We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

There are so many great things to say about The Royal. Rooms are amazing - spacious and romantic with updated tile and fixtures. The grounds are beautiful. The hotel is about the right size meaning not overcrowded and not too far to walk to everything. Right outside the front door is the cool little town of Playa del Carmen so you can spend mornings or evening shopping or just being part of the crowd which is unusual for most beach resorts. The beach has very nice sand although I felt bad for all the kelp the guys have to rake away every morning. Took an excursion to swim with the sea turtles and see Tulum which was very worthwhile. Enjoyed the restaurants, water volleyball and the great service. Also enjoyed the bike tour around town. Only complaints are that the nightly shows were only so-so and sometimes a restaurant would close even though it was supposed to be open on the schedule. Didn't try any of the restaurants at the sister resort. Would definitely go back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BartLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your comments are important for us and we are grateful that you take some minutes from your valued time and make this review from us, this helps us to work harder in specific areas which we might not being paying the attention that it deserves. We are deeply sorry about your perception from our resort and the issues you had in your recently stay.
We cordially invite you to visit us in the near future and give us the opportunity to change your perception from our resort. Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12,484
    2,216
    679
    305
    223
See reviews for
1,837
9,589
202
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This resort is outstanding! The ambience, hot tubs in the room, turn down service complete with towel animals and rose petals, was the best we have seen in Mexico. Every restaurant had wonderful food and service that was unsurpassed. It is right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen and GREAT shopping! The only negative I can say is the sulphur smell of the beach, it was beautiful but smelled, and turned my friends silver jewelry dark. :-( 24 hour room service was great, in room liquor, and snacks, all included! Olan, Abraham, Eva, Laura, Mitch, Selma, And Manual all provided outstanding service.( Sorry those are the only names I can recall!)

Room Tip: I might pay the extra $40 per night for the swim up rooms, the area was lovely and seemed very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hastygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. Thank you for your kind words about the resort facilities, we are very happy that you enjoyed all these.
It will an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I'm now reading some of the previous good reviews and trying to find out something different to tell about this place. Everything I read is absolutely true. The rooms are super nice, perfect location outside the noise and close to the beach, the atmosphere is really cozy. But there's a thing that makes this place outstanding, the staff. I'm not afraid to say this was the best service I had in a hotel. Period. Everyone who works in this place is there to make you feel home. And for me, that was the feeling I had. This people are the best. As soon as you check in they sure know how to make you feel welcomed, (yendaly was really great) if you need any advise just go with her and she will gladly help you but I advise you to reserve at least half an hour for this, she's really charming and you will not want to get out of that chair!!
Bottom line is, I'll recommend this place to anyone, and I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nura_mel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your stay and that you especially like our concierge service, we are very happy to read that Yendaly is doing a great job as well our entire staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a great place to vacation! Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. You can walk out of the front entrance and be in the middle of Playa Del Carmen night life. Staff is fantastic, from Camara in Spice to Samuel & Levinia in Spazul, not to forget the activities staff, Danny Boy, Jesus, Carlos, Azu... And the rest of the team, will keep you busy. If you don't feel like being active, the pool and beach are a great place to relax for the day. If you're going to Mexico, this place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmcandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our resort, we are very happy that you enjoyed all these.
It will an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Due to our love of Mexico, we decided that there was nowhere better in the world to hold our wedding and may I say we made the perfect choice.
On arrival from our long flight from the UK we were greeted at the hotel with Champagne and promptly checked into our rooms.
Our luggage was taken from us immediately by a porter who also walked us to our suite.
Upon entering our suite, it was beautiful, the maids had displayed the towel art and there was wine and champagne in the room, ready to be enjoyed in the jacuzzi.
Our room overlooked the main pool and beach area and the view was absolutely beautiful, the rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Our room also had a safe, mini bar, hair-dryer and iron so ladies you don't need to worry about any of these!
The main pool is quite large and generally had hotel staff engaging holiday makers in activities, however I opted to go by the smaller quieter pool which is perfect to relax with a cocktail and book. The beach is also stunning, however you need to be up and out early to get good beds otherwise you will be underneath the wooden shaded areas in the middle rows, which for sunworshipers like me is a no go!
Moving onto food - what can I say, I am the fussiest person ever with food and I ate in every restaurant and have no complaints, ever meal was great - and we ate three times a day!! Personally my favourite place to eat was the Italian al'a'carte across the road, however my families favourite was Asiana - book either of these and you will not be disappointed (both are included in your all inclusive).
Our wedding was outstanding, we had communicated with our wedding co-ordinator for months prior to arriving who was fantastic with all of our requests - every need was attended to, from champagne toasts, Mexican trio bands, photographers and so on, they organised absolutely everything and our day was completely stress free. Our wedding co-ordinator met with us a few days after our arrival and our paperwork and blood tests again were well organised and stress free.
We held our marriage ceremony on the beach by Pelicanos and it was perfect, the location, setting and staff were immaculate and with the beautiful beach our wedding photos with my family were beautiful - you will not get pictures like it anywhere else!
As we were only a small group we had a personalised service and our cocktail party and family meal afterwards were great - the staff did everything they could to ensure our day was perfect and upon returning to our room it was filled with rose petals, a warm jacuzzi and more champagne!
Staff - Personal Thanks to Ivonne (Beach / Pool Butler) Jeyson (Small Pool Barman), Edwardo, Cruz and Paco (Mediterranean Restaurant Staff) Magdelena (Maid) and of course Lorena (Wedding Co-Ordinator). Each of you were absolutely outstanding with the service you provided and it was certainly noticed and greatly appreciated, you made our holiday EXCEPTIONAL!
We will certainly return to The Royal in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbie80811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us to spend this special date, your wedding! We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Overall, The Royal Playa del Carmen is a beautiful resort with great amenities and service. We were three girlfriends in dire need of a tropical getaway, and the Royal delivered with its gorgeous pools, beach and restaurants. This all-inclusive resort is filled with excellent staff who make you feel special and well cared for. We particularly enjoyed the fitness classes taught by Edith - we took her spinning and Pilates Reformer classes every morning and she really kicked out butts! We also got excellent poolside service from the lovely Celia, who remembered all of our drink preferences and went out of her way to keep checking up on us and saying hello to us even when we were not in her service section. We also loved all of the guys who work at the Lobby Bar - they were so warm, funny and attentive! The only DOWNSIDE to this whole trip was the very cold, poor service we received from one of the managers, Marilou. After 4 wonderful days of impeccable service, we experienced one day where the service was just off. We did not feel attended to and even after we went to personally seek out things that we needed (like a bottle of water!) it was difficult to procure. We tried calling concierge to express our concerns and it was phone tag and lost communication for over an hour. Finally, we went downstairs to speak to someone in person. Marilou listened to our concerns and offered zero sympathy. We are not the type of people looking for free stuff or complaining just to get perks. We were due to leave early the next morning. All we wanted was to let management know that their service was less than their typical excellent standard. Marilou was not very interested in talking to us - even when we said, "It seems like you don't really care about what we are saying," her response was... Nothing. It was a very disappointing end to an otherwise wonderful stay. I wouldn't let something like that prevent me from recommending the Royal to others, but I think the Royal should really reconsider the face of their management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen and we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions
We would like to mention that we are sincerely sorry and to read your report. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us.
Once again please accept our most sincere apologies and we hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

the rooms, the hotel the service was the best i have ever have! me and my fam were so happy to chose this great hotel, i want to thank specialy for the excelent service of, YENDALY PACHECO at front desk, special thanks to her, she orginize all our trip transportantions, rooms acomodation,the smiles from everybody!!!!! we came all the way from france to get to this hotel.

c´est sur que nous diront a nos amie de venir vous voir! merci pour le service merci yendaly pacheco you are the best!

many thanks!
hope to be there egain! cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camille o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,136 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,133 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing