We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gym

The Gym
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I loved working out at The Gym during my month in Playa, everyone there is very friendly, the equipment is fantastic, the classes are great, and the whole place invites you to keep working harder and doing your best.

The best thing about this place is by far the Muay Thai classes, the instructor is amazing and it really got me to love the discipline and continue back at home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colibri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    42
    17
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fitness Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was too hot in the gym, not sure the AC was working properly or that might be the way it is. but equipment was functioning and it was great if you worked out in the morning

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“very nice gym”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a nice clean gym with modern equipment. They have a towel service too, which I like, and good deals for longer-term memberships. It is a big small though, and the bathrooms tend to be crowded. They have some good classes, the yoga is especially popular. It's too bad there is no Zumba. My main complaint is that it's hot, and sometimes the instructors don't bother to turn on the air conditioning in the classes, which is uncomfortable (and dangerous. )

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ACC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great on-site gym!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Clean and lots of variety. I liked it all. Plenty of equipment, and refreshments, as well as modern equipment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Via700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Top quality gym”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I searched the Internet prior to travelling to Playa and found "The Gym" highly rated by previous reviewers. I certainly wasn't disappointed when I visited.

The equipment is all high quality and would suit anyone from a beginner to a serious bodybuilder.

You can purchase a 5 or 10 day pass which should suit almost any length of vacation, and there is a side operation that sells healthy food, protein drinks and everything you could desire prior to or after your workout.

I've visited many gyms in different countries whilst on vacation and this one was the best by far.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvertonBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gym also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to The Gym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing