We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed at playa del carmen for 10nights from 31st august 2013 til 10thsept -room 333-mr mrs eifion &dawn parry ,it was amazing ,the staff is what makes it extra special as hotel is stunning-its situation on beach ,we stayed in a junior suite -massive bed&jacuzzi in room! maid was amazing so many patterns on bed with towels &rose petals ! food ala carte everyday so much effort into making it exceptional -asits logo !! pool amazing &ricardo at reception excellent -entertainment day or night amazing as it rained alot -the staff laid on entertainment to keep us entertained -my wife did trip on steps in front of reception &twisted her ankle &grazed her knees but security man helped me pick her up@get paramedic asap &take her to room to treat wounds-she has recoverd quickly-will return to the royal again !!!

Room Tip: choose sea view -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eifion p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your review. . It will be my pleasure to pass your wonderful comments to the members of our staff who exceeded your expectations and provided you with remarkable service.
We remain at your service and Once again thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you back to your home away from home THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,333 - 8,339 of 17,059 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time. This was our fourth stay at this resort. All of the staff is great. They are all very professional and friendly. The food is great and the rooms are so clean. The staff makes you feel like you are the only guest they are taking care of,but one staff member Roberto Palomeque went above and beyond to make us feel special. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a Presidential Suite and it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We´re so glad to read your nice review of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen. Please be sure that our Staff will be always exceeding our mutual clients’ expectations.
Thanks a lot for your recent stay and we are looking forward welcoming you back to your home away from home THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

After our 3rd stay we are still impressed with the quality of the facility, food, staff and location. Especially considering the prices. We love the location since it just a few steps from the heart of the action on 5th Ave. Also it is one of the few spots in Playa where you don't need beach shoes to go out into the ocean since there are few rocks. If you have your people with you that want to go out at night to discos/bars they just have a few blocks to go so they should enjoy the stay as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms we've stayed in are good. There is a back pool that you might want to consider a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We´re so glad to read your nice review of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen. Thank you for your recent stay and we are looking forward welcoming you back in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Beautiful resort, beautiful rooms, great staff. My husband and I had a great time there. The food quality isn't the best but it doesn't take away from the overall experience. I would go back for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I spent 8 days at the Royal Playa del Carmen. The hotel is overall good, not AAA 4-diamond good, but good. The staff was amazing and very enduring. My most favorite memory was Euclises and Chef Pastor's traditional Mexican three-course dinner they prepared for our party at Marie Maria (we actually ended up eating there 3 out of 7 nights). I was impressed how Euclises remembered us from the first night took care of us the flowing three nights. The menus are the property don't change much, so by day 5 you crave different things. The traditional meal sealed the deal! I recommend that you learn to deal with some things at the property... service is okay the staff is great but sometimes forgetful, the sewage smell, and I don't know why they only have margarine and no real butter. But overall, the experience was great cause of staff like Euclises and Chef Pastor and Maria Marie, Eva our wonderful beach cocktail waitress, Matt our bartender and Isabel our housekeeper.

Room Tip: away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellokitae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

As most other reviews stated, the service staff really makes this resort enjoyable. Management is ok and responsive to emergent concerns, but needs to focus on the details of maintenance and basic hygiene of the resort.

Food was average for an all inclusive, not great, but not bad either.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have been to Mexico once before and wasn't that impressed. Our prior stay was in the Riveria Maya and I didn't have near as good as an experience as I did at the Royal in Playa Del Carmen. Playa Del Carmen is a wonderful city. I never felt unsafe leaving our resort. We actually left everyday to go out into the city for shopping and to experience the area. The Royal was a beautiful resort and the beach was also amazing. The staff was also great! Rooms were perfect! Highly recommend this place and plan to return again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,717 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,530 reviews
9.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $329 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing