We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, you should stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I am not sure I can say anything that hasn’t already been said on TA about this resort, but I will try to throw one or two new things in the mix. The number of reviews that come in on a daily basis says enough about this place all on its own!

Our trip to RPDC was the first week of February 2011 for my 40th birthday and was for a total of 8 days. We had a group of 12 people including couples and singles as well as a range from my 60 year old mom to a 30 year old. This hotel caters to all adult ages and singles / couples alike, so whatever your demographic, you will love this resort.

We used Pleasant Holidays, which included hotel transfers via Best Day travel, and the transfers went very smooth. The location of this hotel is the best of any other hotel and we walked up and down 5th Avenue at least once if not twice a day every day. We arrived at the hotel around 6pm to be greeted by 2 very nice concierges who checked us in and welcomed us with cool cloths and champagne. All of our rooms were checked-in ahead of time using the online system and each of the designated room choices were correct. We had room 397 and thought it was a perfect room choice! The resort, as stated before, is impeccable and the cleanest place I have ever seen in all of my travels. The staff is like no other – always acknowledging you with a smile or a hand over their heart. Everywhere you look, at all times, someone was cleaning or painting or doing something to make the resort so dynamic.

Everyone in our group was very generous with their tipping and we all brought about $200 per person for tipping purposes. The tips went very far and the workers were all very grateful and sometimes surprised. We didn’t see a lot of other people tipping, but everyone here works their butt off and deserves a little extra!

Food: The first night we went to Spice for the buffet dinner and it was just OK. The time to go to Spice is for the buffet breakfast, which is fantastic with its omelette bar, fruits and varied stations of tasty treats. We also ate here for lunch a couple of times and it was fine for an afternoon feast. We had Asiana for dinner one night and everyone in the group loved the food as well as all of the yummy sake! The bartender there was great and definitely memorable in a good way. We ate at Maria Marie 2 times because it was so scrumptious (including my birthday evening) and they were very accommodating of the cake my friends snuck in without my knowledge! We only ate at El Mediterraneo for lunch and we were mostly pleased. A few times during the day for lunch we jumped out of our beach chairs and headed into Pelicanos for lunch, but don’t forget your cover up because you can not sit in there without shirt / bottoms / shoes. The food was good and we tried several different items over those few visits. We also went across the street several times for dinner to take advantage of the Mexican and Italian food. Everyone had good remarks for the Mexican restaurant but opinions were varied on the Italian place based on food quality as well as service. The food in the 24-hour lounge is not that fantastic during the day, however, at 1AM after a night of drinking, it is the most tasty thing you have ever experienced! The chicken fingers were a big hit as was the cheese & crackers. We used this lounge late at night almost every night for snacks and a last drink (which you make yourself). We used room service early one morning before one of the off-site activities and it was very good.

Rooms / On site activities: The rooms are roomy and have a huge Jacuzzi tub as well as an in room mini bar consisting of drinks & snacks. We only used housekeeping a couple of times and when we did they left awesome towel art and did a wonderful job of cleaning the room. The rest of the time we had the do not disturb sign up and it was always respected. At one point our A/C broke in our room and literally 2 minutes later they were there to fix it and did so very quickly. Several of us in the group would do morning pilates in the gym and all of us were very happy with that pilates experience as well as the instructors. A couple of people in the group did say that some of the other machines in the gym were broken (treadmills, etc). Regina and Charlie who are always at the pool for the daily activities were the BEST and I cannot say enough good things about them. Sometimes it was hard to get people involved in the activities but they always managed to do it with their energy and fun personalities. Also – the waitresses around the pool are super and start bringing trays of drinks around at 9AM! Even that early, we couldn’t say no to the Mango Tangos. A few of the people in our group also used the spa on-site and all came back with raving reviews.

Off-Site activities: THE JUNGLE PLACE! If you are an animal lover, go here….it was the highlight of the trip for everyone in our group who went along. It is a spider monkey sanctuary and you can see my review of it here on TA. Xplor was our 2nd favorite activity consisting of ziplines, underground rivers and amphibious vehicles. We spent the whole day here and booked it though the Best Day Travel desk at the resort (by the lobby). Everyone had a good time and was happy with the activity. Xcaret ended up with a mixed opinion by the group, but the one thing everyone agreed on was the food alone at the buffet was worth the trip! This is a great place for kids or people interested in wildlife / animals / plants / etc. We also booked this at the Best Day Travel desk on-site at RPDC. We used Sabai Spa for massages a few times and I wrote a separate review for them on TA that you can check out.

The only negatives we have are the pool aka ice water. We even saw a brave guy in the pool who was wearing a knit beanie for warmth. There is only 1 hot tub and it is full to the brim with people huddled up in their groups by 4PM. I am not sure why the other big, round hot tub looking area next to the actual hot tub has not been turned into another one. There is no food poolside, which was very disappointing and I think is also a great idea to keep the drunkenness to an acceptable level. Lastly, the beach has way too few of the plastic white tables. I saw people almost get in a fight over the tables because there are under half as many as there should be. As people have stated, you have to get up early to reserve chairs around the pool and we were always down there by 8 to get loungers for our group so we never had a problem.

If you have any question in your mind of this is the right hotel for you, IT IS! The location, the Mango Tangos, the employees, the beautiful beach, the limitless food, Regina & Charlie, etc, etc…..Stay here and you will also be writing a shining review upon your return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dawnlpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,001 - 11,007 of 16,352 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

Only the Grand Velas is better, but at a much higher cost. The Royal has the very best location of all the luxury resorts, and superb amenities including gourmet restaurants, quiet pools, unexcelled service, and you are pampered throughout your stay. Walk out the front door and you are in the Playa del Carmen pedestrian shopping area, totally safe and totally fun. No children under 16. The beds are comfortable and housekeeping is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustRelaxGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Read reviews and thought this would be a great place even though it was expensive. Arrived to check in at 4pm received room key and the room was dirty when we got it. Room service never once got our order correct in 4 days! The room was only cleaned one time in 4 days after I called to complain. Service and food in restaurant was well below our last trip to Mexico. We paid for "BestWay" travel to shuttle us through Expedia when we were at line in front desk the shuttle driver said he would not wait 5 minutes and we ended up paying $50 for a taxi.

Great Location - Great pool........ Horrible Service!!!! Will never stay here again feel ripped off...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MhedrickRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We just returned from our 2nd annual week-long stay at the Royal PDC and were again very happy with the resort - staff service, food, location, beach, and overall experience.

When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to a Royal Master Suite for an extra $100 night but declined; seemed way too much space and unnecessary cost.

Last year we upgraded to an Ocean View Suite (room 351) and chose our room via online check-in. This year we just stayed with the standard Royal Jr Suite (and were assigned to room 223 when we arrived) and were happier with it for 2 reasons - away from the drunk hot tub and pool music, and about $700 cheaper. We did experience a little street noise in the mornings in 223 but we are early risers anyway so it was not a big deal. Actually, it was fun people watching from our balcony during the day or evening before bed. In case you are wondering - the room layout and size were exactly the same in both suites.

One small complaint affected my rating for cleanliness - we saw a bug in the shower on mornings 1 and 2 coming from a seam in the shower seat along the wall. I complained to the front desk on morning 2. They responded immediately by sending in someone to spray and the next evening, the crack was sealed with new mortar. I realized we are in a tropical environment and they handled the situation very well so I did not feel the need to complain any further.

Overall this was a great trip. We booked through FunJet and used their Lomas travel affiliate for shuttle service to and from the airport. Air travel was arranged directly with Sun Country Airlines. Everything went very smoothly and on-time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank old_metalhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The grounds were beautiful, and after checking in we were excited to see our room. When entering we found that the place had not been touched since the previous visitors had checked out...mistakes happen. I was there for 4 nights/5 days and housekeeping only managed to make it to my room on 1 of those days. The other days I just called when returning to the room around 4 and asked for towels and washcloths. Room service did not get the order right even once, even when it was a simple order of coffee. The hotel allows guests to "reserve" seats at the pool and beach the night ahead, which is maddening because it makes it next to impossible to find a seat. The resturaunts had the same service as found with housekeeping...not so good. The bright side was the crowd that was there were fun, grounds were beautiful, Lopez and Gustavo at the pool bar had great customer service, and thats about it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Let me start by saying that this our second year in a row to visit the Royal. The resort was at capacity and the service was still superior. Hilda kept our room spotless while we were there. Anna "our Romance Concierge" was fantastic. We changed rooms our second day there just to be closer to the pool, gym etc. There was nothing wrong with the room we had just location. Daniel Rodriguez, the manager is superb at his job. Male, at the pool was the greatest little waitress ever. The food was top notch everywhere,everyday. We did eat at a couple of the restaurants next door, Mexican and Italian this time and they were great also. Thank you to everyone for all the great service you provide for people that are needing a great vacation.
To the issue of safety in PDC. It is very safe. You can find trouble or danger anywhere you live or go. Just stay to the areas where all the tourist are and use your resorts to book your excursions. No need to rent cars and venture off by yourselves.
This resort is top notch and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

WOW the best hotel that I've ever stayed, it was incredible, the food, the service, the beds. A MOST in Playa del Carmen, ROYAL group are amazing professionals really 2 thumbs up!
The restaurants on the hotel are amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLeuchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,805 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,328 reviews
12.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $307 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing