We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and family atmosphere”

Casavecchia La Cucina Italiana
Ranked #572 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: Avenida 10 between Calle 2 y 4 Norte
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“Great food and family atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was so nice to have lunch at this family owned restaurant. The food was excellent, the best espresso during my 2 weeks stay in Mexico and amazing real tiramisu from real italian chef hands.
Worth to have a little turn from Avenida 5 and enjoy great italian cuisine cosy atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sol108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Small, authentic Italian food made by Italians”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We ate here New Year's Eve and weren't disappointed. Be warned, it is a very small place with maybe 3-4 tables--mostly outside on the sidewalk on a somewhat busy street. The atmosphere isn't fancy but the food is great! It's owned by Arnoldo and his brother (the chef) from Sardinia. They take great pride in their food and rightly so. Pasta and sauces were all homemade, everything we had was very good. And, to top it off, it was very easy on the pocketbook.

Be warned, though, they only take cash and I don't think they are open for lunch. However, it is well worth a stop to sample what Arnoldo and his brother are cooking for the day!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kfaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florinas, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Autentic Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I went there at lunch time only once because it was my last holiday's day but i have to say that the fish fillet i had was delicious, staff is professional and very friendly.
Very good combination quality food - price .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyWay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malambo1
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just Great !!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a nice day at the beach we passed this restaurant for a quick meal in between a late dinner. I felt like I am eating in a friends house. Delicious pasta, super attentive service - fun talks and after 2 bottles of wine - what a great and uncomplicated experience. Viva Italia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malambo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything. the food was GREAT.There was plenty of it and would eat there again. Left there very full!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyTrip2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casavecchia La Cucina Italiana also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casavecchia La Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing