We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aldershot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having been to most parts of the world on holiday Mexico was a new experience for us. The greeting on our arrival was fantastic with Jose leading the way, our room was to die for the cleanliness was always upto and beyond standard with the mini bar a more than added bonus, being right on the beach front the views were fantastic not only of the beach, Cozumel but also the pool area. The restaurants we used we used were exemplary in the taste of the food and the staff were always attentive and helpful, whilst the Asian was my favourite Lyn enjoyed the Spice and the Pelicanos, I am sure that Christoper the pool side bar waiter had eyes in the back of his head no one seemed to be waiting for anything. Jaimie was a gem whilst Ivonne was like a big sister/mother and above all a friend. Would we go back next year a big Yes, even if the weather was the same at least the rain was warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12,025
    2,151
    661
    296
    217
See reviews for
1,740
9,247
188
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,063)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The Royal is a beautiful hotel set out really well. We stayed 16/0913 till 30/09/13. What a fantastic 2 weeks we had. We stayed in suite 387 which i thought was perfect. Great view of the pool and events on the lawn. The room was large and nicely furnished and the bed was huge. We ended up with 17 pillows (including the ones in the wardrobe) lol. Think we only used 6 of them in all. Nice sized shower with two different types of shower heads. Powerful wee hairdryer, lots of toiletries, iron, ironing board, decent size wardrobe, well stocked fridge, and 4 bottles of branded spirits,crisps and treats.AND the jaccuzzi is absolutely huge. Used it a few times in our first few days because weather wasnt the best to begin with. Nice sized balcony with hammock, table and 2 chairs. Kept clean by our maid "bertha". Turndown service was lovely with scented candles, robes laid out on bed with rose petals and chocolate yptreats, slippers on mat at side of bed and she always had 2 bottled of water and a glass on bedside unit for me. Very nice.
Restaurants
We went to them all except chefs plate. Really cant say a bad word about any of them because they were all so good but our favourite was Asiana!!. The service and layout was excellent. And the food....... Well.... It was amazing. Everything we ate in there was absolutely perfect. Had to wait a few minutes ocassionally but were given a buzzer and sat in the bar area where we were kept entertained by the barman(sorry forgot his name :|)." Chris" was our usual waiter and he was a star, a polite, pleasant, lovely young man.
Pool
The big pool was a lot of fun and always a nice temperature. We lay on the sunbeds in the water at the quiet end and it was so pleasant and relaxing but also fun. "Laura" and "Andrea" were our waitresses furst couple of days and were spot on with tveir service but after we moved to the beds un the water, we had "Ruth" and she was an absoute gem!!. Every 10 minutes she was round with whatever we had asked for and of course our mexican ashtray lol. Not once did she forget. She was so happy and friendly ALL the time. Cocktails are lovely, mango tango, miami vice, funky monkey, ticket to fly, purple rain and hubbys favourite mudslide and my favourite electric lemonade and of course Mojitos were just a few that we tried. Mmmmm..... So nice!!
Lobby and entertainment
Lobby bar was always busy but never waited long to be served.Barmen are so quick and very professional at making cocktails. Fascinating to watch them lol. Hubby had an awful lot of grey goose and coke sitting at this bar. Sorry forgot names again but all brilliant.The shows at night werr really good. All the staff put such a lot of effort in to the acts. Enjoyed them all
Overall our time at the Royal was an absolute pleasure and we would love to go back again. In fact we didnt want to leave :|. Thank you royal pdc.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FifeSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted with smiling faces and glasses of sparkling wine. We were led to our private concierge, Gala. She was great, there were no lines and no wait. We had upgraded to a beachfront room which was 20 feet from the pool. The rooms proximity to the pool and beach has spoiled me, forever, with regard to rooms. I would highly recommend the upgrade. No construction noise and the pool shuts down after dark, so no noise issues to deal with when you want to go to bed. The room was beautiful but had a dank, musty odor. Many of the people we spoke to had the same complaint. It wasn't unbearable, just unpleasant. They place aromatherapy candles in your room at night, during turn down service, and that made the room smell great ( till the next day). The location of the room made up for the smell and we'd definitely stay in the same spot again. The food was what you'd expect from an all-inclusive.... Average. Breakfast was great..Pelicanos has great omelets and Spice has a great buffet. Lunch and dinners were a bit disappointing. Although a complimentary trip to the Chef's Plate was included in our room package, we declined to go. We met several people who told us that the food was not worth even close to the extra charge they paid to go. We actually visited an off site restaurant twice..AC Monterey. Out the hotel doors, past Asiana, approx. 4 blocks down to the right. Awesome steak tacos. The only real negatives were... On our 2nd day, a pool man picked up our towels and a new friend saw him pick up my husband's Sperrys. We checked the lost and found every day, but they were nowhere to be found. The same shoes were $170 down on 5th Ave., so needless to say, we waited until we got back home to buy another pair. One night, during dinner at Pelicanos, a waiter dumped an entire tray of drinks in my new dress. He was very apologetic and I felt bad for him. I kind of thought that MAYBE someone would call our room and offer to clean it for me...but that never happened. We were there to celebrate our 25th anniversary and my husband had arranged to have a special "romance" package set up in our room that night. It didn't happen. They delivered the flowers and cake, but no jacuzzi up and running and no rose petals. They made up for it, tenfold, the following night..but THAT night wasn't our anniversary..you know? None of the above was enough to spoil our vacation, they're just things that could be improved upon...overall.....we had a great time. The Royal comes close to a 5 star rating, just falls a little short.

Room Tip: Beachfront is the only way to go...it was the first time we have ever opted for this upgrade and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great hotel, a lot of things to do and excursions to book. Great location, a block from fifth street which is like a bourbon street only in Mexico. Watch out for the real club in the hotel. They say they will take an hour of your time, when it ends up being 2.5 hours, trying to sell u credits to use at other of there hotels, spending 5000 to 25000, with 20% down. Other then that, food is awesome and a variety, and most important, the people that work here are extremely friendly and polite. Definitely would come back in 3-5 years for an anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanegerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at The Royal to celebrate our one year anniversary. What a beautiful resort and the staff were amazing. We were always greeted by a warm smile and the staff really go above and beyond to make sure you have a great stay. The pools, beach, and restaurants were all great! We tried all of the restaurants and loved them all. I particulary enjoyed the Tapas place for lunch and the mediteranean for dinner. I was also really impressed by the nightly entertainment and the Spa. The pool and beach wait staff are excellent and keep the drinks coming...shout out to Celia!!!

My only complaint would be the noisy construction going on next door to the resort. We were initially placed in a room on the construction side of the resort and were woken on our first morning to loud bulldozers, jackhammers etc. We expressed our concern and we were moved to a much better room where we could not hear the construction. Unfortunately, we really enjoyed the "quiet" pool but this was also on the construction side of the resort. This made for a noisy experience at the "quiet" pool. We understood that the construction was not the resort's fault and still really enjoyed our stay. We would love to return when the construction is complete.

Room Tip: Be aware of the contruction going on before you book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This resort is not for us I guess because of our race. We wasn't offer to upgrade our room, no champagne upon arrival. We didn't get anything special done to our room. It was our 25th wedding anniversary. The bartenders, waiters etc and host in the restaurants were all very very nice. Eva was a jewel!!I think i had the worst house keeper my room never felt clean.. The room service was great. The guy was very rude that checked us in but check out was nice!! The My Time was anything special never saw my butler! I know it's a lot of great reviews but this resort treated us totally different. I want return but will go back to Sandals. Thank goodness the weather was perfect during our stay Sept 27-Oct 2 so we got to hang out on 5th Ave.

Room Tip: We stayed in Roon 901 oceanview. It wasn't must of an oceanview!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about this resort except for it was excellent. upon arrival Erika helped us greeted us with champagne and helped upgrade our room to and oceanfront swim up. Spectacular room amazing view, lovely pool infront and all the beach cabanas steps away. Food was amazing, room service was excellent and delicious. Coffee shop had delicious little treats and greats espresso shots. Great gym and spa. Staff was courteous and extremely polite. Really enjoyed our stay , can't wait to come back!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jkheyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,989 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,446 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing