We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #10 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Playa del Carmen is beautiful - but what made the experience even more perfect was staying at the Royal. Can not fault this resort - from the pools,to the beach, the rooms, the amazing staff and its location - all of which made our stay so enjoyable and memorable! However a very big credit to all of the staff who really made the experience that much more enjoyable - in particular a very special thank-you to the entertainment staff who took great care of us - Danny, Juan, Jesus, Victor, Azu, Alejandro, Carlos, Katie, Felipe, Gabo, Ulises, Raul and Regina. Too many names to mention but restaurant staff such as Gerardo from Maria Marie (great food) and head chef Chontel from Spice also deserve a special thank-you!

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SezLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.
As you will know, at “The Royal Playa del Carmen” our mission is to exceed your expectations, providing the best in service and high quality standards and safety, going beyond to anticipate any customer’s need.
Once again thank you for staying with us and remember… “The Royal Playa del Carmen” is your second home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,840 - 7,846 of 16,366 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had an amazing time from 8/17/13-8/24/13! My boyfriend and I had room 297 which is an awesome ocean/pool view. The service was awesome, the food was great and the grounds were beautiful! The beach did have some rocks right out front but you just walk to the left for less than a block and it's gorgeous! The Italian restaurant across the street was wonderful and Jamie was the best server I have EVER had.

I would skip the sales presentation unless you are finically ready to commit to going to Cancun or Playa del Carmen for your next 5-10 vacations. It's actually a really good deal if that is where you want to vacation! There are other options for worldwide travel and they say they guarantee the lowest air-fare or price match, but we were not ready to commit at the time. They advertise that it is a 90 minute presentation but we were there for 3.5 hours...we were asking a lot of questions to be fair but it was much longer than I thought it would be. They do give you 1000 pesos voucher which we used for a scuba diving excursion so it was worth it to me. You also receive a beach bag and a voucher to come back but it does not include the all-inclusive so there is an additional charge we have not figured out yet.

I would definitely recommend this hotel! I did hear that The Royal in Cancun is even better.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to an ocean front room you apparently get the Chef's Plate restaurant (which is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review.
We want to let you know that the comments and observations we receive from our guests are always taken very seriously, as they tell us what we are doing right, wrong, and how we can improve it, which is why we truly appreciate your willingness to share your impressions.
We will be delighted to host you once more and exceed you expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great place to stay. Good food. Friendly staff. Hotel clean and accommodating. Room spacious and had everything we needed. Beach not so nice but ok. Pool areas great especially the quiet pool. Lots of flowing cocktails but could have done with a menu of drinks. Great coffee house. Entertainment in the evening was not great started too late and very short.
Weather mixed but you go to Mexico expecting long spells of rain. Room flooded during the heavy spells.
Timeshare people just annoying just say no.
Would I go again? Probably not as I like trying different places everytime I go away but would I recommend to someone else 100% yes.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orrinoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

So, This is my first time in Playa Del Carmen and there are alot of positives. It is right next to the main area so that you don't need to take a taxi anywhere. Maria, from the Spa did my hair quickly, and it looks great. I have a head full of curls and I am in super humid weather. The butler service on the beach is great. Their entertaiment department is very weak. But all the other beautiful options make up for it. Also, didn't realize there would be a zillion different attempt for time share presentations. But we are on the beach and it is just beautiful

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Upon arrival at cancun airport we were picked up by private car and whist way to the resort approx 45 min. At check in your given a glass of champagne and a cool towel which was a nice relief from the heat. The staff at the resort cannot do enough for you, never had service like it. Lots of choices when it comes to something to eat. Our favourite was asiana thai, chinese japanese food. There was some construction next to the hotel but we rarely heard it. Highly recommend, will be going back if we get a chance.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,
First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our second trip to The Royal PDC - Our first trip was in September 2012 which was amazing except for the fact the housekeeper used my cellphone while we were out of the room, but even that couldn't ruin the experience for us. We had a phenomenal time.

Our second trip 8/22-8/26 was still good but definitely not as good as the first time. Now I know the resort has no control over the weather but they should have had some control over the fact our room flooded every time it rained (which was everyday). Charon @ the Romance Concierge was incredibly helpful, kind and just made our arrival amazing. Tapas changed their menu and their food was not so great, plus our waiter was slow and not very friendly. The swing bar was fantastic and there was never a long wait. Housekeeping did well except when it came to the rain, even after a half dozen towels and her squeegeeing out the water from our room, she still didn't get it all. Pelicanos had wonderful pizza and soups. Asiana had really good food. Maria's across the street had pretty good food (ask for the Mayan Coffee!) just not very many fans. Il Pescatore had very slow service, not enough fans but really good Italian food. Now onto the Spa, It was absolutely wonderful, my hour massage was beyond relaxing. They have 2 Jacuzzis, 1 cold plunge pool, a sauna and a steam room that we used before our massage. I was beyond relaxed and it made for a great way to end our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions in Trip Advisor.

We would like to mention that we are sincerely sorry and to read your report. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us.

Once again please accept our most sincere apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for our honeymoon last October and it was phenomenal! Excellent service and beautiful resort! We are going back again for our 1 year anniversary this October and can't wait! Will write a more prompt review after this next visit, but I have no doubt it's gonna be just as awesome!

See you soon Royal!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyleE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,808 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,019 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,332 reviews
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $299 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing