We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 or rather 6 stars???”
Review of Taqueria El Fogon

Taqueria El Fogon
Ranked #35 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 or rather 6 stars???”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We ate twice at this traditional mexican taqueria where mexicans and foreigners eat toghether! Don't wear your best clothes, but you'd better be real hungry!!
The service is quick, friendly and personal. I would definately go there once a week if i had the opportunity.

Go there first before trying something else in Playa. This is definately a safe choice!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Eleftheri0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    150
    32
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Real Mexican Deal”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The locals had been telling me about this place for months, and close foodie friends went twice while we were hangin in Playa, but I'd never tried it. Wow, what I've been missing. The al pastor tacos had been recommended, shaved from the rotisserie of meat pictured, and quite delicious. Good guac, great fast service, best pina colada we had in 2 weeks. Inexpensive as well. Wish we had a place like this in Seattle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent! Just as I remember!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Ate here a couple of times two years ago - this time took friends and so happy to say the food was just as good, the beer just as cold, the service just as phenomenal, and the prices no different!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sunsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Real Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is one place that can't be beat. The food is absolutely wonderful and the service is great.
Highly recommend eating here at least once!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoMoreTacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Washington
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What can you say about too much food?”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

You can say doggy bag for the road...Very yummy, busy place. I wasn't too hungry so ordered a small taco, the others ordered fajitas, could not eat it all, took it home for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tootsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Taqueria El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing