We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Experience we will be back!

My wife and I booked a last minute trip to Tulum as things started opening back up and have... read more

Reviewed July 4, 2020
byrnerm1
,
Charleston, South Carolina
via mobile
Spearfishing tour for PROs

I recommend this spearfishing tour for intermediate to professional spearos. There is fish and... read more

Reviewed April 14, 2020
R5191NXpaulc
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
138
10
3
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
138
10
3
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trigger fish spearfishing adventure free divers ceviche la caleta fresh catches fun challenge puerto aventuras red snapper half day trip boat captain four hours javier barracuda crew gear guns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 160 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2017

Arpon was very easy to communicate with and book a trip. I travelled solo and booked prior to leaving Canada, and I was given a very reasonable price, based on joining another party for the morning. When I arrived, the other party had cancelled, too much drinking the night before. Javi still honored the price and sent me out for the morning with Matius. These guys are honest business men. All snorkelling gear is provided.

After some quick lessons and gun safety tips, we were in the water. Matius wasted no time in taking me to some incredibly deep water. He estimated 80 to 100 feet. I struggled to reach the bottom, and could not stay there for long the few times I made it to the bottom. I found it helped when I convinced Matius to add some weight to my belt, but he was not comfortable adding too much. He was always checking on me to make sure I was happy and comfortable at these depths.

A word of warning, after 4 hours, I was exhausted, cold and could barely muster the energy for each dive attempt. What an experience though. It was surreal being in the middle of the ocean, floating hundreds of feet from the boat, feeling totally vulnerable, like a spec of sand in this vast body of water. I did end up spearing a small fish, but by the end, I didn't even care if I caught a fish, it was a humbling and peaceful experience. I would recommend Arpon Spearfishing to anyone.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

I really enjoy fishing, but have never freedove or spearfished before. I wanted to try it out. It was a tremendous adventure. Matias, our guide, was very skilled and caught a number of fish. When I got tired I took a break on the boat and enjoyed the view. The people at Arpon were all very accommodating. Before my trip I researched, read reviews, and then decided to contact Arpon to book the 4 hour charter. Cynthia got back to my email quickly. She was very responsive and answered all my questions. The prices were reasonable and at my request Cynthia even helped arrange round trip transportation through one of her trusted transportation services. Thanks!

Dan

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank db35582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

I found Arpon Spearfishing via Google. Contacted Cynthia by email to arrange the date and location since I was staying in Cancun. I arranged for a taxi (Moises Flores--998.894.3447) to get me to and from Cancun--Hotel Zone. He waited for 4+ hrs whilst I was out on the trip--(total with tip $140USD). I met with Javi, the owner of Arpon, to finish paperwork and figure out what gear I would need. They provide all gear if necessary. Javi introduced me to Rojo, the boat captain and my guide, Matias. While traveling to the dive site, a sunken boat in about 60' of water, Matias gave me some pointers on yoga breathing/breath holding to help me get down to the mast of the boat, 37'. I've had some experience with spearfishing, but mostly shallow blue water & shore diving. We were on the fish within 30 minutes of leaving the harbor. Rojo is was always vigilant and an excellent captain. Seas were moderately choppy with some wind--typical for this time of year. Water temp, 81F! Matias is an exceptional spearfishing guide who provided perfect guidance on getting down to our quarry! Came home with 5kg Permit and 1.5kg of Barracuda. I highly recommend these guys, very professional and incredibly affordable!! I will DEFINITELY be coming back!!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

I went with my family during the holidays. My 12 year old and I did the spearfishing while my wife and daughters snorkeled. Lots of fun. Make sure to have the dinner at the local restaurant that uses the fish from the trip. Nothing is fresher. Take plenty of photos afterwards!

Date of experience: December 2016
3  Thank 910edwardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

Had a trip booked, it's an hour from Cancun and conditions were not good too rough. They took us out anyway. Fine for advanced free divers not good for a novice (seasick family and frustrated divers trying to get to 45' down)
The allowed us a second chance four days later but the van never showed to pick us up. David and Cynthia very nice people but check conditions carefully if you aren't an experienced free diver it's a challenge.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank E1526TLdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews