We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love The Royal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #13 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love The Royal!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This has been our 3rd time to the Royal and will continue to stay every time we visit Mexico. I would like to thank Prude our pool waitress for making every day enjoyable, she always put a smile on our faces and would bring us extra drinks without us asking! The food at the Royal has always been amazing, I highly recommend Asiana. A big thank you to Roberto from Asiana for making our last night there truly special by having the chef make us a special dessert!! This year I spent time at Spazul, I enjoyed every minute of my deep cleansing facial! There are many reasons why I continue to return here, all the staff go out of their way to make sure your feeling welcome and enjoying your time (I can say first hand you don't get that at other resorts), our room is always in good condition (love the bed, hammock), food is always good (also recommend the coffeehouse for a Carmel chip frappe), and the variety of drinks are amazing (almond passion, Miami vice, mango tango)!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 288, ocean view. This room was on the second level of the main side of the hotel, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valleygrl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review. We will make sure to tell all our staff members that you have mentioned what a great job they are doing and to keep up the g ood work!
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12,171
    2,174
    667
    298
    219
See reviews for
1,763
9,363
195
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great hotel, great personal, the Chefs Armando and Fabian are just amazing, they go beyond your expectations. the Coffee House is a very nice relaxing detail, however please add some delicatessen to the menu. I can hardly wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Royal. The hotel was recommended by the travel agent so we booked. I later started reading the recent reviews about so many ppl getting sick and i was terrified about going to the Royal. Luckily we didn't get sick!

This review is really difficult because we had a great time and we were sad to be leaving. Unfortunately, in order to do so i had to adjust my expectations and let a few things go. 

The hotel is lovely. The rooms spacious and the beds so comfortable. Only complaint is I was really looking forward to sitting out on the balcony in the hammock but our "ocean view" room balcony was so tiny and the hammock only a chair one. Did not go out there once.

The best thing about this hotel is staff - restaurants, poolside and housekeeping. So friendly, polite and helpful. A special mention to Maria Leticia who always had a smile on her face and provided the most special turndown service every night. Also to Maggie from the pool near the coffee house. So attentive and cheerful - with or without a tip.

Now - the worst thing - the smell of sulphur in the air and coming from the water is disgusting. I have no idea whats going on but it was a problem for me.  I heard similar complaints from guests during our stay. I feel really bad because i dont know what the cause is (the construction site next door maybe?) or whether it can be fixed. 

Beach was a real let down. The smell of fuel from the nearby jetskis mixed with the sulphur smell - yuk! 

The food for the most part was average. Maria Marie was the only place where the food was actually good and we also had some decent enough food at Asiana. The quality of the food at Pelicanos and the tapas bar is poor. Ordered room service breakfast one morning. Food bland and not very nice. Coffee house is great! 

Drinks - an impressive selection of drinks but avoid fruity cocktails unless you like watered down artifically tasting too sweet drinks. Once i made the decision to switch from mojitos to vodka sodas and martinis life got much better! Frozen lime margheritas yum. I don't mind the drinks being a little weaker especially when drinking during the day.

The hotel definitely has a party vibe to it which we did not expect - if this is what you like then you will love it.

When leaving, approximately 5 hotel staff (all men presumably there to help with the bags) just stood there and watched as i struggled to load my suitcase into the taxi. What happened there? Such a bad note to end on.

Overall, whilst we had a nice time
at the Royal i will not stay here again. 

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MZE83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate this review. We are truly sorry to read that you did not experience our remarkable service and hospitality, on behalf of all of the staff at THE ROYAL Playa I would like to express my sincere apology if our service did not fulfill your expectations; as we are deeply committed to assist our guests at all times and provide them with an exceptional service be sure we will sharing your comments with our staff in order to improve and take actions to give an exceptional service..
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The service is always top notch and every year a few staff stick out with exceptional service. Pablo at check in was excellent. He made sure our room was ready right away and made sure to answer any questions we had. "Beach Butlers" Laura and Lopez are the best. They will keep you hydrated with whatever drinks you want every 10-15 minutes and Lopez will keep you cool by spraying water and keeps your sunglasses clean! They are good at what they do and always have a smile while doing it! Yvonne would walk the grounds every day and always asked if we needed anything. If we needed a towel, she got it. If we needed directions in the city, she gave it. Yolanda, Pedro Carmara and Jeronimo in Spice are awesome! They ALWAYS provided excellent service. We barely had to lift a finger! This resort has turned into an annual trip for me because of the service. It will please you beyond any expectations. They treat their guests like ROYALITY

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Policewoman1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would first of all like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us and the rest of the T.A reviewers such an enthusiastic review! We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom i`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first all inclusive. We loved it! The fun team at the pool of Katie, Armando, Jesus, Carlos, Danny, Victor, Regina, Azu and Miguel were wonderful. Katie is the best! Carlos did a wonderful job as the Mayan Prince/King and did an outstanding job at all the tastings...wine, tequila, martini. We had many laughs and days of fun due to their outstanding personalities. Ivonne our Beach Butler took us under her wing and set up our dinners and never missed a chance to say hello and ask if there was anything we needed. The entire staff at The Royal were very friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were excellent. Each restaurant was a good as the next one. Our room was spacious with a great view. We always returned to a unique towel animal waiting for us. The only complaint is the dinner on the beach, which was not included in our all inclusive was a bust. The food was over cooked. Although we told the staff that night the only response we received was "sorry". That was unacceptable. Otherwise it was a wonderful week in paradise! We would do it again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The service was amazing here! The food was incredible in all the restaurants and buffets. We particularly loved the service we had from Antonio and Dimitrio at the buffet for breakfast each day. Our pool butler, Ivonne, and pool waitress, Celia, were outstanding! Willamena was our concierge......she was so helpful and accommodating! I got a Mayan massage from Lucely in the spa that was amazing! All of these people, and the rest of the staff made our vacation unforgettable. I can honestly say that I wholeheartedly recommend The Royal!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethann60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing with us and all others your ROYAL experience. It is always so rewarding to know that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay memorable. Please rest assured that the staff members you have mentioned in your review will all know what an outstanding job they are doing for our ROYAL guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First off, Alex Valesquez, I believe that's his last name. He was at Pelicanos, Spice, Maria Marie, and Chef's Plate and Was absolutely AMAZING!!! He made me feel like family!! Jose and his morning staff, and lunch time, was world class at Spice! They make you feel like family!! Paco and the Head Chef at El Meditaranio were wonderful especially when they made me my favorite Chile Renos. And Rudi makes wonderful specials at Pelicanos!! If you want to go to a resort where you feel like royalty, You need to go to The Royal in Playa Del Carmen. It's called the Royal for a reason. Doesnt matter who you are there because they all treat you the same. This was our 4th time there and can't wait to go back again next year!! I know I'm forgetting people, and for that I am truely sorry, because you were all amazing!! oh, and Mitchel by the pool was so fun!!

Room Tip: Swim ups are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,134 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,563 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing