We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tapas & Company

El Tapas & Company
Ranked #23 of 1,155 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $4 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I've been there last night for dinner and the food is amazing! The waiter was very kind and he suggested me what to eat. I would definitely recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChiaSW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    88
    35
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“El Tapas is Spain in Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We just ate here today, August 13th, 2013. The food was incredible. We had papas bravas, shrimp al ajillo and the seafood Paella. I have traveled to 13 countries, Spain, Mexico, Morocco, England, Mexico, Jamaica, Dominican Republic, etc... This is on my top five restaurants of all time. Jaime (the owner) is just the Madrileño perfecto to run this restaurant. Service was impeccable, food was amazing, the price was more than fair (140 pesos or about $12 dollars for the seafood paella) that easily fed my wife and I without the papas bravas or the camarones al ajillo. This place ranks right up there with the best in Playa and for about half the price. Small, quaint, personable and great.
If you're looking for authentic Spanish tapas and Paella, this place needs no further consideration. We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenochito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The best food in Mexico I've ever taste, the service was excellent Jose Luis the waiter was very funny and kind. The manager surprise my wife and I, with a wine bottle cuz I told him about we were celebrating our anniversary. Definitely I recommend this restaurant in playa del Carmen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food and Friends! Life is GOOD!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Playa Del Carmen . XAVI et al. are so friendly and welcoming. The food is excellent, the waitstaff is attentive, and the atmosphere is cheerful. I have enjoyed the food and always meeting new people . I highly recommend it !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ocalaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any one who wants to experience have a great time with family and friends while enjoying an incredible meal and delicious wines and sangria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapas & Company also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tapas & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing