We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and spacious room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya
Ranked #84 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great service and spacious room”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were there in mid January for a wonderful week. Had a master room, no kitchen. We had stayed at the Grand Mayan as well as Mayan Palace before. The Grand Bliss master room is modern and has a small refrigerator. The WiFi was complimentary within the Grand Bliss buildings which was great. It is not free at Mayan Palace or the Grand Mayan.
I love the huge pools at this Mayan resort complex. It is one of the reasons I look forward to staying at this resort.
The staff at the resort are all great and provide excellent services.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    71
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
110
113
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Bc
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our second time to Playa del Carmen, but first time in the Grand Bliss. Wow, what a beautiful place. There was ample room for the 4 of us. There are 3 rooms, a master bedroom, a kitsch/living room and a second bedroom with 2 queen side beds. Each bedroom had a jacuzzi tub and oversize bathroom. The rooms are classy and the resort is well manicured and maintained.
Everyone who works there seems to enjoy their job and are very friendly. We appreciated the small kitchenette, 4 burner stove, double bar fridge, microwave and an ample supply of dishes, pots etc.
Our only complaint is the price of food at the restaurants, 2 pizza's with 4 drinks $1000 pesos, +/- $75 if they would reduce the prices we would eat in the restaurants more, they have 6, but we choose to do a lot of our own cooking.
The pool is incredible, the beach needs some work though it is very rocky and we prefer the beaches at Nuevo Vallarta.
We would definitely go back, however I think next time we'll re-visit Nuevo, and spend some time boogie boarding.

Room Tip: The Bliss rooms are all great, when we stayed in the Grand Mayan we opted for a 2nd or 3rd floor bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Important that u know its a jungle setting and far from the ocean or pools. Need to walk a distance or ride the trolley cart transportation to restaurants, pools and beach. Otherwise the rooms are nice but mostly only have a small fridge meaning u need to ride/walk to their restaurants or get a taxi to Playa del Carmen.
We enjoy but have a car for freedom. Drive to Walmart for drinks, sandwich stuff and munchies.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NC2CUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We loved the Grand Bliss! We stayed in Building 2, 1st floor...very new, clean and fabulous room and kitchen! We went on a vacation for 2 and did not want to cook on this trip! So it was perfect! We did purchase yogurt, cereal, juice, pop, water from the Jade store...not over priced for Mexico at all. We ate most morning in our room and had a light lunch at the resort deli at Jade or at the pool bar. We did take advantage of the HH at the pool bars from 11-1 each day. And then ate at the Wine Bar, Havana Moon and other resort restaurants. Atmosphere and Pool area were so clean, great staff and fabulous! I do not have a complaint at all and I can be very picky! The best seating options in any resort in any country we have ever stayed in!!! LOVED all the pool options for seating and swimming. I have already told many friends and family how fabulous! I would go back in a hear beat! Beach was great. I wouldn't swim there, but was happy to sit quietly on the beach, read and sleep and it was never packed! I loved this resort!!! There are ALWAYS things you would do different;y as an American in Mexico, but really, they do the things that matter on a trip RIGHT!! If you are thinking about it!! GO and STAY AT the Grand Bliss!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jenbruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a fabulous vacation for families with small children. Not cheap, but here's how we did it. My parents have a time share. We stayed at the Grand Bliss (part of the Mayan Palace / Grand Mayan / Grand Luxxe hotels). The Grand Bliss was amazing: rooms were stunning. King size beds, couches with trundle beds underneath. Room for thousands. The kitchen has dual refrigerators and is fully equipped with stove, microwave, toaster, blender, and all the cooking utensils you'd need. Go shopping at the Mega or Walmart in Playa Del Carmen your first day, stock up on staples and make breakfast and dinner in the room. Reserve your eating out for lunch. You'll want to eat by the pool anyway. Our 6 year old daughter LOVED the "kids club." The staff were amazing. The activities were basic (making crowns, playing musical chairs, etc), but always packed. The kids (2, 2, and 6) loved the 2ft x 6ft pool on the patio. Seriously. They'd wake up, go swimming, come home from the pool, go swimming, and take a dip before bed. Amazing.

The best part of the trip, though? DreamArt Photography. We did this trip last year, and one of the things we looked forward to the most was getting family photos through DreamArt Photography. Before I start gushing about this company and their products, let me say that I am a very critical amateur photographer. I've used pro cameras for years. My wife studied photography in college. We do not like cheesy commercial photos. DreamArt Photography is the most personal, amazing photography you'll ever get. Alex was our photographer. He is just about the most amiable, inspiring photographer we could have asked to work with. He took us to the most beautiful locations imaginable around the resort (beaches, tropical flowers, stunning backdrops, etc). He took pictures of my kids, my parents, and my in-laws in every possible combination for nearly two hours. The results? Stunning. You buy per photo, or a package, and you get the high resolution digital original. Picking photos was so hard because he made us look amazing in every photo, even when one of us had a ridiculous look on our face. In the end we bought hundreds of dollars worth of photos. Best "luxury" money we've spent all year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JonathanSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I exchanged into the Grand Bliss through the Registry Collection. The one bedroom suite was large, comfortable and spacious, although I agree with a previous post regarding the cramped kitchen countertop. It would have been helpful to have a colander, paper towels and coffee filters supplied. This is not a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, but it is possible to prepare simple home cooked meals. (Take the bus to Playa del Carmen on your first day to grocery shop as the Jade Boutique won't have everytinhing you want). The bed is very comfortable and all the sofas are daybeds, so you really could sleep four adults and one child. The shower was excellent and the plunge pool was wonderful at the end of a long hot day. The suite faced south over the jungle and in the distance one could see turrets of other resorts. There are currently three Grand Bliss buildings open and two more concrete structures have been built. The open corridors and lobby make this a very "fresh air" environment, but goof luck hanging a "do not disturb" sign on your door, because the breezes will blow it off. Housekeeping comes twice daily and this is a very clean facility. Particular kudos to Leticia who helped me remove a stuck saucepan lid.

The Grand Bliss is on the very large campus of the Grand Mayan Resort (5 different hotels) and currently shares all its facilities, including amazing pools, golf course, restaurants, etc. A Grand Bliss Beach Club is in the early stages of construction. It's a longish walk to anywhere, so you will need to use the shuttle frequently. Fortunately it just requires a request and they show up in minutes. Thanks Pedro and Rudolfo! The staff here do their best to remember guest names and personalize the service.

One caution: after you check in you will be met by a pleasant sales agent who suggests a breakfast meeting orientation and offers you discounts. This "orientation" is a timeshare presentation which takes hours and involves significant sales pressure. If you have no interest in timeshares, it is best avoided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just came back from our vacation. We stayed in 2 bedrooms suite in Grand Bliss for a week. The rooms are very nice and the staff are very friendly. Our shuttle driver Pedro were extremely friendly and helpful as we were carrying a stroller with us all the time for our son and Pedro always helped fold the stroller and move it to the shuttle. The only thing we don't like is there is not much kids facilities on the resort comparing to the one in Nuevo Vallarta. So our daughter was a kind of bored.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
12.5 mi away
Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel
Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel
#11 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
12.6 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kin Sol Soleil
Kin Sol Soleil
#5 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Amarte Hotel
Amarte Hotel
#199 of 391 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
15.4 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
11.3 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya

Property: The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya
Address: Calle Carretera Federal Cancun Km. 48, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing