We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Food, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Nostra - CLOSED

Casa Nostra
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Italian restaurant located next to the beach and few steps from famous “quinta avenida”. Exclusive atmosphere, ideal choice for relaxing and enjoying unforgettable meals under comfortable “palapa”. Traditional Italian food, hand made pasta, high-quality pizza, products made and wide range of Italian wines available. For groups and children.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I recently dined at Casa Nostra and we both had a great time. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We had the steamed mussels as an appetizer, pasta for an entree, a bottle of wine and the tiramisu for dessert. The owners were very attentive and friendly and they went out of their way to make sure everything was to our liking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCSparky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Down Calle 40, just before the beach. GREAT deal for 80 pesos; 1 salad, 1 drink & main course, can't beat that!
The service is great.
Other things on the menu are a little pricy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went here with friends who knew about the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The freshly caught Marlin was delicious as was the Rissotto. Only one of us got desert as we were pleasantly full but all four spoons were in the Tiramisu it was that good. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant. The great news is it's open 7 days from 1pm so if you fancy a nice leisurely lunch it's the place to go. Great location set one block back from the beach but so peaceful you can still here the ocean in the background. Whether you are a couple, with friends or family this is a great place to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found this place while we were walking down the streets in Playa del Carmen. We saw it a night before we went, it looked really nice and great. And we were totally right. The service was great, the food was so good and the location it is so calm and nice. You can feel the beach close and all the great caribbean weather.
It was a pleasure to eat there.
Deffinetly a place to recommend and visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Food for Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were recently in Playa for two weeks. We rented a great condo just up the street from Casa Nostra. Compared to the restaurants on 5th Avenue, Casa Nostra served fare that far exceeded our expectations. If you're looking for fresh homemade pasta (that is perfectly 'el dente'), then look no further than Casa Nostra.

When we arrived, Luca (one of the owners) greeted us and looked after us for the whole evening. Their menu is straight and to the point (five choices for appetizers, 10 types of pastas, a few entrees, and about eight types of pizza toppings). BTW, the pizza is also authentic thin-crust and delicious. The other owner is the chef and sommelier, and his wine selection is great (i.e great value, with a smooth finish). We also tried their Tiramisu, and it was Awesome (and we don't usually care for Tiramisu elsewhere).

If you're looking for a change from mexican cuisine, we highly recommend Casa Nostra. We ate there twice during our visit, and will go there again on our next trip. The ambience is peaceful, with a soft hint of easy listening jazz in the background. Be sure to visit, and ask for Luca. He and his staff will take great care of you, and hopefully you'll love the food as much as we did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J-and-D-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing