We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing way to travel”
Review of Hotel Banana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Banana
Ranked #114 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing way to travel”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I travel to Playa often and usually with the children to all inclusive hotels, but knowing that 5th Avenue has it all we decided to try something more quaint and less hectic and monotonous as all inclusive are. We came across Hotel Banana and loved it! It's not huge, not all inclusive, but it's clean, comfortable, quiet, the service is amazing and you are within reach of everything you could ask for. Mamitas Beach is a very short walk and the staff couldn't be more helpful...we will definately be staying there again and I have recommended it to many friends who have stayed and feel the same way!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adritavio94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    131
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
135
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My Boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel in the discounted room right outside the pool. It was not the cleanest facility and the pool had some unwanted critters in it, however the customer service made up for the condition of the hotel.

The price was great and the location was top notch! It puts you in the heart of everything which makes exploration really simplified....we were able to see a lot. The hotel was not rowdy and sleeping was easy. The beds were comfy and maid service came in daily and gave us tons of extra towels. The front desk staff were very professional, friendly and reliable. They answered our million questions, each with a smile and knew a lot about the area.

Playa Del Carmen is really fun and you may need two visits to do everything there is to offer there. If you have time check out the real estate as there is lot's out there just starting up...hidden gems.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed at hotel banana for one night with two friends who arrived a night early before moving to a larger hotel a block away for a big group trip. It fit the bill perfectly in terms of price and vicinity to the next hotel. It was clean, quiet and small. No real pool on site, but they had a wadding pool of sorts in the courtyard. It was difficult to figure out how to use the A/C but once on, it worked fine. But honestly, what REALLY impressed me the most was that I left a big bottle of contact solution behind in the room by mistake and didn't realize until almost 24 hours after check-out. I highly doubted they would've saved it for me, but I went back to check, just in case, not wanting to throw down for a new one in an overpriced Mexican 'drug stire' - well guess what, they saved it for me!!! That was AWESOME!!! Thank you thank you thank you Hotel Banana!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fl0recitar0ckera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I loved the service at the "Hotel Banana" everybody was great! very helpful and kind.
We had such a beautiful time in a nice relaxing hotel, the rooms are perfect for what you need, the ambience makes you feel relaxing and the service is awesome.
We loved it, my nephew loved to go to reception, climb the seat and smile while was getting a candy.
Thank you my friends! If you want to be two blocks away from the best beach club (Mamitas) in Playa del Carmen, one of the best argentinian restaurant (El Diez) and over the quinta, walking to get everywhere, this is the option!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacaciones60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Located at the end of the famous shopping strip in Playa, we walked the strip every day. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. We had a room facing the street which was great for people watching. Noisy party the last night, but we were so tired it wasn't a problem. The beach was an easy walk about 4 blocks. Pool at the hotel is tiny and within their atrium. Some construction across the street, not noisy, just unsightly. Very good Cuban restaurant about a block north on 5th.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbewitching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Was travelling from Belize to Cancun and decided to stay one night in Playa Del Carmen. Hotel Banana is a simpel and fairly priced hotel. English-speaking and helpful staff. Rooms are spacy and defo worth the value. Breakfast was nothing special but it is in a very nice spot with tons of restaurants and cafees right down on the street so many to choose from. The same street does pose a bit of a problem at night time as it gets crowded with tourists looking for a good night out. However, nothing bad about the hotel and the noise problem must be the same for all the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were at Playa for a wedding. We picked Hotel Banana because it seemed to be the one to fit our needs. From the beginning when getting all the rooms we needed (14) the staff was always available. . Matteo and Roberto answered all my numerous questions via e-mail promptly. On arrival they were friendly and receptive of all our needs. We were 32. We really enjoyed our stay at Banana. It is not a fancy resort but it was very clean and very near the beach. and everyone was very nice. I was right in choosing this hotel for this special occasion.
It is at the end of Quinta. Super location. Besides the Italian resIturant next door was really good. Just ask my new I Italian son-in-law.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ran612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
#109 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#95 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#41 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana

Property: Hotel Banana
Address: 5a. Av. Nte. Esq. Calle 32, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Fiesta Banana)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Banana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Banana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Banana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing