We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradiso en Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Paradiso en Cancun”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We are on an all inclusive package in the Royal Playa del Carmen. As its motto goes it exceeded our expectation. First the welcome - the procedure was a little lengthy since we were a big group and the paper work did take time. What took time was to understand the various facilities available. We choose a room facing the ocean - and i would suggest you choose one although the suites facing the lawns are a little less expensive. The room has a queen sized bed. An added attraction was a jacuzzi in the room.
Service is excellent. There is a well stocked bar, with beer, whiskey, rum, vodka together with tonic water, soda or soft drinks. There are also small eats -wafers, peanuts to munch on. The room had a bottle of wine to begin with
For food - there are several restaurants to choose from - Spice for a variety of continental food, italian cusine, Asiana that dishes out Asian cusine, There is also a snack bar open 24 hours should you feel hungry.
Drinks - A bar in the lobby, two bars by the main pool and several smaller bars by the various restaurants.
Entertainment - Come sundown there is a show each day and there is always music should you choose to dance
Playa del Carmen is a wonderful beach- white sands, with azure blue waters. Great for a swim and for those who love water sports, there is snorkeling and scuba diving, the latter comes with a charge.
I have been on several vacations, but this is about my best experience of a holiday to remember!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean. They are a little more expensive, but worth it since you wake up wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12,011
    2,150
    660
    296
    216
See reviews for
1,736
9,242
186
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,058)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goderich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. All of the staff were extra courteous and extremely polite and helpful , which added to the enjoyment of our holiday. The Chef's Plate's seven course meal was an amazing experience (Thank you Steve & Des ) The fitness and entertainment guys were great - especially Omar ! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday and a resort that has it all. The food was excellent and we tried all of the restaurants. Marie Maria was our favorite by far for dinner. There is talk about safety in Mexico. This area is very safe, and I felt 100% comfortable in town, and also on our bicycle tour through the area where the locals live. There is a lot more to do than eat and drink..... but that was first class too. I would come back to this resort in a flash. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Obviously some have better views - for a price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeenaGoderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Traveled to Mexico with my husband and another couple Oct 17th-27th in 2011, out trip was unexpectedly lengthened thanks to Tropical Storm Rina so we couldn't fly out until Oct 31! We spent our 1st 5 nights in Playa del Carmen at the Royal, next 5 nights at the Royal in Cancun, then the unexpected extra nights at Sotavento Yacht Club (hostel).

We stayed at the Royal PDC for the 1st 5 nights of our trip and we are glad we stayed here first. After staying at the 2 Royals we prefer the Cancun Royal. Mostly because of the beach and the fact that the water doesn't smell like sulfur.

Check in was ok. No time share pressure. Our room had some minor problems, the door handle to the bathroom was broken, the view was of an street, but we did not upgrade so we didn't expect a nice view. There was another minor problem with the room our friends were in,they had no hot water in the shower! They decided to upgrade to ocean view and we requested a different room. There was nothing for either of us until the next day. When we moved we got a ground floor room with a nice view of the courtyard and a small slice of ocean :) Our friends had an amazing view, they were on the top floor, but no hot water in the shower and when they got to the room it wasn't cleaned. Oddly enough there was hot water in the jacuzzi so that how they bathed! The jacuzzis were great, nice and deep for us tall people! Room service was not good, food always came cold so we gave up after 2 attempts.

The beach was ok, a few rocks in the water, some seaweed, but the worst was the smell that would come every so often, smelled like sulfur. The beach service was top notch!!! We always got a bed which was nice for me, I need the shade! The beach service was far better here than in Cancun.

We loved mariemarie and asiana, and the Mediterranean one. The buffet was good here too, really stuffy and hot a couple of days but it got better. The lobby service was pretty bad so we would send one of our husbands to the bar! LOL!

We loved the proximity to 5th ave and felt very safe walking around at night.

We would definitely return to the Royal in Cancun but not this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My wife and I just returned from 6 days at The Royal and I am soooo happy we didn't choose a different resort. I scoured tripadvisor for a couple of months reading reveiws about this place so I will include a few things that were surprising or questions that were only answered while we were there.

Arrival -

We booked out trip through AAA and arrived at the hotel about two hours before check in time. I was assuming we might be able to store our bags there but would be exploring 5th avenue until check in time, wow I was way off! At the front desk upon pulling our names up we were instantly taken to Ana, our romance concierge. Ana was extremely nice, instantly offering a cool towel and cocktails! She explained all of our amenities and gave us our armbands. We were unable to go to the room until 3 but had ful use of all of the facilities (which was great because we hadn't eaten all day!). We did online check in and had to settle for room 155. As Ana was explaining our room we had mentioned that we really wanted 399, and a few clicks on the computer we had the option of moving into 299 the next day. That was big wow factor because a good ocean view was important for me and a good pool view was important for my wife, perfect! One note, the "Gold" card is the timeshare stuff, a Real club rep did ask us to stop by and activate our card which we did not and never encountered them again.

The Resort-
The resort is absolutely beautiful and flawless. Top quality everywhere and a grounds crew constantly working on the grounds maintaining the beauty. I don't want to ruin the experience for anyone so just trust me when I say this place is absolutely beautiful! The Shows were great as well, very professional and acrobatic

The Room (s)-
Our first room 155 was beautifuly decorated when we walked in with rose petals, towel swans, and some other great touches. The room was flawless except for the "ocean view", which there is NO view of the ocean from this room. I understand why this room would command an ocean view price because the location to the pool is just steps away, a huge plus for many, myself I was looking forward to the next room.

The Next room 299 was fabulous! The view was exactly what both my wife and I were hopeful for. A great ocean view and pool side. The double beds were arranged into one giant bed for us which was fun. This room has the smaller patio so no hammock but for me an easy trade for the view.

Food-
The food was very good. My wife and I coined the term "faux" five star describing the food. They try very hard, however this is Mexico and everything is just a little different. It wasn't the best thing we ever ate but was above average and very good. We also ate at the buffet at the Grand Porto twice and it was very good as well!
Pelicanos- Lovely ocean front views, we didn't care for breakfast at all but very happy we went back for lunch/dinner twice as this is where the place shines. The seabass and the tuna were great!
Tapas- Ate lunch here once and it was great, just remember tapas are small portions as they should be and huge on flavor!
Spice - Great for breakfast, they had some type of tortilla dish in sauce with onions and cheese that I would eat for breakfast everyday! The variety of the offered was great and they had hot dogs and cheeseburgers (see room service)
Maria Marie's- This place was great! The desserts and entrees were outstanding as well as the apps. One note, the lobster bisque is not what you would expect (I don't think it's cream based). I was hopeful for a great bisque but got a good soup.
Mediterrainos- Breakfast buffet not as good as Spice, great dinner menu
Room Service- This was great, a surprisingly good cheeseburger and some great tacos. Quick to deliver, mainly used this for beer and liquor. Changing brands of liquor in the in room bar isn't included but you can order shots from them and that is included.
24hr VIP lounge - Only had the nachos with fresh tortillas, they were great!

Bars- Bars were great, if you don't order the better booze by name you will get well booze, just a heads up. Also, another tip is to bring a big cup, I saw alot of people with bubba kegs and there own large cups which would've been great (you can buy some cool cups on 5th avenue also). I'm pretty sure there is no malibu anywhere in the resort however. Jeysson, Mac, and Armando were great! Martini says hi!

Pool- Pool was huge! It was also very cold however it felt great in the hot sun. Prudee was super nice and took great care of keeping us supplied with Mango Tangos, Mojitos, and dirty monkeys! Towel game is in play for the great seats, my wife usually was down around 730 or 8 to put towels on the loungers in the water, however there are still chairs at any time, even the good ones. If you have a problem getting chairs in the morning, don't sleep till noon, you're in Mexico!

Location- This is the BEST part of the resort. It's a block away from 5th avenue and most days we were strolling up and down shopping, relaxing, and taking in local culture. It's extremely safe with enthusiastic shop keepers the closest thing to danger. My wife and I loved the slightly urban feel to it and the ability to just walk out of the front and there 5th avenue is is absolutely priceless!

Beach- Beach was great! beautiful sand, warm waters, and I thought it was nice that the beach was close to a public beach, nobody bothered us and it was great to see locals out enjoying thier "backyard"!

A couple more things we weren't sure of before we left. The water at the resort is fine to drink as it's filtered, and American electrical plugs are the same and work just fine.

Overall, fantastic trip! If you're looking for quiet and peaceful they have plenty of sections, and if you are looking for more lively times stay by the pool, it's loud in the rooms during the day but not bad, besides, you're in Mexico at the beach, why are you in your room during the day? Can't wait to return and would reccomend The Royal to anyone!

Room Tip: 299 is the best room for ocean views, 155 is a great option for closeness to pool. Overall stay pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just spent Easter at The Royal Playa del Carmen. Loved it. Our third time in Mexico and third hotel. On each occasion we have had a great time but this was the best. Great location, The weather was good and fellow guests pleasant. Perhaps some parasols would be good. It does seem a bit perverse that almost daily there is advice given out about using adequate sun block and yet around the pools there is no means of moving in and out of shade, other than to leave the pool area. Fortunately for me it wasn't an issue but some people looked like boiled lobsters.

Room Tip: I have no idea....Pay more or as we were very lucky....Room 459 really good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernsoftieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Wow, what a way to relax. Great spa, 2 whirlpools, cool pool, steam and sauna. So peaceful, and has hibiscus and chlorophyl waters for refreshment. Had an amazing massage by Samuel! He's the best. knew exactly what to do, could sense where I needed work the most. Great staff, good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

2nd time to Playa within 90 days and this will be the only place I stay. Only hotel on the beach that does not have a 2 foot sand wall to go around before getting to the ocean. 3 minute walk to 5th street where all the action is. Hotel staff was courteous, helpful and glad to have us there! Unlimited room service was taken advantage of. Take advantage of the ocean front walk out rooms if possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScubaChicTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,985 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,441 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,632 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing