We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don'tDo It!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carmen Suites
Save
You added Carmen Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #195 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don'tDo It!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

This grafitti plastered box was noisy, dirty and the people were rude when I asked questions or complained. This is not the place to be in such an otherwise beautiful location. This is an exception to the rule. Go elsewhere, anywhere.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — The Staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMADNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quintana Roo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

This is not a place to enjoy facilities but to sleep, it is clean and quite. Everything is near, the beach and 5th ave with all kind of restaurants, so if you decide to book do not expect too much for what you pay for.
]The bath is clean but old and so are the rooms, I had a terrible view to a lot but didn´t mind. Playa del Carmen is so nice that you don´t have a need to be indoors.

  • Liked — close to beautiful beaches and 5th avenue
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM2007QuintanaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

The hotel is nice, very clean but simple. We arrived at March 8 to 11 - 2008, my husband, two friends and I, and we had a very good time there. Every couple was assigned at the last minute to a 2 bedrooms suite (at the 3rd floor, with baggage and no elevator), which is very spacious and simple (all the walls are white and with few adornments) with living room and a small kitchen with antecomedor, frigobar and oven of microwave. The bath has good size, has 2 wash-basin (in and out). Also there is restaurant in the second floor, but we only pay for the room, without food, and we didn't know it. There's two bad things about this hotel: a) it's far away from the beach and from the 5th Avenue (about 3 or 4 blocks for any of them); b) as the transport station is at the far end of the 5th Avenue, you have to walk every day if you do not contract the trips to the parks, which include transportation from the hotel. If your plan includes take the beach sun, or pass the time at the restaurants or the disco, or visit Xcaret, Xel-ha or Tulum, you must be prepared for a long walk every day.

  • Liked — Spacious suites
  • Disliked — Far away of the beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LunaRock80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Never in my life I see one hotel bad same that.I don`t understand people write good about this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!This is not clean hotel,I have to call for change dirty sheet,the bath is horrible,only good is position hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

Two blocks from the buzz at 5th avenue where all the shops, bars and restaurants are. Continue down the road and you are right on the beautiful beach of Playa del Carmen.

Nothing fancy but the rooms are nice and clean, good comfy king size bed, a sheltered garden and a nice pool area. The breakfast for 50 pesos is really nice, 100 if you want both continental and American breakfast. Don’t bother to pay extra for balcony, not much of a view, only traffic and other buildings...

Not a good option for old or disabled travelers; the road outside has heavy traffic, high sidewalks and no street lights.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forli, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

The hotel was cheap,clean and near the 5th aveninda!
The beach is distant 100 metres!
We stay there 2 weeks and everithing was great:the breakfast,the room with a king size bed and the pool!!!
The hotel is simple but good!

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank monica78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We just came back after a week at the Carmen Inn, and we had no complaints at all. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The rooms were efficient and very clean. The a/c was not great, however, the evenings were very nice and it was not needed. The location was absolutely perfect. It was 2 minutes to fifth avenue, and 5 minutes to the beautiful beaches. This hotel provides very good value for the money.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbeasely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel All Riviera
Hotel All Riviera
#192 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#35 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#13 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Suites

Property: Carmen Suites
Address: 10a Av.con calle 14 bis, Colonia Centro | Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmen Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Carmen Suites Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing