We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort for families”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a private residence club. Amenities are abundant and staff meets tour every need. The shuttlers that bring you around the grounds are so attentive especially Padro, Rudy and Alex. They all address you by name, as does the staff at the Grand Mayan pool...Raul was a dear!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Grand Bliss and our first stay in Playa del Carmen. Here are my impressions. PROS: 1) Stunning grounds, beautifully landscaped and maintained, with long, winding paths through the jungles and pool areas, excellent for walking/jogging or simply enjoying the beauty of the environment. 2) Lovely and spacious pool areas, some near the ocean, others tucked into the shady palms, others still contained within the walls of the Grand Mayan (open air above). 3) Very friendly, accommodating staff--smiling and helpful at every turn. 4) Fast, efficient shuttle service (Carlos, Rudy, Alex are 3 of the Bliss drivers--all top notch) to move you around the massive resort. 4) Free water aerobics every day in the pool at noon. 5) Our room (1br suite) was nice, spacious and modern. The GB itself is fantastically clean and well maintained. CONS: 1) As others have mentioned, The Grand Bliss is a LONG way from the pool and beach area. There are shuttles, but the drop off at the entrance to the Grand Mayan is still quite a walk to farthest pool/beach area. Going back to the room for a snack or lunch is cumbersome. We therefore ate poolside most days and paid a hefty price for very marginal food. A regular sized bottle of water, for example, costs about $4 USD. We were told coolers weren't allowed, but we saw several families with smaller, soft-side coolers, which I would recommend for Grand Bliss visitors as a way to keep cold water/snacks near them at the pool....even if cost isn't an issue: there aren't many waiters around the pool so wait times for a cold beverage or snack can be quite lengthy. 2) Food: overall we were not pleased with the quality of the food for the price. A very so-so meal (1 appetizer, 2 entrees, 1-2 glasses of wine) runs $65-$100. The one good dinner we had was at the Italian restaurant, Tramonto, which requires reservations. My husband enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Del Lago (and he usually steers clear of buffets) but from tables all around him he heard the chatter of the timeshare sales presentations, so the environment, while beautiful, wasn't relaxing. Eating outside the resort is not ideal, either, because a round trip cab ride to PDC is $50, so money saved on dinner is spent on transportation. That said, we had two FANTASTIC meals at a restaurant that's close--just a $24 round trip cab ride--called Pavo Real by The Sea (I'll do a review under restaurants). 3) There's not much in the way of a beach, and there aren't long expanses in either direction for morning or evening ocean side strolls. 4) Our room was on the 1st floor of the GB which means that the jungle was literally all around our patio. At first I found it claustrophobic, but I got used to it as the week went on. The jungle did provide plenty of privacy and shade, but it also blocked the breeze. I very much missed sleeping with my doors open and hearing/feeling ocean breeze. TIPS: 1) People reserve the pool chairs early in the morning with magazines & towels (even though doing so is supposedly not allowed). Get there early if you want a good spot. You can also reserve a Talapa in advance (I would suggest a day or 2 in advance) for $30/day. If you spend $30 at the pool restaurant/bar, you'll get a refund for the $30 talapa fee. 2) Bring a small, soft-side cooler (as mentioned above) to bring to the pool and at the start of your trip go to Mega in PDC and stock up on water and snacks. 3) You will get good, fast wifi in your room at the GB, but there is NO wifi available to you anywhere else in the resort. If you need wifi access during the day talk with the staff when you book to see if you can pay extra to connect to wifi resort-wide. 4) The bed in our room was quite hard. I was told by another guest that housekeeping has mattress toppers that can be added to your bed at your request. 5) Make sure you have plenty of low denomination bills for cab rides if you plan to go into town. The cab drivers were happy to take USD, but if the bill was, for example, $25 and we had only 2, $20 bills, the drivers had no change. There's a currency exchange desk in the Grand Mayan where you can get pesos for tipping resort staff/shuttle drivers etc. 6) I didn't know this until after the fact, but was told that the resort will transport you from the airport to the resort for free and will charge $15pp for a return to the airport. This is much less expensive than other options, so check into this when you book. Overall, we had a lovely trip and enjoyed the Grand Bliss. If you can deal with the 'cons' listed above, it's a great winter getaway.

Room Tip: Top floors may have more breeze, though rooms on the western side may be hot in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank 2doglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have written many reviews over the years for some of the wonderful places we have visited. With that being said I would recommend that everyone should stay here---ONCE. I don't ever think I have wrote a negative review but here I go. We stayed at one of the "Compounds- The Grand Bliss.". For the most part you are shuttled to the different areas- The Grand Lux, the Grand Mayan, the Bliss etc. Rooms great. Staff was great. However, you are approached at a high rate to buy a unit. They want an hour of your time. More like three hours. You are pretty much confined to this huge resort and their amenities. On day two we were going to have dinner at 6:30 at their Asian or their Italian restaurants on the second floor of the complex. We asked the conciere for a table. He said no reservations-wait til 9. The restaurants were 1/3 full. The next day wanted to go to their burger place in Grand Luxxe. Could not-only to Grand Luxxe residents only -the Grand Bliss has no restaurants.! Many other destinations easier and more convenient. Getting a shuttle to Playa Del Carmen tonight! Also keep in mind you cannot swim on beach,too many rocks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Loved our stay. Rooms were beautifully decorated. The whole complex was clean and beautiful. Biggest pool we have ever seen. The whole staff was friendly and helpful. Nice to see happy faces while your on vacation. Make sure you go into town early and buy your food and drinks. Can be very costly to eat and drink everything in the resort. Greenbreak was our favorite restaurant, great food and best prices. Check out Brios too!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whtwht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were there in mid January for a wonderful week. Had a master room, no kitchen. We had stayed at the Grand Mayan as well as Mayan Palace before. The Grand Bliss master room is modern and has a small refrigerator. The WiFi was complimentary within the Grand Bliss buildings which was great. It is not free at Mayan Palace or the Grand Mayan.
I love the huge pools at this Mayan resort complex. It is one of the reasons I look forward to staying at this resort.
The staff at the resort are all great and provide excellent services.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our second time to Playa del Carmen, but first time in the Grand Bliss. Wow, what a beautiful place. There was ample room for the 4 of us. There are 3 rooms, a master bedroom, a kitsch/living room and a second bedroom with 2 queen side beds. Each bedroom had a jacuzzi tub and oversize bathroom. The rooms are classy and the resort is well manicured and maintained.
Everyone who works there seems to enjoy their job and are very friendly. We appreciated the small kitchenette, 4 burner stove, double bar fridge, microwave and an ample supply of dishes, pots etc.
Our only complaint is the price of food at the restaurants, 2 pizza's with 4 drinks $1000 pesos, +/- $75 if they would reduce the prices we would eat in the restaurants more, they have 6, but we choose to do a lot of our own cooking.
The pool is incredible, the beach needs some work though it is very rocky and we prefer the beaches at Nuevo Vallarta.
We would definitely go back, however I think next time we'll re-visit Nuevo, and spend some time boogie boarding.

Room Tip: The Bliss rooms are all great, when we stayed in the Grand Mayan we opted for a 2nd or 3rd floor bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Important that u know its a jungle setting and far from the ocean or pools. Need to walk a distance or ride the trolley cart transportation to restaurants, pools and beach. Otherwise the rooms are nice but mostly only have a small fridge meaning u need to ride/walk to their restaurants or get a taxi to Playa del Carmen.
We enjoy but have a car for freedom. Drive to Walmart for drinks, sandwich stuff and munchies.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NC2CUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
3.7 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,680 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,134 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
15.4 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
4.4 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#58 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Cancun Km. 48, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing