We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little haven”
Review of Posada Michoacan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Michoacan
Ranked #71 of 168 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful little haven”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

A cute little artsy b&b with a wonderful hostess. Close to town but away from the doof doof of the clubs. Walking distance to the beach and big supermarkets. Great facilities and rooms with character. Love beau and lexi

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kookooforcocoapuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carugate, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Friendly and very helpful staff (the owners) that did anything to make our stay comfortable with advice & infos. Very nice breakfast, clean room and quiet neighborhood. We really recommend it. The only thing that was not perfect is position, a bit far from the centre, but in a nice place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simferopol
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a small bed and breakfast. Very competitive price. Not 5 star hotel but for the money we payed, it more than worth it. A little better place would cost much more. We went to playa because of diving and spent a lot of money for it so wanted to save a little on accommodation. That is not in a city center but walkable distance from center, though we took taxi many times, it's just faster (taxi is just about 2 dollars there). Extremely friendly and helpful manager (or owner), she did a lot of favors for us and refused from tips. Unfortunately she doesn't speak English (she is Italian, so she had a lot of Italian guests), but she does her best to communicate with us and help in many things which she shouldn't do. We are very grateful to her.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Three friends and I booked 2 double rooms mid-July for 5 days. The rooms were really comfortable and clean with air-con which is a great comfort in Playa del Carmen. Raul and his wife were really nice and very helpful. They organised our pick-up on our late arrival at 23:30 which was a great help on arrival to a new city.

Room Tip: We did not see other rooms, but the double rooms were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank General M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I spent few days in Playa del carmen for a business trip and the B&B had everthing i needed everthing for my stay. Nice location very helpfull staff.
Nice restaurants and within walking distance.
10min walk from 5th avenida and the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The posada is very close to the centre,5 mins walking to quinta avenida and to the beach,the place was very clean and our room was very spacious. Raul and his wife were very helpful and accommodating to all our needs. I would definitely recommend it,comfort at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabioscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Posada Michoacan end of June. It should have been a nice start for our holiday in Mexico, but it turned out differently.

We came in late (20h30) and the girl responsible for the B&B was not at all friendly. We had also some problems with a pre-arranged taxi from their side. So please book or arrange your transport by yourselves. By the way too expensive, they ask more than 50 USD for it. Arrange a nice ADO bus to Playa del Carmen and then local (friendly) taxi, which will cost you 30 USD max, all-in, two persons.

Regarding clean-ness of the rooms, not good. The shower was dirty and not cleaned after previous guests. Sheets on the bed smelt weird.

So in general, please look for another and better stay in Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Please look for a better room in another B&B closer to the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo L, Propietario at Posada Michoacan, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Unfortunately sometimes the managers, owners or staff have to deal with people with bad karma but this is part of the work and the best thing of tripadvisor is that the establishments can reply the costumer's reviews, few of them unfair and theatrical, most of them (98%), are beautiful and with a great feedback.

We are so sorry about the negative experience that Pieter and his friends have lived, but we also lived it... and this matter was already answered in your other review.

The things we want to say are the following, just to be clear:
- The hostess, who is an educated person, was nice with you and she always was educated and you know it Pieter, also because you know how the attitude of your girlfriend was. Furthermore, you decided to give the guilt to us and as we answered you in your last review: We accepted the part of our responsibility, but you didn’t because you didn't pay the service requested by you!!! and
- about the transportation, we do not understand why you are saying this!!! We sent you an email on june 26 answering you about your taxi request and we gave you 2 options: the ADO bus and the taxi service, with prices, times and everything... we also inform you that the first option was safe enough! But you chose the taxi... And we wont lose more time explaining about what happened because we already did it in your last review.
- Regarding the room, you decided to change to other room instead of stay in your original room because the A/C had a small leaking water, we apologized about it and we explained you that the other room available was not ready at 100% (even when everything was ok and the bed linen were clean, also the room and bathroom), and that we had to finish it, but you said that you were really tired to wait more time to let us finish the bedroom.

We want to explain all this to the other travellers, because one of the characteristics of the B&B is the cleaning... also because the stain on the shower is paint.... we are working and making improvements to make better the structure.

To all the travellers who are reading these 2 reviews (who are the same guests), you have to know that this is our first (and we hope the last) bad experience lived in 2 years, you can check the others reviews and also all the comments in our facebook profile. We love our job, which for us is a life experience; the best reward that we can have is to know nice people of all over the world and we hope to have the pleasure to hosting you to give you the best that you deserve.

Thanks in advance for your attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Excel Sense Playacar Boutique Hotel
Excel Sense Playacar Boutique Ho...
#136 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,893 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Michoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Michoacan

Property: Posada Michoacan
Address: Calle 38 Entre Avenida 35 Y 40 | Cerrada Sac Pacal, Playa del Carmen 24170, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Michoacan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Michoacan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing