We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Playa del Carmen
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
26
4
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
26
4
1
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 33 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This was about my fifth stay in this unit. It's becoming a yearly event for our "girl's trip." This time I stayed a bit longer than usual - 2 1/2 weeks - and spent Thanksgiving there. The unit has a wonderul kitchen, great for making breakfast/lunch. The location is an easy walk in to town for dinner, which we looked forward to every night. The balcony is quite large, like an outdoor living room, with the prettiest view of the sea and Cozumel within sight. Watching the sun come up over the sea each day on the balcony with coffee is so pretty and the view at night of the twinkling lights of Cozumel is very pretty. There was plenty of room for everyone to lounge around in the unit. The pool area and beach are fantastic. The decor is very charming with tasteful Mexican and Carribean accents. There was a great Thanksgiving dinner in the pool area where everyone brought dishes to share - my first Thanksgiving on a beach! This place is beginning to feel like a home away from home. I can't say enough about the beautiful setting and how comfortable it is to settle in there. I have watched Playa del Carmen grow over the years to a real world-class vacation destination while maintaining its charm. There is a wonderful free jazz festival every year at this time and also Taste of Playa which had over 20 restaurants participating this year. Combine that with great food, great weather, interesting day excursions, beach massages along with just relaxing and you couldn't ask for anything better!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MDigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed at the Grand Penthouse in May. Great location, walking distance to ferry. Huge patio with great view. Nice complex with OK pool. Recent beach reconstruction which turned out well – now lots of sand in front of the complex (water used to come up right to the edge of the complex). Found the unit furnishings to be old but adequate, with a few exceptions (see below).

Our main problems centered on maintenance and management. On arrival, 2 of the 4 AC units were out (I would think these would be checked before arrival). Called the owner, one unit was replaced the next day, but the workers said the owner would not authorize the other to be replaced (main bedroom). In May with a breeze this wasn’t too bad, but could be later in the year. The unit also advertises free internet and phone service – when we arrived these did not work. The owner also was notified, local workers made a few half-hearted attempts to fix but were not successful. We overheard one worker say he thought the bill hadn’t been paid. The patio has furniture that is old and weathered - one chair collapsed on one of our party when he sat down. We also received a phone call from the local property manager chastising us for keeping the front door open (which we did due to AC problems) and indicating the people staying below us had complained about excessive “chair noise” – not sure what this was about, as we had met some of the people staying below us who heard nothing.

After arriving back, I contacted the owner who stated our deposit would be mailed back to us soon. Two months later we have not received our deposit, and the owner will not answer E-mails or phone calls.

The unit still has the largest patio and best view in the complex, and could be a jewel if the above problems were corrected. As noted above, maintenance is subpar and you should assume you won’t get your deposit back when you stay there.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scuba56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnInPlaya, Owner at Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

So sorry to see this review... we always check our property prior to guests arrival, power surges and electrical issues are common in Mexico (we provide free power surge proctors for our guests for their electrical "toys" ... we had a complex wide power failure with the transformer in the area and lost 2 AC units and it destroyed the DSL modem... which controls wifi and phone service.

BOTH AC units were replaced within 2 days of issue, one on the weekend on Sunday (guest arrived on Saturday) the other on Monday since we could not buy a Central AC system on Sunday since contractor supply company's are closed on Sunday. Unit was installed first thing Monday morning.

RE Deposit... Deposit was paid via Paypal with a credit card... guest was refunded deposit via paypal but did not receive deposit since they reported card as "lost or stolen" while on trip and never responded to Paypal email, once they notified us of the issue, we contacted paypal and had credit applied to the new card number.

We hope to have them back again since they enjoyed the majority of their trip, We are from the USA and make every attempt to respond in the time frame one would expect in the USA. Even with the best of intentions, if we can't BUY the proper AC system, we can't install it until we can buy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had not stayed in the Playa area before and this is is the absolute perfect spot. Close to everything. Excellent views, wonderful property, really nice people. Loved everything about it. Would absolutely go there again!

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkcroval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Last year my husband and I took a cruise and one of the stops was Cozumel. Since we had been there before, we took the short ferry ride to Playa Del Carmen. We walked the area and the beach and discovered Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse 7209. Absolutely gorgeous location!

This year we stayed in the Grand Penthouse in Xaman Ha. It was perfect. The views from the top floor are even more spectacular than from the beach. Regarding the beach, it was nice when we saw it last year, but now it is being refurbished and is unbelievably wide! It was nearly finished when we left. The distance to the water is three times larger than it was, just beautiful.

Sadly, I am not a swimmer but I really enjoyed the two pools. We got a little raft and I sunned and floated around, back and forth, (the pools are joined with a little water way under a cute little bridge)...very friendly people there too.

The condo is bright and large. We used the washer and dryer, that was really a plus not often found in a condo. The maid came regularly and cleaned everything, I really enjoyed that.
The accommodations are great, but what makes it fun...the decor is really Mexican, so even though you have all the conveniences, it does not look like 'home'.

The kitchen is well equipped, we did some cooking but ate out also. We especially enjoyed eating from the little street carts down by the park. You can get really good, local inexpensive food and sit by the water to eat it. And the water....I have never seen such beautiful, blue water. We live not too far from the Gulf of Mexico and the water never looks like that!

We really found Paradise! Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse 7209

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie6Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Friends of ours booked the Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse 7209. They e-mailed the utube video to us and we were all pretty excited to go to this luxury condo. Well turns out the utube video is pretty old, and the penthouse is pretty shabby now. You can cook in the kitchen, but be prepared to wash dishes by hand. The dishwasher is gone. If you don't keep up with the dishes, the cockroaches and ants will come out. Well actually the ants were there all the time, we saw the roaches when it was dark and the lights were flipped on.

Did you notice that nice telescope in the living room? It's not there now. I was thinking it would be cool to look at the cruise ships and towards Cozumel on it. Bring your binoculars folks. There is also no computer for your use. They provided internet access, so bring your own laptop if you need to use a computer.

The baclony furniture is pretty old and ratty. The two lounge chairs are split down the middle, so don't let any heavy people sit on them, your likely to finish the job and end up on the floor. Every single plant on the balcony is dead or should be put out of it's misery. Why have them, if you won't hire a gardener to take care of them? There is also a lot of junk on the balcony. On one end behind the dead plants is a broken ladder. At the far end of the balcony, they have some makeshift boards that seperate you from the neighbors balcony. That end also has 3 or 4 garbage bags full of something or other partially hidden behind some more dead plants.

They have some area rugs scattered about the condo. The rug in the living area is nasty and dirty with lots of stains. The living room furniture is cheap rattan, and very uncomfortable. The end tables and coffee table are cheap and have marker or crayola marks on them. I personally didn't find the decorating scheme charming at all. Tacky is the word that comes to my mind.

Don't know who the bathroom artist was, but the fish drawings on the wall and all that fish motif is real tacky.

All in all the whole place is pretty run down and needs some new paint and a good cleaning. The location is great, and other condos are taken care of by their owners. Stay away from 7209 and you should be pretty happy.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny-n-sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews