We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I'm a vegetarian, so food and drinks are really important. I don't know what or where do the other guest got sick, but believe me everything is spotless, the food service and quality is without any doubt top quality. Our 14 days have been heaven on earth! The Mediterranean, Chef's Table and Coffee House are amazing. Thank you! Thank you!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ixchel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11,898
    2,129
    657
    294
    215
See reviews for
1,714
9,157
185
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,008)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my first all inclusive experience my girlfriend and I have been on so I was a bit skeptical about what to expect. However, The Royal was simply incredible. No task was too much for the staff who handle with every request handled with smiles from the moment we arrived.

The location of the resort is perfect, right next to the beach and also walking distance to 5th Avenue and night spots like Coco Bongo. I think this sets the Royal above other resorts which although do look great too, are very far away and isolated.

The resort itself is grand and spacious with every detail taken into account, although there was some nearby construction underway at one side of the hotel which could be a downer if you had a room in this area. Luckily we were given our room on the other side so no complaints.

The pool areas are great with it being lively all through the afternoon, however we preferred the beach area to relax with the sound of the ocean rather than the loud music at the pool. Although its not a private beach you do get ample space to choose from.

I have to say this resort was a place my girlfriend and I did not want to leave, with the staff really going the extra mile to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Kevin, Mike and the rest of the staff at the Mediterranean restaurant were great, always giving us the extra hot Habanero sauce whenever we arrived (definitely worth a try if you can handle your chillies!).

The food for us was great despite what other reviews recently are saying. We're vegetarian and even though there may not always be lots on the menu, if you ask they will go out of their way to make you something special.

Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone whether it be a couple or a group of friends, with all groups I saw their having a lot of fun. We're already looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Put us in rooms overlooking construction next door..we were told by Liberty travel who asked hotel that there was no construction...we (5) all have down with a stomach virus..
Asked to speak to manager for some help..asked twice..no response at all...We guess he has more important issues at hand..We read about a virus at this resort on your site before we got here but really did think it would be an issue..we were wrong...
The manager not coming to are aide has soured us all on this resort..we are still here, not feeling well and have not had the manager contact us..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bensul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent one week at the resort with my wife, and we had a great time! We are waiting for the arrival of our first son and we had a photo shoot session with RAUL, excellent pics by the way. We went many times to Pelicanos Restaurant where MIKE (hostess) was very kind with us! ... FLORENTINO was the guy that made our room every night, and he makes excellent decorations! The SPA Azul is excellent to relax and rest. Delicious food in every restaurant and very important (no waiting line) NEVER!!! Overall is one of the best resorts I have been to. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_viava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We returned from a five day stay at the Royal Playa del Carmen six days ago and we are still sick with the virus that is going around the resort. I have heard a few comments that it is not the resort that gave us the virus. Ok, fifty of us start off perfectly healthy and stay at the resort and within 3-5 days fifty of us have the virus. It has made it very challenging to work or go anywhere without having to rush to the bathroom. Apparently it is a form of e-coli. Most of the travelers in our group came down with it. We were cautious, didn't eat or drink anything off the resort, and only used bottled water. We couldn't even enjoy the beach because the water had a terrible sulfur smell. We had to get out.
The Resort itself was very nice with a friendly staff with great service. I wish we had checked with trip advisor before our stay because we would not have gone. It is not worth getting this virus. The reason I am writing this is so others can make an informed decision about going to this resort. It would be terrible if someone were to work hard and save for a vacation that they would basically have to miss because they were too sick to go or even worse if someone with pre-existing conditions got seriously ill. I am not sure what the resort can do, but they need to do something to put an end to this. Travelers beware!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WreckingBall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I had stayed at the Royal a few years ago. We enjoyed our stay overall so we decided to arrange our vacation again this year. I had booked thru their website and paid the total amount of the stay 60 days prior with the understanding they allow cancellations up to 3 days prior. Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to change our plans and not go to Mexico for our vacation 35 days prior. When we tried cancel we were informed that there is a 10% penalty even at 35 days prior to the stay. And on top it took us calling and emailing to even get a response on the cancellation. We ended up paying the 10% but they will not be our choice when we do go back to Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 610alexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 5-10 May together with 4 friends from Chicago. Out of the 6, 4 got seriously ill!! The water from the taps really stinks & u only get given 2 small bottles of water in your room. Be warned - you're likely to become very ill!!

The rooms look beautiful but aren't very well designed. There is a humungous bath in the bedroom area which takes about an hour to fill - such a waste of water! Then there's a cramped room for the loo & shower.

The beds are very hard & uncomfortable.

It is a timeshare resort & you will be tricked into going to fetch your 'welcome pack' - this is a scam to get you into presentations etc to try sell timeshare. Be warned!

The food was disappointing. it appears exquisite but is not tasty at all, is often cold & thee I items are often not available. I'm not a fan of buffet meals but Spice was the best restaurant providing a wide spread of fresh food.

It was my hubby & my first trip to Mexico .....what a disappointment!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,494 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,309 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing