We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best ice cream place in PdC”
Review of Tepoznieves

Tepoznieves
Ranked #8 of 40 Dessert in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
211 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Probably the best ice cream place in PdC”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is such a great place. The sorbets are fantastic as is the gelato. Great location being super close to the beach. Definitely a good place to stop in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    16
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Skip the desserts at the restaurant you are going to. Many flavors, very creative. Great tasting as well. Hopefully you get an English speaker.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheNavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Locally made ice cream that is out of this world, located just a few storefronts off 5th Avenue. Cheerful store, cheerful server who was very generous and patient with our wanting to taste all the unique flavors. Very intense fruit flavored sorbets, great Mexican vanilla, and chocolate that is as good or better than what you find at the better-known Ah Cacao just a few steps away. Worth a trip into town just for this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for ice cream in Playa”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We came across this little ice cream store (Tepoznieves) which is only about one block west of 5th Avenue on Avenida Constituyenntes. The ice cream was fabulous. The flavors were plentiful and wonderful to taste. This place is a must for anyone who loves ice cream. You will not be disappointed. This a must stop place for when we are next in Playa.

By the way Tepoznieves is only one block east of the best Venezuelan restaurant in Playa del Carmen, Kaxapa Factory. What a gastronomic pleasure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12345Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local ice cream!!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A local directed us to this little gem. We were down to our last pesos and heading back to the hotel and had enough to get two scoops. The ladies working there were very friendly and sweet. We asked what was most popular there and we were given a scoop of passionfruit and a scoop of some sort of delicious creation that had berries and yogurt. Both were wonderful, but my favorite was the passionfruit! It was much lighter than American ice cream and such a refreshing treat on a very hot, humid day. I highly recommend stopping by and trying some local ice cream! They had so many favors to choose from! Definitely something for everyone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelliebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tepoznieves also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Tepoznieves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing