We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW Expect the exceptional!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2007

WOW the Royal is amazing, just came back we were treated like royalty!

We stayed in the Master Suite it was beautiful (look at my pictures) and luxury. The food was excellent at every restaurant and the location is great, right off 5th avenue, the night life ect....

International drink (Grand Marinier), a BMW mini cooper included for an hour and lots more...

We will go back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank MarcJeannine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,847 - 13,853 of 17,041 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2007

We had a very good trip at the Royal last week (12-13 through 12-18). This is definitely a five star hotel. The rooms are the equivalent of the Bellagio. The people who work at this hotel are very friendly and work very hard. The beach is easily the cleanest and nicest in the city. The pool is very nice and the food is outstanding. The Chef's Plate is as good as any restarant in Las Vegas. Gilberto is an outstanding waiter if you eat there. Maria Maries is also very good. Be sure and tip the waiters and bartenders at this place. The large European contingent of guests does not tip the staff who work very hard. After eating dinner late at Chef's Plate one evening, Gilberto told us we were his second tip of the night. The close proximity to 5TH avenue is a huge plus. One evening we had dinner on 5TH avenue. The concierge recommended a place called Chicago. This restaurant is run by a couple from Chicago who fly in all their meat from Kansas City. The barbeque ribs were very good. This street is so clean and friendly with so many shops, restaurants and bars. The Blue Parrott is also a must place for nightlife, but do not plan on premium alcohol at this place. It is truly incredible the cruise ships stop in Cozumel and not here. No cabs would be neccessary when docking in this city with everything a few blocks away. The Playacar Golf Course is a 5 minute cab ride away. Bring extra golf balls, because you will need them. Overall, this trip is probably what Cancun used to be like. The small Mexican town with all the nice ammenities is the perfect vacation. The new airport at Cancun is a huge plus. Numerous airlines fly in here and all USA travelers have their own terminal. If you go to Mexico, bring as many small bills as possible. Change in Mexico is your worst nightmare. You cannot have too many ones. Also, pack lemons and Canada Dry tonic water if you want those items, because you cannot find them in Playa.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank allabouttravelmmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

The Royal Playa del Carmen has to be the best place we have stayed at. We travel a lot this was our 6th trip for 2007. The resort its self was beautiful the food was excellent but what sticks out in our minds is the service. The staff was exceptional from the desk to the maids. The service at the restaurant Spice was somthing we won't forget there wasn't anything they would'nt do for you..A special thank you to Iver who's smile made our day.

The Bossey's from Canada

Stayed: December 2007
9  Thank joannecanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

This Hotel is just the best where i´ve been before. It´s in Playa del Carmen Center, in front of a lovely almost private beach. No rocks there.. Just sand...sand...sand...Closer beaches have nice lounge bares, with great music. The swimming pools are good, but not amazing. Several restaurants available, with diferent kind of typical food (Italian, Japonese(show cooking), Buffet, spanish, (Tapas),etc. )And everything is "All Inclusive". The food is very well prepared by the best chef´s in the area. Good selection of wines...During the day, a lot of activities happen. All of them prepared by the animation team. At night the animation is not so good for young couples, so i would rather to go out to have some fun at the local bares. (Don´t miss the beach party´s)
The bedrooms are huge! with an amazing Jacuzzi! The bed is very comfortable. During the day go out and walk throu the 5th Avenue (just few meters ahead from the hotel): It´s the best place to buy souvenirs.
Excursions Tips: Cobá (Very nice); Chizen Itza+ Valadolid (+/-); Cancun (AMAZING. try to rent a car. It´s the best choice); X-caret (we dind´t went, but another couple went, and just love it).
I´ve travelled around some places around the world, but Playa del Carmen, is by far, the one where i can find, Good beach, great hotel, and lot´s of Party just a few steps away.Do´t miss.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Sofilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

My wife, her sister, and her sister's husband stayed at the resort from Monday Dec 10 through Monday Dec 17 2007. We stayed in two Ocean View King bed rooms. Overall we had a great time at the resort but there is some room for improvement. With some simple adjustments this resort can really live up to their slogan "Expect the Exceptional".

Strengths:
Location, location, location - close to the highway for excursions to Tulum, Chichen Itza, or the ceynotes at XelHa. Also easily within walking distance to 5th Ave, with shopping restaurants, and the famous beach nightclub "Blue Parrot". Car rental across the street and a short drive into town if you want to buy snacks before an excursion. Resort is ON the beach, as you can see from the photos.

Amenities are very nice. The rooms were impeccably cleaned and maintained. You're never more than a short walk from a bar (not including the one in your room).

The lobby is nicely set up with pool tables and lounge chairs - a great place for meeting people. The lobby bar with Roberto the bartender was wonderful!

Beach is beautiful and the water is great. I say this because my wife and I stayed at the Excellence Club Mayan Riviera for our honeymoon in May, and the beach was covered in seaweed and the water was unpleasant with steep drop-offs and general murkiness. So, Royal was a welcome change.

Chef's Plate and Marie Marie's were great restaurants. Other people talked about those so I won't go into detail.

Weaknesses:

The drinks were really disappointing. We came expecting to indulge in fruity tropical drinks all week and we were disappointed. The drinks were all mixed with cheap syrup instead of real fruit. The artificial colors gave my wife a rash the first night.

The sushi restaurant "Asiana" was terrible for a variety or reasons- they were confused about the dress code, the food took forever, and the sushi was old.

Room service was hit or miss - sometimes the food was warm, sometimes it was just cold.

We weren't able to get boogie boards to use on the beach- the water sports guy didn't show up til 2pm one day and he collected them again at 3pm.

Overall:

We had a great time, and compared with Excellence Club I think this place did some things really great that Excellence missed. I would go back here again.

I can provide more detail if anyone is interested.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SeaTheWrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

The Royal exceeded my expectations on food, accomodations, service and most of all -- location. I travel frequently and have been to a number of resorts in Mexico including Cancun, Riviera Maya and Playa Del Carmen. What I loved the most of the Royal was the location -- walk to shopping (love it). The service was exceptional. Upon arrival, my luggage did not follow and the concierge dedicated a huge amount of resources to locate and have my luggage sent the next day. The rooms are quite spacious/jr. suite and the cleanliness was superb. I also love the size of the resort -- not too large. I stayed at the Iberostar earlier in the year and while it was quite nice, it is just too huge and the rooms while nice, cannot compare to those at The Royal.

I also visited the onsite spa, Spazul. It was okay -- not great and quite pricey. You can obtain same services just one block off the resort for half the price.

I highly recommend The Royal and definately plan to return as early as March '08. Lastly, thanks so much to all who contribute to the trip advisor. I swear by its reviews and is why I am taking the time to provide details regarding my experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CatcapriMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Even though we got there at 2:00 AM the desk personnel was friendly and helpful. We were taken to our room and were pleasantly surprised at the amenities there and the cleanliness throughout. It just got better from there. The beach had NOT been washed away like other resorts in the area. It was lovely and gently sloping to the ocean and had no sand bags to have to crawl over. I suggest that if you are traveling to the Mayan you specifically ask about the beach as we heard from guests at other resorts that there was NO beach or they had to share a beach with other resorts due to the previous hurricane.
The service personnel were friendly and courteous. The food was great-especially Asiana. Ask for Juan Carlos and Sol. They will treat you like royalty (pun not intended). We liked the fact that you didn't have to make reservations and that at 3 of the 6 restaurants you did not have to wear long pants at supper time at those 3 places.
Drinks are brought to at the pool (there is a swim up bar also) and at the beach. A great touch. OLE! There are activities at the pool but they seem to be aimed at the younger set. All in all we had a great 2 weeks there and would go back in a heart beat.
TWO SMALL DOWNSIDE ITEMS:
In the lobby there are 2 desks marked GUEST SERVICES. If you are not interested in time shares AVOID THESE 2 DESKS.
The nightly entertainment is good but WAY TOO LOUD
OVERALL:
This resort was the best that we have been to and we have been to some of the best all inclusive resorts in the Mayan. This place treats you like you are a valued guest as you should be. They want you to return and tell your friends about the Royal.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank CanucOwenSound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,975 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,708 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,512 reviews
9.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $325 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing