11, and that was the best of the worst) that went on far too late and too long. We contemplated hurling ourselves off the balcony when mercifully it finally ended. The beach is small but the water is warm warm warm and clear. Yes, there's a sulfur smell and it can be strong at times but that's hardly the hotels fault. I think the hotel was built on a mangrove so it's probably an ecological byproduct. We spent only an hour or so at the pool as its loud and drunk and there's little shade. The cabanas on the beach are perfect, definitely get up early and drop your towels to save some seats as they go fast and the best ones are taken by 9 am. Prude and Lopez were fantastic and we never had an empty glass, they were constantly there to take refill orders and bring waters without our having to ask. Tip them, and tip them well, these women work their [--] off for their guests!! Jeysson at Tradewinds was also fantastic as was Effron and Jorge at Meditteraneo. We ate at Pelicanos nearly every afternoon and everything we ordered was fresh and healthy and fantastic. My husband ate the octopus salad almost every time and loved it. The scallops rock, as does the green salad. Il Pescatore was wonderful, great steak and pasta. Asiana did a nice duck dish. We had a Chefs Plate dinner included in our upgrade but we just didn't make it as we couldn't make the reservation because we literally had no schedule and it was just inconvenient. The location is great, close to 5th. There's a few good shops but if you're anything like me, the constant harassment makes it something you do for a very short period. Then you head back to the hotel, relax on your hammock and enjoy the view. Don't hesitate, the Royal is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namaste1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying my husband and I have been to Playa 5 times. This is the first we have stayed IN Playa. We also have the ability to be "hotel snobs" so I'll give the good and bad. First, the service is top notch! Ritz Carlton! Some standouts: Jerry the bellman, Roberto at the Lobby bar, and Elsa at the pool bar. The property is in a great location for walking the city. The bad...construction is horrible!! There are not enough chairs at the pool for people at the hotel. The food, with the exception of Marie Maria is NOT good. Nothing changes on the buffets. And the topper in my suite (914) was the roach in the bathroom. Thank you to my great housekeeper (who was greatly rewarded) for disposing of it! With all the beautiful resorts here, wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandiE11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,033 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,761 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing