We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Riviera Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexican Riviera Vacation”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have been a cruiser for several years but am rethinking that this resort is equal to or better than the cruising experience. Everything was first class. The service, food and amenities were finer than any ship I have been on to date. The beach and pool were fantastic and made even better by our pool concierge Alex and his assistant beach butler Jaime. They truly made a difference in our stay as well as the rest of the staff constantly tending to our needs. The location of the resort exceeded our expectations and was perfect for shopping and dining without being to close to get the noise and crowds. Excellent job Royal staff!!

Room Tip: We had a beachfront walkout (bottom Floor) in the 500 series of rooms 514-519 best location of all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raspo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12,484
    2,216
    679
    305
    223
See reviews for
1,837
9,589
202
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mount hope
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got back on February 9th. This was our 4th visit and was even more remarkable than last year. There was only two very minor disappointments and that was concierge staff and transport to the hotel. Transport was two hours. Staff were not aware of new reservation requirements at Maria Marie. They said reservations were not needed and when we went we were told reservations were required. The next morning we tried to make reservations for that evening and were told it was full and I should try two days ahead. Our friends Carlos and Oscar the host of Maria Marie was excellent he got us a table which made us very happy. Oscar was also the host of Spice and made sure we were greeted and always thanked us for coming as we left.
Also at Spice were Antonio and Jorge who served us like royalty so we did not get to try anywhere else for breakfast. Lunch was with Paco at the Meditoranian. Our favourite drink servers were Elizabeth, One, Elesa. Our favourite bar was the Meditoranian with Reyes. We spent most evenings with entertainer Reyes. At the Asian we were looked after by Jorge and Gonzalo. My favourite morning start was at the Coffee House with Ramiro and nights Luisa. We liked the lobby bar with Meguel. Over all it was the best two weeks ever and looking forward to next year if they will let us come back. Vicki and Alex Grant, Hamilton,Ontario, Canada.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Jacobs, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Once again, a great trip. Just returned last night from another great week at The Royal.
Our 4th year in a row to this resort.
We were greeted in the same way, like old friends and it is great to see the same faces there.
Names to mention Chef Nava, again made us a wonderful special dinner. The pissoli as per my request was excellent and just as good as I remembered from 2 years ago.
Jorge in the Spice restaurant provided the same great service again remembering drinks of choice for all 8 of us even having a tequila popper with us. (Although I am sure his was not the same as ours)
Mariposa makes the best omlette ever and I love the way rattles of a string of spanish, then she smiles and teaches you the words in spanish. Fantastic personality!!
The hidden gem in this resort is the Coffee House. The location is terrible for this excellent Coffee and treat cafe. It is in the back corner of the resort and not very well known. I would strongly suggest moving it to the front area like the Royal in Cancun so ALL guests can enjoy it.
Luisa has the most bubbly personality I found at the resort and was a pleasure to talk to nightly.
The best surprise of this trip was the sports staff. Last year my only concern was the sports staff at the resort. The Royal listened to the reports and made the changes to make improve and did so in the best possible way. Seeing Victor there (Known to us as Chicken from the Gran Porto) was a wonderful surprise . It was great to see him again and as always he treated us very well and it was a pleasure talking to him and "playing" with him. Katie a fellow Canadian was also wonderful to get to know and she was very helpful to us. Danny Boy is full of energy and very enthusiastic. They all work as a team and have fun which helps the guests have fun.
Great job for fixing that from last year Royal!!!!
Alejandro set us up for COCO BONGO again and we got the best seats in the house again. THANKS!! The show itself was unchanged which was a little disappointing, but still an amazing show to see.

The resort itself is still great and you would be hard pressed to find a fault. They are constantly improving and updating it which is great.
There is not a bad room in the place!
Would recommend it to anyone still as the best place in Mexico.
Keep it up!!!!! See you in November

Room Tip: They are all good. Main bldg is better as there is a lot of walking in the outer buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Champagne check-in, pillow menu with styles and aromatherapy, impeccable service, as before. Found our favorite bartender Reyes, a great guy, who made us a few cocktails before dinner..superb. This morning chef Fernando, at the request from chef Neva last night, made the most spectacular Chilaquiles we have ever had. Chef Neva has a "surprise " dinner for us in a few more days...more then !! Someone did grab our reserved chairs but the staff cannot prevent heathens from staying here, I guess.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was one of the most pleasant all-inclusive resorts I have ever been too. The service was impeccable. The location was excellent. The rooms were fabulous. We upgraded for the last two days of our trip to a suite that was unbelievable. We almost didn't want to leave our room. The restaurants were all good. We especially loved the Chef's Plate. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to visit the Playa del Carmen area of Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyO841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRACE
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were there as an upgrade from Gran Porto, enjoyed it for five days. Very relaxing, clean, friendly...Big Thanx to Victor (chicken) ,Katie you guys are awesome !!!Thinking of coming back in future maybe on our 30th wedd. anniv.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow. Where do I start. This is our seventh time to this resort. Every year there is nothing bad to say about it. We now feel like family with old friends greeting us when we arrive and for the duration of our stay. We always start planning our next trip here as soon as we get home. Quio in the Tequila bar was wonderful again helping to teach us Spanish words. Every year we try and learn a few more words and he is a great teacher. Lily Sesma was outr beach waitress and in addition to being wonderfully attentive, she too helped us with our spanish vocabulary. Ahmed at Pintxos was delightful and attentive and it was tough to convine my wife that he was slightly too large to fit into our luggage to bring home with us. Victor Gonzales has ALWAYS made us feel very special in whichever restartaunt he has been managing. Maria Louisa (Mary) has been a server for us for a number of years now and each year we look forward to seeing her again (she is wonderful). Alejandro at the front of the hotel greets us like old friends and puts a smile on our faces every time we enter or leave the hotel. Magdalena Serralta and Louisa were our room maids and made sure anything we needed was taked care of and always left our room immaculate. Jose (manager) and Reynaldo in Spice always keep us laughing (and FULL) since they seem to recognize us year after year. Oscar in the coffe shop kept my wife in delicious coffee (which is VERY important). Nancy in the member club was terrific. She helped us with a number of questions and was always following up to ensure we were happy. All in all, another great vacation at the Royal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Norm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,136 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,133 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing