We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Execllent and charming small restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma y Gusto

Aroma y Gusto
Ranked #461 of 1,116 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: Good food opportunity for breakfast lunch and dinner 10 meters away from the beach. Sea view all day long.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Execllent and charming small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a nice surprice for us when we were looking for a good lunch. The nice couple from Verona served an excellent pasta (tagliatelle) dish with lot´s of king prawns and a delicious tomato-sauce. We´re going back tomorrow! Good value for the money spent. 25 meters form the beach makes it an easy choice for us. Recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oyvindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italy comes to Playa Del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Home made pasta, fresh seafood and meats, prepared and cooked to perfection. Flavors do not burst or overwhelm your taste buds, but enhance your sense of taste like never before. Though a hard find, you can walk right past its 5 table outdoor seating area. It is located a little more than 1/2 way down Calle 2 Nord off of 5th Avenue on the right, heading towards the beach. The front of the restaurant is white and sandwiched between a Scuba shop and Tour office. It is worth every dollar or peso you pay, which by the way is not much at all. Being from New York and having worked in or have dined in "Authentic Italian" restaurants of this caliber would be rated "4.75 Stars out of 5" because it serves the most casual attire one could imagine, beachwear is appropriate and the restaurant does not have white table cloths or a Maitre'd, Daniela and Marco who are the owners are from Italy, so the food is exactly like having a home cooked meal. Do not expect to hear English spoken while ordering your meal, but rather the native Spanish tongue or Italian. Though there is no alcohol served, one should be able to muster up one anywhere along 5th Ave and I am sure they would not prohibit you from opening it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonywan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“BY FAR THE BEST ITALIAN FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

While vacationing in Mexico we happened to stumble upon this little place just a few steps from playa del Carmen. The food was fresh and simply delicious. My boyfriend had the mixed seafood and i had fettuccine and shrimp pasta. Probably the best Italian food outside of Italy. The owners are welcoming and super courteous. According to my boyfriend he will go back to Mexico just to eat from here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexagrinsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pastas in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very small and casual. Tranquile setting. Although the menu is small, the choices are more then adequate. We ate there as a family of 4. The service was very good. Thank you Daniela! The location is just by the beach. We sat outside (only choice) in the early night and the temperature was very comfortable with a nice breeze. We ate 4 different dishes. The food was very good. The pastas were perfectly cooked. Prices are very resonable. Be aware that they do not serve alcohol, as it is a new restaurant and they do not have a liquor license as of June 19, 2013.
We have eaten previously in Di Vino in 5th Avenue. By far, I prefer Aroma y Gusto. Your pocket will like it too!
I hope they are succesful as a new venture and hope to see them when we return next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like being back in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Our group of eight had a delightful authentic Italian meal that included complementary bruschetta, seafood pasta (spaghetti allo scoglio) and the seafood grill. The food was delicious! We thought we were back in Italy. The service was attentive and most helpful in handling the needs of a child with food allergies. We so enjoyed our meal and plan to return. As with other small local restaurants, only cash is accepted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKOKie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma y Gusto also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aroma y Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing