We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing chicken in Playa Del Carmen!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferron's Jerk Chicken

Ferron's Jerk Chicken
Ranked #120 of 1,220 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Jerk Chicken is one of the most delicious Jamaican dishes, it is a grilled spicy chicken that comes with warm bread and the House special souce, sweet and spicy. You can add grilled corn on the cob, coleslaw, white butter rice and mac and cheese. For dessert we have creme caramel. This is a delicious and different choice!
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing chicken in Playa Del Carmen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

A friend of mine took me to Ferron's for takeout, as I was looking for something authentic. It was some of the best chicken I've ever had. Absolutely delicious, and incredible value - a whole meal with chicken, rice, bread, and corn was less than $10. Can't wait for my next trip to Playa!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewClauson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    29
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best chicken in Pdc ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place
Way off the beaten path but they will deliver
Pretty authentic jerk chicken Jamaica style
Whole chicken pint of cole slaw 4 ears of corn rolls 2 liter soda 195 pesos

Helpful?
1 Thank jeevers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Once a week, at least!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

They might only have one thing on the menu but in all honesty that is why the magic happens!!
It is one of our absolute favourite places in town and we go here once a week. sometimes two days in a row:)

They have one signature dish where every single thing they put in front of you is amazing, flavourful, unique and cared for.
The chicken is spot on every time, cooked to absolute perfection! You might sometimes have to wait a bit longer for the chicken than the time before, but that is because they don't put it in front of you if they aren't proud of it!

The place is simple, basic and so atmospheric with the smoke from the grill and the reggae music playing. They welcome you with a smile and at least one person there who speaks perfect English.

The location is not the most convenient if you live in Centro but in that case, they deliver.

So if you want authenticity, pure and incredible flavour try this place!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best chicken I've ever had in Playa! highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The chicken was tender, well done. The cole slaw was great and the spicy sauce a blest. They made me very happy and I'm picky. Thanks Dean to share this place with us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anichka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen R, Gerente at Ferron's Jerk Chicken, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for posting us a review and sorry for not responding you faster, but even though long time passed; I really want to show you our appreciation for contributing with us sharing your opinion in such a visited site as TripAdvisor, we wouldn't be able to get to where we are without you spreadind the word. Thank you for liking our food! We hope to continue having you as our customer and hear from you soon again! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“In my top 5 of delicious, value meals that I order again and again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The whole, jerked chicken with sides and a liter of pop is a great value. This is why they sell out early. Delivery is convenient and inexpensive. Nice owners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xcalacoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen R, Gerente at Ferron's Jerk Chicken, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hello!! Thank you for posting a review for us and sorry for the delay on responding you!! But even is late I wanted to take the time to show you our appreciation for taking the time to support us on TripAdvisor and help us getting other people to know us and try our food. We are so happy when we see that you guys like our food! That is what keep Mitchell standing up on that heat all day long!! Just to see you smiling and enjoying a delicious meal! Thank you for your contribution! We send you a big hug and wish you a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferron's Jerk Chicken also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ferron's Jerk Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing