We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18,615)
Filter reviews
18,615 results
Traveler rating
14,750
2,514
754
338
259
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14,750
2,514
754
338
259
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maria marie chef's plate coffee house romance concierge el mediterraneo spice restaurant royal pdc jose garcia hour lounge ocean view turn down service our honeymoon tequila bar presidential suite lobby bar beach butler rose petals
Filter
Updating list...
12,837 - 12,842 of 18,615 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Only the Grand Velas is better, but at a much higher cost. The Royal has the very best location of all the luxury resorts, and superb amenities including gourmet restaurants, quiet pools, unexcelled service, and you are pampered throughout your stay. Walk out the front door and you are in the Playa del Carmen pedestrian shopping area, totally safe and totally fun. No children under 16. The beds are comfortable and housekeeping is perfect.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustRelaxGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Read reviews and thought this would be a great place even though it was expensive. Arrived to check in at 4pm received room key and the room was dirty when we got it. Room service never once got our order correct in 4 days! The room was only cleaned one time in 4 days after I called to complain. Service and food in restaurant was well below our last trip to Mexico. We paid for "BestWay" travel to shuttle us through Expedia when we were at line in front desk the shuttle driver said he would not wait 5 minutes and we ended up paying $50 for a taxi.

Great Location - Great pool........ Horrible Service!!!! Will never stay here again feel ripped off...

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MhedrickRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We just returned from our 2nd annual week-long stay at the Royal PDC and were again very happy with the resort - staff service, food, location, beach, and overall experience.

When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to a Royal Master Suite for an extra $100 night but declined; seemed way too much space and unnecessary cost.

Last year we upgraded to an Ocean View Suite (room 351) and chose our room via online check-in. This year we just stayed with the standard Royal Jr Suite (and were assigned to room 223 when we arrived) and were happier with it for 2 reasons - away from the drunk hot tub and pool music, and about $700 cheaper. We did experience a little street noise in the mornings in 223 but we are early risers anyway so it was not a big deal. Actually, it was fun people watching from our balcony during the day or evening before bed. In case you are wondering - the room layout and size were exactly the same in both suites.

One small complaint affected my rating for cleanliness - we saw a bug in the shower on mornings 1 and 2 coming from a seam in the shower seat along the wall. I complained to the front desk on morning 2. They responded immediately by sending in someone to spray and the next evening, the crack was sealed with new mortar. I realized we are in a tropical environment and they handled the situation very well so I did not feel the need to complain any further.

Overall this was a great trip. We booked through FunJet and used their Lomas travel affiliate for shuttle service to and from the airport. Air travel was arranged directly with Sun Country Airlines. Everything went very smoothly and on-time.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank old_metalhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The grounds were beautiful, and after checking in we were excited to see our room. When entering we found that the place had not been touched since the previous visitors had checked out...mistakes happen. I was there for 4 nights/5 days and housekeeping only managed to make it to my room on 1 of those days. The other days I just called when returning to the room around 4 and asked for towels and washcloths. Room service did not get the order right even once, even when it was a simple order of coffee. The hotel allows guests to "reserve" seats at the pool and beach the night ahead, which is maddening because it makes it next to impossible to find a seat. The resturaunts had the same service as found with housekeeping...not so good. The bright side was the crowd that was there were fun, grounds were beautiful, Lopez and Gustavo at the pool bar had great customer service, and thats about it.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Let me start by saying that this our second year in a row to visit the Royal. The resort was at capacity and the service was still superior. Hilda kept our room spotless while we were there. Anna "our Romance Concierge" was fantastic. We changed rooms our second day there just to be closer to the pool, gym etc. There was nothing wrong with the room we had just location. Daniel Rodriguez, the manager is superb at his job. Male, at the pool was the greatest little waitress ever. The food was top notch everywhere,everyday. We did eat at a couple of the restaurants next door, Mexican and Italian this time and they were great also. Thank you to everyone for all the great service you provide for people that are needing a great vacation.
To the issue of safety in PDC. It is very safe. You can find trouble or danger anywhere you live or go. Just stay to the areas where all the tourist are and use your resorts to book your excursions. No need to rent cars and venture off by yourselves.
This resort is top notch and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews