We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of food was excellent - great steakhouse”
Review of La Vaca Gaucha

La Vaca Gaucha
Ranked #195 of 1,426 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Steak, salad, roasted vegetables, chimichura sauce and cheese bread, what's not to like, clean, simple, good food. Nice location on 24th and 5th avenues. Great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bdridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Vaca Gaucha, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opini´n tan favorable... En La Vaca Gaucha estamos para servirlos y para brindarles el mejor servicio en todo momento. Como habrá notado no escatinamos en la calidad de nuestra comida, eso nos diferencia del resto. por eso somos "la mejor parrilla de playa". Por favor regrese pronto, saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 160 of 531 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went with this restaurant based on a recommendation on a another forum. I have to say I was quite impressed with the meal. Had an excellent steak and the french fries were as good as anywhere else I have had them. We were able to sit outside on 24th Street which was nice except for the exhaust from the vehicles going by. All in all, nice setting and great food. Price is comparable with other places serving steak.

On the down side.....our waiter disappeared after our meal was served. The place was not that busy so I honestly don't know what happened to him. Our wine was good but we had no chance for another one as he never came back. When another server came to clear our plates, I asked her where he was as we wanted another bevvy shortly after our meal arrived. Instead of apologizing she simply said he is busy as he has other customers. Huh? Really? The place was not at all busy and I saw other servers working as well. I had thought about contacting the police and have them put out a APB to find our waiter but sure enough he showed up to present us with the bill. I wanted to express my displeasure to him regarding his lack of customer service but his English was not good. So, his tip showed him how much I disapproved of his disappearing act during our meal.

Would I return to this place? Yes, I will give it another try as the meal was very good. But, if the service remains the same, I will look elsewhere for a great steak.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Banfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Vaca Gaucha, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014
Google Translation

Hola, como está!? Sinceramente no nos quedó claro su molestia... Estuvo por llamar a la policía??? es broma verdad?. En la vaca Gaucha ponemos mucho empeño en la calidad de nuestras comidas y también muy especialmente de nuestro servicio. Recuerda usted el nombre de su mesera? o como era físicamente? nos ayudaría mucho para saber que sucedió. Agradecemos habernos elegido y espero nos vuelva a visitar para darle lo mejor que se merece. Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were staying in Playa for 3 weeks and after all of our exploring, this place was one of the best restaurants we found!

Delicious food, good drinks, and a nice spot to sit outside and watch the crowd walk by on 5th Avenue.

The napoleon cheese, the creamed spinach, and the arrachera steak are all fantastic! We will definitely go back the next time we are in Playa.

Only getting 4 stars because sometimes the service is a little slow, but it's kind of like that at all of the Playa restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RikaSheykh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Vaca Gaucha, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, estamos para servirles. La calidad de nuestros platillos es realmente lo que nos distingue dela competencia, además del agradable ambiente que nos rodea y creamos con mucho trabajo. Nos pone muy felices que haya disfrutado de la experiencia La Vaca Gaucha y que esté dispuestoa volver a elegirnos, Cheers!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch after bring on the beach. The caprese salad I had was very attractively presented, with a little sprig of basil on top of a stack of alternating thick slices of tomato and mozzarella. Unfortunately, that was the only basil in the entire dish, which is supposed to be tomato mozzarella AND basil. My husband's chicken sandwich was huge, more than he and I both could eat for lunch. This place is not inexpensive, but also not outrageously overpriced.

Thank Seas0ned-Traveler_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Vaca Gaucha, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por su opinión. En La Vaca Gaucha estamos mejorando día a día con muy buenos resultados. Está de acuerdo con nosotros que nuestros precios son justos por la abundacia de los platillos y la calidad de la comida + el ambiente + la atención. Gracias por elegirnos y por favor vuelva pronto, es siempre bienvenido!. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Quite possibly the best meal we had in PDC. Would highly recommend having dinner at this restaurant. The steaks were delicious, and the restaurant had a ncie environment. Definitely check it out!

Thank lndv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Vaca Gaucha, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su excelente opinión sobre nosotros!. Queremos que vuelva pronto par volver a disfrutar de nuestro menú y de nuestro restaurant. Día a día vamos mejorando y estamos convirtiéndonos en uno de los restaurants favoritos de esta bella ciudad caribeña. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaca Gaucha also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Vaca Gaucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing