We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BY FAR THE BEST ITALIAN FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma y Gusto

Aroma y Gusto
Calle 2 Nord, Playa del Carmen 77700, Mexico
+(52)19841064072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #370 of 972 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: Good food opportunity for breakfast lunch and dinner 10 meters away from the beach. Sea view all day long.
1 review
“BY FAR THE BEST ITALIAN FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

While vacationing in Mexico we happened to stumble upon this little place just a few steps from playa del Carmen. The food was fresh and simply delicious. My boyfriend had the mixed seafood and i had fettuccine and shrimp pasta. Probably the best Italian food outside of Italy. The owners are welcoming and super courteous. According to my boyfriend he will go back to Mexico just to eat from here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexagrinsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Daniels, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pastas in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very small and casual. Tranquile setting. Although the menu is small, the choices are more then adequate. We ate there as a family of 4. The service was very good. Thank you Daniela! The location is just by the beach. We sat outside (only choice) in the early night and the temperature was very comfortable with a nice breeze. We ate 4 different dishes. The food was very good. The pastas were perfectly cooked. Prices are very resonable. Be aware that they do not serve alcohol, as it is a new restaurant and they do not have a liquor license as of June 19, 2013.
We have eaten previously in Di Vino in 5th Avenue. By far, I prefer Aroma y Gusto. Your pocket will like it too!
I hope they are succesful as a new venture and hope to see them when we return next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like being back in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Our group of eight had a delightful authentic Italian meal that included complementary bruschetta, seafood pasta (spaghetti allo scoglio) and the seafood grill. The food was delicious! We thought we were back in Italy. The service was attentive and most helpful in handling the needs of a child with food allergies. We so enjoyed our meal and plan to return. As with other small local restaurants, only cash is accepted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKOKie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Food excellent with very sympathic staff , the prices are very good too ;) located in front of the beach for a good italian moment i recommend Aroma y Gusto !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank didine5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Muy acogedor off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Feel like a small town café restaurante in Italy, best espresso in town not as pricy as in the 5th ave. The y offer good italian food as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma y Gusto also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aroma y Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing